报告档案 - 无烟世界基金会

已发布的报告

由基金会出版
为了无烟的世界

孟加拉国报告
2021 健康,科学与技术

孟加拉国报告

无烟世界基金会致力于弥合我们对烟草生产和使用的集体理解中的关键知识空白,特别是在越来越多种植和消费烟草的中低收入国家中。从这个角度来看,本报告提供了孟加拉国烟草前景的概览,该国有4,630万成年人使用各种可燃和/或无烟烟草产品。孟加拉国与烟草有关的健康状况负担沉重,原因是该国烟草制品的高产量和高消费量。因此,它是彭博倡议(BI)减少烟草使用的五个重点国家之一。

点击访问报告
全球吸烟状况调查:关注差异
2021 健康,科学与技术

全球吸烟状况调查:关注差异

该基金会的一个无烟世界委托在七个国家调查 希腊,印度,日本,挪威,南非,英国和美国。该民意调查收集了参与者的人口统计数据,他们对烟草和减少烟草危害产品的习惯和看法,以及戒烟产品的经历。

民意调查的结果进行分析,并在每年呈现两个海报(可低于社会为研究尼古丁和烟草在无形中举行的会议2021 年 2 月 。第一张海报探讨了女性的吸烟行为和动机。结果表明,在制定针对特定性别的戒烟或减少烟草危害干预措施时,需要进一步的跨国考虑。

第二张海报《印度的烟草使用模式》根据年龄,性别,教育程度,地理位置和社会经济状况,探讨了整个印度如何使用烟草产品的差异:

女性吸烟者的戒烟方式,动机和意图
的烟草使用模式
亟待解决的问题
2020 健康,科学和技术

亟待解决的问题

2020年全球减少烟草危害状况

在这份最新报告 减少烟草危害的全局状态从英国公共卫生机构知识系列·行动·变革(KAC)研究了减少烟草危害的作用。作者表明,如果要充分发挥其潜在的公共卫生潜力,就迫切需要扩大减少烟草危害的规模。

他们于2018年发布的第一份报告无火无烟记录了历史和发展减少危害,以及在全球范围内对更安全的尼古丁产品的使用,可获得性和法规响应。

点击访问报告
2020年烟草转型指数™排名报告
2020 产业转型

2020年烟草转型指数™排名报告

2020年烟草转型指数™ 代表了为评估烟草公司与减少烟草危害有关的承诺和行动而进行的首次全面努力。

2020年指数评估了全球15家最具全球影响力和区域影响力的烟草公司在减少烟草危害方面的活动和绩效。这包括分析和比较公司针对高风险烟草产品和低风险替代产品的各自产品,销售业绩和资本投资。2020年指数还比较了36个国家/地区的公司活动和绩效,这些国家/地区分为中低收入(LMIC)和高中收入(HMIC)。

通过监视和严格评估烟草公司的行为,包括支持或阻碍减少烟草危害的行为,该指数为所有利益相关者提供了客观,透明的信息,并激励公司采取行动,使其比以往更加迅速和负责任。

点击访问报告
执行摘要
执行摘要:普通话
执行摘要:印尼文
执行摘要:阿拉伯
执行摘要:日语
烟雾缭绕的视野:1850 – 2000年的亚洲烟草与帝国
卫生,科学技术,产业转型

烟雾缭绕的视野:1850 – 2000年的亚洲烟草与帝国

很少有人尝试使用分析框架来研究亚洲烟草种植的传入和传播,该框架整合了帝国经济,当地社会结构和烟草的商品历史。这是一份关于烟草种植与亚洲帝国扩张之间的经济和社会关系的初步档案和人种学研究的报告,主要侧重于英属印度(当今的印度,巴基斯坦和孟加拉国),中国和日本。

点击访问报告
逐步淘汰可燃香烟
2020 健康,科学和技术,产业转型

逐步淘汰可燃香烟

本文概述了逐步淘汰可燃卷烟的合理,基于研究的策略,包括“轻推”方法和合乎逻辑的监管措施。该计划的核心是有关THRP的科学知情政策。不幸的是,媒体和公共官员对这些产品散布了太多的错误信息,以致越来越多的吸烟者认为其健康风险与可燃卷烟相当。这种观点不仅是不准确的,而且是危险的,而且公共官员有道德和专业义务纠正这些误解。

点击访问报告
矛盾与冲突
2020 产业转型

矛盾与冲突

领先的国际商业和公司治理学者丹尼尔·马兰(Daniel Malan)进行的研究确定了与领导全球烟草控制政策制定的许多国家之间固有的利益冲突。矛盾与冲突” 报告明确指出了政府在最大限度地提高国家垄断盈利能力的信托责任之间的矛盾。以及他们的健康责任,以最大程度地减少公共健康风险,并提出潜在的解决方案。

烟草制品每年造成800万人死亡。在2000年至2019年期间,尽管自2005年起生效的世界卫生组织《烟草控制框架公约》(FCTC)牵头进行了全球性的应对流行病的尝试,但全球总体烟草使用量每年仍下降了不到四分之一。《烟草控制框架公约》目前有182个缔约方,其主要目标是“保护今世后代免受烟草消费和暴露对健康,社会,环境和经济的破坏性后果”

点击访问报告
执行摘要:普通话
执行摘要:日语
执行摘要:印尼文
执行摘要:阿拉伯语
杜布罗夫尼克咨询摘要
2020 产业转型

杜布罗夫尼克咨询摘要

这是对2020年杜布罗夫尼克磋商会专家贡献的摘要,该磋商会是关于减少烟草危害的监管问题,税收和其他观点的首脑会议。这次峰会原本计划于2020年中在克罗地亚杜布罗夫尼克举行,是一次现场会议,但由于全球COVID-19大流行而被推迟。本文档总结了专家对虚拟会议的贡献。杜布罗夫尼克磋商会是一次独特的机会,可以确定减少烟草危害管制的干预领域,并使无烟世界基金会能够优先考虑未来的研究领域。

单击以访问摘要
印度国家报告
2020 农业和生计,健康,科学和技术,产业转型

印度国家报告

无烟世界基金会致力于弥合我们对烟草生产和使用的集体理解中的关键知识空白,特别是在越来越多种植和消费烟草的中低收入国家中。因此,本报告提供了印度烟草前景的概览。作为世界上最大的烟草生产商和消费者之一,无论从字面上还是在象征意义上,了解这一领域和变革的机会都变得前所未有的重要。该报告仅涉及塑造该景观的力量的表面,但我们希望这样做能够鼓励其他人对此进行更大的探索。

点击此处以访问报告
观看摘要:匈牙利
2020 产业转型

观看摘要:匈牙利

“观看摘要”系列记录了世界范围内有关吸烟的最新数据。在本系列的第一个文章中,基金会经济学家Ayda Yurekli考察了匈牙利烟草业的现状。从对消费税的分析到对非法贸易的调查,这份由两部分组成的简介简要介绍了匈牙利吸烟的过去,现在和未来。

问题1:2020年1月,匈牙利政府大幅降低了对电子烟的消费税(ENDS),同时保持加热烟草产品(HTP)的消费税不变。我们研究了电子尼古丁传送系统减税对公共卫生和政府利益的潜在影响。

问题2:匈牙利最近将吸烟率降低了9个百分点,从2005年的36%降低到27%,并可能为不久的将来设定无烟目标率。

点击此处访问由两部分组成的
COVID-19吸烟状况调查
2020 健康,科学和技术

COVID-19吸烟状况调查

世界无烟基金会在五个国家进行了一项民意调查,调查了6,801名烟草和尼古丁使用者中COVID-19社会距离与健康之间的关系。超过三分之二的受访者依靠烟草和尼古丁作为控制压力和焦虑的主要工具。最近几周,将近40%的吸烟者增加了对这些产品的使用,这相当于在接受调查的五个国家中,超过5000万吸烟者的使用量有所增加。
COVID-19大流行造成的破坏是双重的:除了遭受病毒的直接影响外,世界还在努力应对与社会隔绝的挑战。对于数以百万计的吸烟者来说,这种做法在精神和身体上造成的损失尤其巨大,他们为了应对压力,增加了烟草的摄入量。
尼尔森公司(Nielsen Company)在4月4日至2020 年 4 月 14 日这段期间内,无烟世界基金会在网上进行了“ COVID-19吸烟状况调查”。来自英国,意大利,南非,印度和美国(纽约和加利福尼亚)的调查受访者年龄在18至69岁之间,他们是可吸烟者的定期吸烟者或尼古丁vape产品的使用者。

链接到COVID-19吸烟状况调查摘要报告
烟草和尼古丁产品的全球认知
健康、科学和技术

烟草和尼古丁产品的全球认知

无烟世界基金会委托在七个国家进行一项调查,包括希腊、印度、日本、挪威、南非、英国和美国。该调查收集了参与者的人口统计数据、他们对烟草和烟草减害产品 (THR) 的习惯和看法,以及他们对戒烟产品的经验。共有 54,279 名 18-69 岁之间的成年人参与了调查,他们是烟草或 THR 产品的当前使用者 (46,220),以及过去五年内已戒烟的戒烟者 (8,047)。这是对基金会 2017 年调查的后续跟进,该项调查涉及 13 个国家,用于了解全球烟草/尼古丁使用习惯和看法的最新情况。

投票结果已进行分析并在科学会议上进行介绍,作为手稿提交在同行评审的期刊上发表,并已被多家国际媒体渠道刊载。

此处提供了在路易斯安那州新奥尔良召开的尼古丁和烟草研究学会年度会议(2020 年)上展示的海报。第一张探讨了(当前和既往)产品用户对尼古丁的看法,第二张探讨了 2017 年和 2019 年均进行过调查的六个国家(希腊、印度、日本、南非、英国和美国)的”电子烟与传统燃烧香烟相比的相对有害程度的看法”的数据。

七个国家的当前和既往烟草及减少烟草危害产品使用者对尼古丁的看法。
在六个国家中,随着时间的推移,人们对电子烟的相对风险的认识。
保险公司对吸烟风险的看法
播放视频
2020 产业转型

保险公司对吸烟风险的看法

现在是保险公司重新考虑如何量化和减少吸烟风险的时候了。吸烟风险影响着全世界人们的生命,以及全世界的健康保险公司。烟草风险和法规对所有国家的承保、定价、索赔和准备金都有所影响。吸烟者在生命和健康保险公司的业务记录中占相当大的比例(10% 至 15%),全世界的保险公司都暴露于烟草对死亡率和发病率的影响。在没有保险的人群中,吸烟者的比例也过高,而且保险公司可能会错过可保险的吸烟者群体(在一定范围内的相对“良好风险”),但目前因定价过高而没有市场。

该报告回顾了当前的保险公司实践,以及与如何检测投保人吸烟状况、量化吸烟风险并通过戒烟降低风险有关的挑战。然后,它推荐了一些利用新兴技术、产品和流程来解决这些障碍的潜在解决方案。采用前沿创新组织的实际案例研究,对这些解决方案进行了说明。

点击访问报告
烟草生产和贸易的全球趋势
播放视频
2019农业与生计

烟草生产和贸易的全球趋势

过去的二十年中,全球烟草生产和贸易模式发生了巨大变化。烟草控制组织和公共卫生组织的研究集中在烟草生产上,并阐明了推动这些转变的几个主要趋势,但对烟草贸易模式的了解却很少。了解全球烟草经济及其主要参与者,需取决于对烟草供应链各个阶段的更完善的了解,包括烟草生产、未加工烟叶贸易、将烟叶加工成各种烟草产品,以及烟草制品的贸易和消费。与许多其他商品一样,烟草也有其独特且不断发展的供应链。本报告着重于了解未加工烟叶的生产和贸易模式。

点击访问报告
点击访问报告(印地语)
点击访问报告(日语)
点击访问报告(葡萄牙语)
点击访问报告(普通话)
业务转型:
播放视频
2018 产业转型

业务转型:

与实现无烟世界相关的案例分析

无烟世界基金会致力于促进人们针对在这一代实现无烟世界的转型可能性进行讨论。烟草公司有机会采用能带来没有燃烧香烟的世界的商业模式。全世界现在有超过十亿的吸烟者。吸烟率正在下降,但其速度太慢,无法实现基金会的戒烟和减少烟草危害的目标。此外,在成功完成这一转型的过程中,我们必须确保包括小型烟草农户在内的弱势群体得到支持,以寻找可持续的替代活动和生计。

这份报告通过介绍进行重大业务转型的公司的六个案例研究,为讨论做出了贡献。这六个案例显示出各不相同的动机,并且,由于业务转型并非没有风险,一些公司的业绩要好于其他公司。

点击访问报告
尼古丁全球趋势
播放视频
2018 产业转型

尼古丁全球趋势

尼古丁全球趋势报告有助于为基金会在产业转型领域的工作打下基础,并代表着基金会研究计划的重要步骤。具体而言,报告指出了尼古丁传输的主要参与者,列出其产品组织和地理中心,并量化其产出。在这项工作的基础上,烟草转型指数将随着时间的推移对全球 15 家最大的尼古丁递送公司进行评估。

2019 年更新的重点包括:

  • 2018 年,全球烟支当量销售额估计为 6.1 万亿,创造了超过 8,000 亿美元的零售价值。但在某些市场中,产品创新和消费者需求导致的变革迹象是显而易见的。
  • 电子烟的销售额在 2018 年增长了 30% 以上,加热烟草产品的数量增加了一倍以上。两种产品类别的零售价值均不足全球尼古丁生态系统的 2%,但在过去几年中已远远超过尼古丁替代疗法 (NRT) 产品的销量。
  • 2018 年与尼古丁生态系统相关的全球零售价值中,香烟占 87% 以上,低于我们在 2017 年的上一份报告中的 89%。通过我们的烟支等效模型估算,尼古丁的总体需求与往年相比保持稳定,这意味着消费者采用了替代产品。
点击访问 2018 年报告
点击访问 2019 年更新
“No Fire, No Smoke”
播放视频
2018健康、科学和技术

“No Fire, No Smoke”

2018 年全球减少烟草危害状况

GSTHR 报告首次绘制了更安全的尼古丁产品在全球、地区和国家的可获得性和使用情况、对这些产品的监管对策,以及减少烟草危害的公共卫生潜力。

每六秒钟就有一人死于与吸烟有关的疾病,这个问题可能会恶化;较富裕国家的吸烟率急剧下降正在放缓,而较贫穷国家的吸烟率将上升。事实证明,现有的烟草控制形式并不足够。虽然许多人独自戒烟或使用药物戒烟,但许多人失败了。“戒烟或死亡”不再是无法戒烟的人们的唯一选择。更安全的尼古丁产品提供了另一种途径。国际上有大量独立证据表明,这些产品比香烟更安全。这些潜在的挽救生命的产品可能会带来全球公共卫生的变革。

点击访问报告
戒烟形势报告
播放视频
2018健康、科学和技术

戒烟形势报告

安永-帕特侬 (EY-P) 于 2018 年 7 月 进行了一项形势分析,以确定和描述戒烟产品和服务

  • 目的是对目前市场上以及正在开发的戒烟产品和服务细分市场进行全面概述
  • 评估的范围侧重于专门为戒烟而开发或批准的解决方案,而不是为吸烟者提供替代吸烟(危害较小)的产品
  • 每种干预措施均具有多个方面的特征,包括其使用的戒烟方法,以及提供者/开发者、作用机制、其效力以及其他相关细节(若有) 
点击访问报告
2017 年全球民意调查
播放视频
2017健康、科学和技术

2017 年全球民意调查

2017 年底,基金会委托进行了一项民意调查,对持续评估和监测全球吸烟状况和减少烟草危害工作状况的进行基准评估。该基金会委托综合咨询和研究机构 Kantar Public 进行此次民意调查。调查目的是清楚了解全球成人吸烟者的经历和挑战、他们的习惯和对烟草制品和替代尼古丁递送系统 (ANDS) 相关的风险认识,以及风险认知对他们选择产品的影响。调查中有一份定量问卷,由来自 13 个国家的 17,000 多名成年人进行填写。调查的定性部分由七个国家主要城市的焦点小组讨论完成,提供更多背景信息和见解。

点击访问报告
WordPress 应用 - TurnKey Linux支持

Powered by

Reports Archive - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Published Reports

Published by the Foundation
for a Smoke-Free World

India Country Report
2020 Agriculture and Livelihoods, HEALTH, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY, INDUSTRY TRANSFORMATION

India Country Report

The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World is committed to filling key knowledge gaps in our collective understanding of tobacco production and use, especially in the low- and middle-income countries where it is increasingly grown and consumed. In that vein, this report provides a glimpse of the tobacco landscape in India. As one of the world’s largest producers and consumers of tobacco, understanding this landscape and the opportunities to transform – both literally and figuratively – have never been more important. This report only scratches the surface of the forces shaping that landscape, but we hope that, in doing so, it encourages others to make even greater explorations of it.

Click here to access the report
Watching Briefs: Hungary
2020 INDUSTRY TRANSFORMATION

Watching Briefs: Hungary

The Watching Brief series chronicles the most up-to-date data on smoking across the world. In the first of this series, Foundation economist Ayda Yurekli examines the current state of the Hungarian tobacco industry. From analyses of excise taxes to an investigation of illicit trade, this two-part Brief offers an illuminating look into the past, present, and future of smoking in Hungary.

Issue 1: In January of 2020, the Hungarian government significantly reduced its excise tax on e-cigarettes (ENDS), while it left heated tobacco product (HTP) excise taxes unchanged. We examine the potential impact of ENDS tax reduction on public health and government interests.

Issue 2: Hungary recently achieved a 9-percentage-point reduction in smoking prevalence – from 36% in 2005 to 27% and may set a target rate for being smoke-free in the near future.

Click here to access the two-part piece
COVID-19 State of Smoking Poll
2020 HEALTH, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY

COVID-19 State of Smoking Poll

The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World commissioned a poll in five countries that explores the relationship between COVID-19 social distancing and health among 6,801 tobacco and nicotine users. More than two thirds of the respondents rely on tobacco and nicotine as their main tool to manage stress and anxiety. Nearly 40% of smokers increased use of these products in recent weeks, which could equate to elevated use by more than 50 million smokers in the five countries polled.
The havoc wreaked by the COVID-19 pandemic is twofold: in addition to suffering direct effects of the virus, the world is grappling with the challenge of social distancing. The mental and physical toll of this practice may be particularly profound for millions of smokers who, as a way to cope with stress, have increased their tobacco intake.
The “COVID-19 State of Smoking Poll” was conducted online by the Nielsen Company for the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World during the period starting April 4 and ending April 14, 2020. Survey respondents from the United Kingdom, Italy, South Africa, India, and the United States (New York and California) were between the ages of 18 and 69, and were regular smokers of combustible tobacco or users of nicotine vape products.

Link to COVID-19 State of Smoking Poll Summary Report
Global Perceptions of Tobacco and Nicotine Products
HEALTH, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY

Global Perceptions of Tobacco and Nicotine Products

The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World commissioned a survey in seven countries including Greece, India, Japan, Norway, South Africa, the UK, and the US. The survey captured participants’ demographic data, their habits and perceptions regarding tobacco and tobacco harm reduction (THR) products, as well as their experiences around quitting tobacco products. A total sample of 54,279 adults between 18-69 years of age who were current users of any tobacco or THR product (46,220) as well as quitters who quit within the past five years (8,047) participated in the survey. This is a follow-up poll to the Foundation’s 2017 survey to stay informed of global tobacco/nicotine use habits and perceptions, which was conducted in 13 countries.

Results of the poll have been analyzed and presented at scientific meetings, submitted as manuscripts for publication in peer-reviewed journals, and have been picked up by several international media outlets.

Posters presented at the annual Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana (2020) are available here.  The first explores (current and former) product users’ perceptions regarding nicotine, and the second looks at the data from the six countries that were surveyed in both 2017 and 2019 (Greece, India, Japan, South Africa, UK, and US) on the perceptions of relative harm of e-cigarettes compared to traditional combusted cigarettes over time.

Perceptions of nicotine in current and former tobacco & tobacco harm reduction product users from seven countries.
Perceptions of relative risk of e-ciagrettes over time in six countries.
Insurer Perspectives on Smoking Risks
Play Video
2020 INDUSTRY TRANSFORMATION

Insurer Perspectives on Smoking Risks

It’s time for insurers to rethink how they quantify and reduce smoking risks. Smoking risks affect life and health insurers worldwide. Tobacco risks and regulations have an impact on underwriting, pricing, claims and reserves in all countries. Smokers account for a significant proportion (10–15 percent) of life and health insurers’ books of business, and insurers worldwide are exposed to the mortality and morbidity effects of tobacco. Smokers also number disproportionately among the uninsured, and insurers may be missing out on smoker segments that are insurable – relatively “good risks” within a spectrum – but currently priced out of the market.

The report reviews current insurer practices and challenges relating to how they detect policyholders’ smoking status, quantify smoking risks, and reduce risks through smoking cessation. It then recommends potential solutions leveraging emerging technologies, products, and processes to address these barriers. Solutions are illustrated with real-world case studies from organizations innovating at the frontier.

CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT
Global Trends in Tobacco Production and Trade
Play Video
2019 Agriculture and Livelihoods

Global Trends in Tobacco Production and Trade

Over the past two decades, global patterns in tobacco production and trade have shifted dramatically. While research by tobacco control groups and public health organizations has focused on tobacco production and elucidated several key trends driving these shifts, considerably less is known about patterns of tobacco trade. Understanding the global tobacco economy—and the major players in it—depends on developing a more complete knowledge of all stages of the tobacco supply chain, including production of tobacco, trade of unmanufactured tobacco leaf, processing of tobacco leaf into various tobacco products, and trade and consumption of manufactured tobacco products. As with many other commodities, tobacco has its own unique and evolving supply chain. This report focuses on understanding patterns in production and trade of unmanufactured tobacco leaf.

CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT
CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT (Hindi)
CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT (Japanese)
CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT (Portuguese)
CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT (Mandarin)
Business Transformation:
Play Video
2018 INDUSTRY TRANSFORMATION

Business Transformation:

An analysis of case studies relevant to achieving a smoke-free world

The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World aims to foster discussion on the transformational possibilities of achieving a smoke-free world in this generation. Tobacco companies have an opportunity to adopt business models that will lead to a world without combustible cigarettes. There are more than a billion smokers in the world today. Smoking prevalence is declining, but at a rate far too slow to achieve the Foundation’s objectives for smoking cessation and tobacco harm reduction. Furthermore, in accomplishing this transition successfully, we must ensure that vulnerable populations, including smallholder tobacco farmers, are supported to find sustainable alternative activities and livelihoods.

This report contributes to the discussion by presenting six case studies of companies that undertook significant business transformations. The six cases demonstrate varying motivations, and, as business transformation is not without risk, some of the companies performed better than others.

CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT
Global Trends in Nicotine
Play Video
2018 INDUSTRY TRANSFORMATION

Global Trends in Nicotine

The Global Trends in Nicotine reports contribute to laying the groundwork for the Foundation’s work in the area of industry transformation, and represents an important step in the Foundation’s research program. Specifically, the reports identify the major players in nicotine delivery, outline their product organization and geographic focus, and quantify their output. Building upon this work, the Tobacco Transformation Index will over time evaluate 15 of the largest nicotine delivery companies in the world.

Highlights from the 2019 update include:

  • In 2018 more than $800 billion in retail value was generated through the sale of an estimated 6.1 trillion retail cigarette stick equivalents globally. Yet, signs of change led by product innovation and consumer demand are evident in certain markets.
  • E-cigarette sales increased more than 30% in 2018, and heated tobacco product volumes more than doubled. Both product categories constituted less than 2% each of the global nicotine ecosystem by retail value but have far surpassed sales of nicotine replacement therapy (NRT) products during the past several years.
  • Cigarettes constituted more than 87% of global retail value associated with the nicotine ecosystem in 2018, which was down from 89% in our last report for 2017. Overall nicotine demand, estimated by our cigarette stick equivalent model, remained stable compared to prior years, implying product substitution by consumers.
Click To Access 2018 Report
Click To Access 2019 UPDATE
“No Fire, No Smoke”
Play Video
2018 HEALTH, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY

“No Fire, No Smoke”

The Global State of Tobacco Harm Reduction 2018

The GSTHR report maps for the first time the global, regional and national availability and use of safer nicotine products, the regulatory responses to these products, and the public health potential of tobacco harm reduction.

Every six seconds someone dies from a smoking-related disease and the problem is likely to worsen; the steep smoking declines in richer countries are slowing while in poorer countries smoking is set to rise. Existing forms of tobacco control are proving insufficient. While many people give up smoking, on their own or with medicinal products, many fail. ‘Quit or die’ is no longer the only option for those who cannot give up. Safer nicotine products offer another way. There is substantial international, independent evidence that these products are demonstrably safer than cigarettes. These potential lifesaving products could lead to a global revolution in public health.

CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT
Cessation Landscape Report
Play Video
2018 HEALTH, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY

Cessation Landscape Report

EY-Parthenon (EY-P) conducted a landscape analysis in July 2018 to identify and characterize smoking cessation products and services

  • The objective was to provide a comprehensive overview across products and services segments which are currently on the market and those currently in development for smoking cessation
  • The scope of the assessment focused on solutions that are specifically developed or approved for smoking cessation, rather than products that provide smokers with a (less harmful) alternative to smoking
  • Each intervention has been characterized along multiple dimensions, including the cessation method it uses and, where available, the provider/developer, mechanism of action, its efficacy and further relevant details 
CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT
Global Poll 2017
Play Video
2017 HEALTH, SCIENCE, AND TECHNOLOGY

Global Poll 2017

In late 2017, the Foundation commissioned a poll that served as a baseline assessment of a continuous effort to evaluate and monitor the global state of smoking and tobacco harm-reduction efforts. The Foundation engaged Kantar Public, an integrated consulting and research agency, to conduct this poll. The purpose of the survey was to gain a clear understanding of smokers’ experiences and challenges, their habits and perceptions of risk regarding tobacco products and alternative nicotine delivery systems (ANDS), and the influence of these risk perceptions on their choices of products used, among adults across the world. The survey included a quantitative questionnaire, completed by more than 17,000 adult participants in 13 countries. A qualitative part of the survey, made up of focus group discussions in major cities in seven countries, provided additional context and insights.

CLICK TO ACCESS THE REPORT