Agriculture and Livelihoods revamp - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

الزراعة وسبل العيش

تم تحرير هذه الصفحة آخر مرة في: 1 سبتمبر 2021 في 4:00 م

إعداد مزارعي التبغ لعصر ينخفض فيه الطلب

يمكن أن يكون للانخفاض العالمي للتدخين العديد من الآثار الصحية الإيجابية، ولكنه قد يؤدي إلى عواقب اقتصادية سلبية لمزارعي التبغ الذين يوجد الكثير منهم في الدول النامية. لمعالجة الأثر الزراعي السلبي المحتمل للإقلاع عن التدخين ، تركز المؤسسة على الشراكة مع ممثلي الزراعة والتنمية الريفية وأصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة والأفراد لتحديد سبل العيش البديلة لمزارعي التبغ.

تقود مبادرة التحول الزراعي (ATI) ، وهي شركة تابعة للمؤسسة ، المشاريع وتنشئ شراكات في ملاوي حيث أكثر من 60٪ من إجمالي الأرباح السنوية للبلد و 13٪ من الاقتصاد باعتباره يقاس بالناتج المحلي الإجمالي (GDP). يهدف ATI إلى المساعدة في تنويع اقتصاد ملاوي المعتمد على التبغ ، وضمان دعم المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة المتأثرين بانخفاض الطلب على التبغ لإيجاد سبل عيش بديلة مستدامة.

الصفحة الرئيسية

برامج الشركاء

مركز التحول الزراعي (CAT)

مركز التحول الزراعي (CAT) هو مركز امتياز جامع للعلوم والتكنولوجيا والابتكار والأعمال التجارية يهدف إلى تحويل النظم الزراعية الملاوية من خلال تطوير تقنيات جديدة وسلاسل القيمة والشراكات وفرص الدخل التي تدعم سبل عيش المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة وتيسير الاعتماد على قطاع التبغ.

اقرأ المزيد>

معهد MwAPATA

معهد MwAPATA هو مركز أبحاث مستقل في مجال السياسات الزراعية ، والموارد الطبيعية ، وبحوث سياسات التنمية الريفية ، ويقدم توجيهًا ملموسًا للسياسات ودعمًا لتنفيذ التحول الزراعي والتنمية في ملاوي.

اقرأ المزيد>

معهد التعليم الدولي

 

صندوق الزمالة والمنح الدراسية لمبادرة التحول الزراعي

يهدف صندوق الزمالة والمنح الدراسية لمبادرة التحول الزراعي الذي يديره معهد التعليم الدولي إلى تعزيز قدرة الباحثين والمهنيين في ملاوي في المجالات ذات الأولوية العالية بما في ذلك الأعمال وعلوم البيانات والبيئة والاقتصاد والهندسة التي ستساعد الدولة على تحويل قطاعها الزراعي من خلال تقليل الاعتماد على صادرات التبغ.

قراءة المزيد 

مشروع تحويل سلسلة قيمة البستنة

يدعم مشروع تحويل سلسلة قيمة البستنة إنشاء مصنع لتصنيع الدفيئة ومزرعة نموذجية ومصنع معالجة لدعم تحول سلسلة قيمة البستنة في ملاوي. من بين أمور أخرى ، سيقوم البرنامج ببناء قدرات المزارعين في إنتاج الصوبات الزراعية وتسهيل الروابط مع الأسواق لمنتجاتهم.

برنامج تسهيلات دعم الاستثمار

تم تصميم برنامج مرفق دعم الاستثمار لتسهيل تحديد وتعبئة المعاملات التجارية الشاملة الموجهة للمستثمرين الدوليين والتي تكون مجدية تجاريًا والتي ستؤثر بشكل إيجابي على المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة والشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في ملاوي.

مؤسسة Strategic Impact Advisors الاستشارية

عقد مستشارو التأثير الاستراتيجي شراكة مع Telekom Networks في ملاوي لتقديم حملة تحفيز ريفي للخدمات المالية الرقمية (DFS) تهدف إلى زيادة فهم DFS واستخدامه وتوافره ، وتعزيز الشمول المالي الريفي وتحسين محو الأمية الرقمية والخدمات المالية كجزء من الجهود الرامية إلى إعداد المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة في ملاوي للوقت الذي يقل فيه الطلب على أوراق التبغ.

البحث / الرؤى

سيذهب وصف القسم هنا إذا لزم الأمر. 

تقييم سريع لتنفيذ برنامج المدخلات بأسعار معقولة 2020/21 في ملاوي

زيفانيا نيريندا ، فاراي شيغارو ، كريستون نيوندو ، ماكايكو خونج ، أيالا وينمان وميلو مويانغا

1 يونيو 2021

وصل عدد المزارعين 2020/21 إلى أربعة أضعاف عدد المزارعين الذين وصل إليهم برنامج FISP في 2019/20 واستخدموا آليات تسليم مبتكرة. ومع ذلك ، أدت العديد من التحديات الرئيسية إلى التأخير في التوافر ومشاكل أخرى. باستخدام البيانات التي تم جمعها في ديسمبر 2020 ، نلقي نظرة فاحصة على AIP ونقدم مسارًا للتحسينات

اقرأ المزيد>

تقييم بدائل زراعة التبغ لأصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة في ملاوي

مرونال شاه ، وجيكوب ريكر جيلبرت ، وماكايكو خونج

31 مايو 2021

نقوم بتقييم ربحية التبغ الملاوي والبدائل المحتملة. على مدى السنوات العشر الماضية ، انخفضت حصة أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة الذين يزرعون التبغ من 16٪ إلى 5٪ فقط. من المحتمل أن يكون تحسين سلاسل القيمة للمحاصيل البديلة أكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة من إخراج صغار الملاك القلائل المتبقين من التبغ.

اقرأ المزيد>

عنوان الأستاذ ملاطة

نائب رئيس جامعة مالاوي للعلوم والتكنولوجيا

قاد Address تطوير وتنفيذ العديد من الطلاب الجامعيين وطلاب الدراسات العليا في مجالات الصحة والعلوم والابتكار والتكنولوجيا.

أخبار

التكلفة الحقيقة للسيجارة

إطلاق مبادرة التحول الزراعي

النشرات الإخبارية

تلتزم مبادرة التحول الزراعي (ATI) بتنويع سبل عيش مزارعي التبغ أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة من خلال الأفكار الجديدة والأدوات والطاقة.

اقرأ المزيد هنا

القمم

في كل عام ، ستعقد ATI قمة في ملاوي لمناقشة الجهود المبذولة لتطوير وتنويع الاقتصاد الذي يهيمن عليه التبغ في ملاوي.

اقرأ المزيد هنا

الفعاليات

الفعاليات القادمة

الفعاليات السابقة

سلسلة مكبرات الصوت البارزة السادسة

الأربعاء, 25 أغسطس 2021 || 5: 00- 7:00 م CAT || Virtual عبر Zoom ( انقر هنا للانضمام

تفخر MwAPATA وشركاؤها ، اللجنة الوطنية للتخطيط (NPC) وجامعة Lilongwe للزراعة والموارد الطبيعية (LUANAR) ، بتقديم:
أهمية تعزيز القدرات البشرية والمؤسسية في بناء نظم غذائية زراعية مرنة في أفريقيا.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Agriculture and Livelihoods revamp - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Agricultural Diversification

This page was last edited on: April 13, 2022 at 4:11 pm

PREPARE TOBACCO FARMERS FOR AN ERA OF REDUCED DEMAND

The global decline of smoking could have many positive health impacts but could bring negative economic consequences to tobacco farmers, many of whom are in developing nations. To address the potential negative agricultural impact of smoking cessation, the Foundation is focused on partnering with agricultural, rural development, and smallholder representatives and individuals to identify alternative livelihoods for tobacco farmers.

The Agricultural Transformation Initiative (ATI), a subsidiary of the Foundation, is spearheading projects and cultivating partnerships in Malawi where tobacco accounts for more than 60% of the country’s total annual earnings and 13% of the economy as measured by the gross domestic product (GDP). The ATI aims to help diversify Malawi’s tobacco-dependent economy, ensuring that smallholder farmers impacted by the declining demand for tobacco are supported to find sustainable alternative livelihoods.

Fields of ground nut and corn in Malawi

Home

Partner Programs

The Centre for Agricultural Transformation (CAT)

The Centre for Agricultural Transformation (CAT) is an inclusive science, technology, innovation, and business incubation center of excellence whose goal is to transform Malawian agricultural systems through development of new technologies and value chains, partnerships, and income opportunities that support smallholder farmer livelihoods and ease reliance on the tobacco sector.

READ MORE >

Play Video

The MwAPATA Institute

The MwAPATA Institute is an independent policy think tank in agricultural, natural resources and rural development policy research, providing concrete policy guidance and implementation support for agricultural transformation, and development in Malawi.

READ MORE >

The Institute of International Education

 

Agricultural Transformation Initiative Fellowship and Scholarship Fund

The Institute of International Education’s administered Agricultural Transformation Initiative Fellowship and Scholarship Fund aims at strengthening the capacity of researchers and professionals in Malawi in high priority fields including business, data science, environment, economics, and engineering that will help the country transform its agricultural sector by reducing dependence on tobacco exports.

READ MORE >

Horticulture value chain transformation project

Horticulture value chain transformation project is supporting the establishment of a greenhouse manufacturing plant, model farm, and processing plant to support the transformation of the horticulture value chain in Malawi. Among others, the program will build farmers capacity in greenhouse production and facilitate linkages to markets for their produce.

Investment Support Facility Program

The Investment Support Facility Program is designed to facilitate identification and packaging of inclusive international investor-grade commercially oriented and commercially viable transactions which will positively impact smallholder farmers, micro and small and medium enterprises in Malawi.

Strategic Impact Advisors

Strategic Impact Advisors partnered with Telekom Networks in Malawi to deliver Digital Financial Services (DFS) rural stimulation campaign aimed at increasing the understanding, usage, and availability of DFS, strengthening rural financial inclusion and improve digital literacy and financial services as part of the effort to prepare smallholder farmers in Malawi for a time when there is less demand for leaf tobacco.

Research/Insights

How Russia’s Invasion of Ukraine Will Affect the Food Security Situation in Malawi: Implications for Malawian Policy Response

March 31, 2022

The conflict between Russia and Ukraine is very likely to have an impact on Malawi that could be detrimental, but steps can be taken now to soften the effects. Fuel, food, and fertilizer prices can all be expected to continue rising dramatically in the coming months. These effects threaten Malawian livelihoods and the feasibility of major government policies, such as the Agricultural Inputs Program. However, the situation also presents opportunities to pivot policies towards promoting crop diversification. While swift action may be rewarding, delays could result in substantial economic harm.

A Rapid Assessment of the Implementation of the 2020/21 Affordable Inputs Program in Malawi

Zephania Nyirenda, Farai Chigaru, Christone Nyondo, Makaiko Khonje, Ayala Wineman & Milu Muyanga

June 1, 2021

The 2020/21 AIP reached 4 times as many farmers as did FISP in 2019/20 and used innovative delivery mechanisms. However, numerous major challenges led to delays in availability and other problems. Using data collected in December 2020, we take a critical look at the AIP and offer a path to improvements

READ MORE >

Assessing Alternatives to Tobacco Farming for Smallholders in Malawi

Mrunal Shah, Jacob Ricker-Gilbert , Makaiko Khonje

May 31, 2021

We assess the profitability of Malawian tobacco and potential alternatives. Over the past 10 years the share of smallholders growing tobacco has declined from 16% to just 5%. Improving value chains for alternative crops is likely more cost-effective than moving the few remaining smallholders out of tobacco.

READ MORE >

Agnes Mwangwela, a portrait of a woman sitting in an office chair.

Dr. Agnes Mwangwela

Associate Professor of Food Science and Deputy Vice Chancellor of LUANAR

Dr. Agnes Mwangwela is a Food Scientist with 26 years of experience in university teaching in food science and has supervised 50 postgraduate students at Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources.  

News

The True Cost of a Cigarette

Launching our Agricultural Transformation Initiative

Newsletters

Close up image of a hand touching a small plant in the dirt.

The Agricultural Transformation Initiative (ATI) is committed to diversifying the livelihoods of smallholder tobacco farmers through new ideas, tools, and energy.

Read more here >

Summits

Each year, ATI will hold a summit in Malawi to discuss efforts to develop and diversify Malawi’s tobacco-dominated economy.

Read more here >

Skip to content
WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux