رؤيتنا | مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين

رسالتنا

مؤسسة عالم خالٍ من التدخين (FSFW أو المؤسسة) هي مؤسسة خاصة مستقلة غير ربحية ، معفاة من الضرائب ، ملتزمة بالحد من الوفيات والأمراض التي يسببها التدخين. ورسالتنا هي القضاء على التدخين بين أبناء هذا الجيل. لتحقيق هذا الهدف على نطاق عالمي حقيقي، نحن نسعى جاهدين لتحديد الاحتياجات الفريدة للعالم النامي ومحاولة تلبيتها نظرًا لأنها ترتبط بالإقلاع عن التبغ والحد من الأضرار.

قصتنا

تأسست المؤسسة على يد الدكتور ديريك ياك الذي يتولى قيادتها حاليًا، وهو خبير عالمي مرموق في مجال الصحة مشتغل بالدعوة لمكافحة التدخين منذ أكثر من 30 عامًا. شُيدت المؤسسة على أساس الاعتقاد بأننا بحاجة إلى استكشاف الأفكار الجديدة واختبارها وتبنيها إذا أردنا تسريع الوصول إلى هدفنا بالقضاء على التدخين.

لا يزال أكثر من مليار شخص يدخنون في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ويموت أكثر من ثمانية ملايين مدخن كل عام. ونحن ملتزمون بمساعدة المدخنين في الإقلاع عن إدمان السجائر وأشكال التبغ الأخرى. وحتى نحقق غاياتنا، نتعاون مع مؤسسات أخرى غير هادفة للربح ومؤسسات حقوقية وحكومية لإحراز مزيد من التقدم في علوم الإقلاع عن التدخين والحد من الأضرار. كما أننا ندعم تطوير المنتجات والطرق البديلة التي قد تقلل من المخاطر الصحية الحالية للمستخدمين وتساعدهم على الإقلاع عن التدخين بالكامل.


نحن نعلم أن معظم المدخنين يرغبون في الإقلاع عن التدخين، ولكن هذه الخطوة تعد تحديًا للكثيرين منهم وبالتالي فإن معدلات النجاح المعتادة أقل من 10 بالمائة. كما نعرف أيضًا أن عدد المدخنين في جميع أنحاء العالم هو نفس ما كان عليه في الواقع منذ 15 عامًا، على الرغم من سياسات مكافحة التبغ العالمية الجيدة والجهود التوعوية لمنع التدخين. نحتاج إلى حلول جديدة أفضل تُطبّق بسرعة وخفة لمواجهة هذا الوباء الصحي العالمي.

منهجنا

تمول مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين الأبحاث، وتشجع على الابتكار، وتدعم مبادرات التعاون للإسراع بتحقيق تقدم في مجال الحد من الأضرار والوفيات الناجمة عن التدخين. وتؤدي المؤسسة أيضًا دورًا في الدعوة إلى الأبحاث العالمية الداعمة للحد من تعاطي التبغ، مع المساعدة في معالجة أثر انخفاض معدلات التدخين على الزراعة والاقتصادات.

يركز عمل المؤسسة على ثلاثة مجالات أساسية: قطاع الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا، والزراعة وسبل العيش، وتحوّل الصناعة.

• تسعى HST جاهدة للنهوض بأبحاث التبغ العالمية من خلال الاستثمار في المؤسسات والمشاريع في البلدان التي يعيش فيها معظم المدخنين. ولاستكمال جهود مكافحة التبغ المستمرة، يدعم قطاع الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا تطوير أدوات مبتكرة للإقلاع عن التدخين والحد من الأضرار.

• الزراعة وسبل العيش تهدف إلى تنويع الاقتصادات المعتمدة على التبغ من خلال مبادرة التحول الزراعي. وقد بدأ هذا العمل في مالاوي مع تدشين مركز التحول الزراعي وعدد من البرامج الأخرى.

• تركز جهود التحول في الصناعة على إحداث التغيير عبر صناعة التبغ العالمية والنظام البيئي للنيكوتين. أول إجراء رئيسي للمؤسسة في هذا المجال هو Tobacco Transformation Index ™ ، والذي يقيّم بشكل نقدي ويبلغ عن تقدم الصناعة نحو الحد من أضرار التبغ ، بما في ذلك أي إجراءات تتخذها شركات التبغ لعرقلة هذا التقدم.

نحن ملتزمون بالحاجة الملحة لإنهاء إدمان مليار مدخن في العالم على السجائر وغيرها من أشكال تعاطي التبغ. لتحقيق هذه الغاية ، ندعم أيضًا استخدام المنتجات / الطرق البديلة التي قد تقلل من مخاطرها الصحية الحالية وربما تساعدهم على الإقلاع عن التدخين تمامًا في المستقبل.

تتعاون المؤسسة مع المنظمات الحكومية وغير الهادفة للربح والدعوة لتعزيز الإقلاع عن التدخين وعلوم وتقنية الحد من الضرر. كما أنه يعمل كمنظم للبحث والحوار والأفكار للحد من التدخين على مستوى العالم ، مع المراقبة والتقييم والمساعدة في معالجة تأثير معدلات التدخين المخفضة على الزراعة والاقتصاد.

من نحن

المؤسسة هي شركة غير ربحية منظمة بموجب قانون المؤسسة العامة لولاية ديلاوير ومعفاة من ضريبة الدخل الفيدرالية بموجب قسم قانون الإيرادات الداخلية 501 (c) (3 ). يتم تمويل المؤسسة من خلال الهدايا السنوية من PMI Global Services Inc. ("PMI"). المؤسسة مستقلة عن PMI ، وتعمل بطريقة تضمن استقلاليتها عن تأثير أي كيان تجاري.

أنت مدعو لمراجعة شهادة التأسيس ، خطاب تحديد مصلحة الضرائب ، اللوائح الداخلية ، و اتفاقية التعهد بين Foundation و PMI عبر الروابط أدناه. نرحب بأي تعليقات على هذه المستندات أو على أنشطة المؤسسة من خلال صفحة الاتصال في موقع الويب هذا.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Our Vision

The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World (FSFW) is an independent, nonprofit organization committed to reducing deaths and diseases caused by smoking. Our mission is to end smoking in this generation. To achieve this goal on a truly global scale, we strive to identify and address the unique needs of the developing world as they relate to tobacco cessation and harm reduction.

Our Story

The Foundation was established in 2017 and is led by Dr. Derek Yach, a global health expert and anti-smoking advocate for more than 30 years. The organization was founded on the belief that we need to explore, test, and embrace new ideas if we want to accelerate progress toward a smoke-free world.

More than a billion people still smoke worldwide, and more than seven million smokers die each year. We are committed to helping smokers with their addiction to cigarettes and other forms of tobacco. To this end, we collaborate with other nonprofit, advocacy, and government organizations to advance smoking cessation and harm reduction science. We also support the development of alternative products and methods that may reduce users’ current health risks and help them to stop smoking entirely.

We know most smokers want to quit, but many struggle, with typical success rates lower than 10 percent. We also know that the number of smokers worldwide is virtually the same as it was 15 years ago, despite well-coordinated global tobacco control policies and educational efforts to prevent smoking. We need new and better solutions, applied nimbly and rapidly, to combat this global health epidemic.

Our Path

The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World (FSFW) is an independent, non-profit organization. FSFW was established in 2017 to accelerate global efforts to reduce health impacts and deaths from smoking, with the goal of eliminating smoking worldwide as soon as possible.

The Foundation funds research, promotes innovation, and supports collaborative initiatives to accelerate progress in reducing harm and deaths from smoking. It also serves as a convener of global research supporting the reduction of tobacco use, while helping to address the impact of decreased smoking rates on agriculture and economies.

The Foundation’s work focuses on three core areas: Health, Science, and Technology (HST); Agriculture and Livelihoods; and Industry Transformation.

  • HST strives to advance global tobacco research by investing in institutions and projects in countries where most smokers live. To complement ongoing tobacco control efforts, HST supports the development of innovative cessation and harm reduction tools.
  • Agriculture and Livelihoods aims to diversify tobacco-dependent economies through our Agricultural Transformation Initiative. This work has begun in Malawi with the launch of the Centre for Agricultural Transformation and a number of other programs.
  • Industry Transformation efforts focus on delivering change across the entire global tobacco industry and nicotine ecosystem. The Foundation’s first major action in this area is the Tobacco Transformation Index, which will critically evaluate and report on industry progress toward a smoke-free world, including any actions taken by tobacco companies to undermine that progress.

We are committed to the urgent need of ending the world’s billion smokers’ addiction to cigarettes and other forms of tobacco use. Toward this end, we also support the use of alternative products/methods that may reduce their current health risks and perhaps help them to stop smoking entirely in the future.

We know most smokers want to quit, but many struggle, with typical success rates at <10%. We also know that the number of smokers worldwide is virtually the same as it was 15 years ago, despite well-coordinated and sustained global tobacco control policy and educational efforts to reduce and prevent smoking. We need new and better solutions, applied nimbly and rapidly, to end smoking.

The Foundation collaborates with other non-profit, advocacy and government organizations to advance smoking cessation and harm-reduction science and technology. It also serves as a convener of research, dialogue and ideas to reduce smoking globally, while monitoring, evaluating and helping to address the impact of reduced smoking rates on agriculture and economics.

Full disclosure: Initial funding came from Phillip Morris International (PMI). The Foundation has a nonprofit status as a US 501c3 organization, and by law and policy must operate completely independently from PMI, and cannot engage in activities designed to support PMI’s interests. Further, PMI can have no involvement or say in our work.

The public is welcome to review the Foundation’s certificate of incorporation, bylaws and pledge agreement via the links below. You are invited to comment on the documents and on the Foundation’s activities through the contact page of this website.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux