Tobacco Transformation Index ™ Builds on SASB Standard - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

مؤشر تحول التبغ ™ مبني على معيار SASB

يعد Tobacco Transformation Index ™ أداة لتسريع التحول في صناعة التبغ العالمية وتقليل الضرر الناجم عن استخدام التبغ. يعد الفهرس إجراءً تكميليًا ترعاه Foundation for a Smoke-Free World. وبوجه خاص، يراقب المؤشر أنشطة شركات التبغ فيما يتعلق بتحويل الصناعة من خلال:

  • التخلص التدريجي من منتجات التبغ عالية الخطورة.
  • تطوير بدائل منخفضة المخاطر وتقديمها بمسؤولية لدعم المستخدمين الحاليين في الابتعاد عن المنتجات عالية المخاطر.
  • منع الوصول إلى مثل هذه البدائل وتسويقها لجميع غير المدخنين وغير المستخدمين للمنتجات عالية الخطورة وخاصة الشباب.
  • ضمان اتساق أنشطة الحد من الضرر عبر الأسواق.

يعتمد الفهرس على الأفكار التي طورها مجلس معايير محاسبة الاستدامة ( SASB ) وغيرها من المجالات البيئية والاجتماعية ، ومنهجيات الحوكمة (ESG) التي تم تطبيقها على مجموعة متنوعة من القطاعات. 

طورت SASB مجموعة من 77 معيارًا لمحاسبة الاستدامة خاصة بالصناعة ، تم تصميم أحدها لصناعة التبغ. تُعرِّف SASB صناعة التبغ بأنها تتألف من الشركات التي تصنع منتجات التبغ بما في ذلك السجائر والسيجار والتبغ الذي لا يدخن. تم تصميم معايير SASB لتحديد مجموعة دنيا من مشكلات الاستدامة التي من المرجح أن تؤثر على الأداء التشغيلي أو الحالة المالية للشركة النموذجية في الصناعة. مايكل بلومبيرج يدعم SASB في دور الرئيس الفخري. في رسالته السنوية إلى الرؤساء التنفيذيين ، صرح الرئيس التنفيذي BlackRock الرئيس التنفيذي لاري فينك ، "على الرغم من عدم وجود إطار عمل مثالي ، تعتقد شركة بلاك روك أن مجلس معايير محاسبة الاستدامة (SASB) يوفر مجموعة واضحة من المعايير للإبلاغ عن معلومات الاستدامة عبر مجموعة واسعة من القضايا ".

مع التركيز حصريًا على تحول صناعة التبغ ، التبغ
يذهب Transformation Index ™
إلى أبعد من معيار SASB للتبغ. على وجه التحديد ، يشتمل المؤشر على مجموعة أوسع وأعمق من المقاييس ، ويتدرب على مجالات الأداء الرئيسية ، ويوفر القدرة على التمييز بشكل موضوعي بين شركات التبغ بطريقة تحفز تدريجياً على التغيير السريع بمرور الوقت. يأخذ المؤشر الخطوة الإضافية المتمثلة في تسجيل الشركات المستهدفة ، بغض النظر عن مستوى مشاركتها.

تم بناء معيار SASB للتبغ حول عدة مؤشرات تغطي:

  • موضوعات الإفصاح عن الاستدامة ومقاييس المحاسبة: الإيرادات وتقييم المخاطر وممارسات التسويق (السياسة والمالية).
  • مقاييس النشاط: حجم مبيعات منتجات التبغ القابلة للاحتراق وغير القابلة للاحتراق.

تمهيدي Tobacco Transformation Index ™ تم بناء تصميم حول 7 فئات فنية و 12 فئة فرعية ، والتي تشمل أكثر من 40 مؤشرًا.

  • الفئات الفنية المستخدمة لتنظيم المؤشرات هي: الاستراتيجية والإدارة ، ومبيعات المنتجات ، واستراتيجية المنتج ، وتخصيص رأس المال ، وكود التسويق ، والسياسة العامة والامتثال ، وانتقال سلسلة التوريد.
  • يتم دمج المؤشرات على أساس الصلة والجدوى والأهمية النسبية للتحول. أنها توفر نظرة ثاقبة أداء الشركة والالتزام والشفافية. تتكون مؤشرات الأداء من مقاييس القيمة المطلقة والقيمة النسبية لمنتجات التبغ عالية المخاطر مقارنة بالمنتجات البديلة منخفضة المخاطر ومعدلات التغيير على مدى فترة متعددة السنوات.
  • يتم تعيين ترجيح نسبي لكل فئة وفئة فرعية ومؤشر ، والذي يمثل أهمية المؤشر لتحول شركة التبغ. يتم تعيين أعلى قيم ترجيح لمقاييس الأداء. يتم تعيين قيم ترجيح أعلى للمقاييس النسبية ومعدلات التغيير من المقاييس المطلقة ؛ هذا جزئيا يطبيع تأثير الحجم. تمثل فئات الأداء ، مثل مبيعات المنتج واستراتيجية المنتج ، الأداء التاريخي. تعتبر فئة تخصيص رأس المال من المؤشرات الرائدة المحتملة للأداء المستقبلي.
  • تتمثل إحدى الوظائف المهمة للمؤشر في مراقبة أنشطة الشركات وأدائها عبر الأسواق المختلفة لتحديد ما إذا كانت الشركات تتبع نهجًا ثابتًا تجاه الحد من الضرر ضمن الإرشادات التنظيمية ، أو ما إذا كانت تنتقل فقط داخل أسواق مختارة (على سبيل المثال ، عالية الدخل).
  • يغطي المؤشر أكبر 15 شركة تبغ ، يتم تسجيلها على أساس نسبي. تعتمد درجة كل شركة لكل فئة على الدرجة لكل مؤشر ضمن تلك الفئة والوزن النسبي المخصص ؛ ثم يتم تلخيص درجات الفئة حتى إجمالي النقاط.
  • بعد فترة من التشاور والمراجعة ، سيتم تقديم تفاصيل التصميم النهائية في تقرير المنهجية ليتم نشره بالتزامن مع إصدار الفهرس الأول في سبتمبر 2020 .

بالطبع ، لا يمكن الحصول على تقييم كامل لأي شركة من خلال درجة واحدة ، وهذا ليس الهدف من المؤشر. سيتضمن Tobacco Transformation Index ™ أيضًا مناقشة أداء الشركة - الكمي والنوعي - استنادًا إلى البيانات التي تم التحقق منها والأدلة الأخرى التي يمكن ملاحظتها. يسعى المؤشر إلى تحقيق توازن موضوعي ، نظرًا لعدم وجود مؤشر واحد معصوم. والهدف من ذلك هو مجموعة من المؤشرات التي تقدم مجتمعة الرؤية الأكثر توازناً من الناحية الموضوعية.

باختصار ، تنظر المؤسسة إلى Tobacco Transformation Index ™ أنه دعم ومبني على SASB والمعايير الأخرى. يشترك الفهرس ومعيار التبغ SASB في مقاييس مشتركة - حجم المبيعات والإيرادات وممارسات التسويق. يذهب المؤشر إلى أبعد من ذلك في النطاق ، وتقييم المقاييس النسبية ، ومعدلات التغيير بمرور الوقت ، والمؤشرات الرائدة ؛ لذلك ، تحقيق رؤية أكبر وتمكين أصحاب المصلحة من تقييم سلوك شركات التبغ والتمييز بينها بشكل أكثر فعالية.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Tobacco Transformation Index Builds on SASB Standard

The Tobacco Transformation Index is a tool to accelerate the transformation of the global tobacco industry and the reduction of harm caused by tobacco use. The Index is a complementary action sponsored by the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World. Specifically, the Index monitors tobacco companies’ activities with respect to transforming the industry through:

  • Phasing out high-risk tobacco products.
  • Developing and responsibly offering reduced-risk alternatives to support current users in moving away from high-risk products.
  • Preventing access and marketing of such alternatives to all non-smokers and non-users of high-risk products, especially youth.
  • Ensuring consistency of harm reduction activities across markets.

The Index draws upon ideas developed by the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) and other environmental, social, and governance (ESG) methodologies that have been applied to a diverse range of sectors. 

SASB has developed a set of 77 industry-specific sustainability accounting standards, one of which was designed for the tobacco industry. SASB defines the tobacco industry as comprised of companies that manufacture tobacco products including cigarettes, cigars, and smokeless tobacco. SASB standards are designed to identify a minimum set of sustainability issues most likely to impact the operating performance or financial condition of the typical company in an industry. Michael Bloomberg supports SASB in the role of Chair Emeritus. In his annual letter to CEOs, BlackRock CEO Larry Fink states, “While no framework is perfect, BlackRock believes that the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) provides a clear set of standards for reporting sustainability information across a wide range of issues”.

With an exclusive focus on the transformation of the tobacco industry, the Tobacco Transformation Index goes further than the SASB tobacco standard. Specifically, the Index incorporates a broader and deeper set of metrics, drills into key performance areas, and offers the ability to objectively differentiate tobacco companies in a manner that will incentivize progressively more rapid change over time. The Index takes the added step of scoring target companies, regardless of their level of participation.

The SASB tobacco standard is built around several indicators covering:

  • Sustainability disclosure topics and accounting metrics: revenue, risk assessment, and marketing practices (policy and financial).
  • Activity metrics: volume of combustible and non-combustible tobacco product sales.

The Tobacco Transformation Index’s preliminary design is built around 7 technical categories and 12 subcategories, which include more than 40 indicators.

  • The technical categories used to organize the indicators are: Strategy and Management, Product Sales, Product Strategy, Capital Allocation, Marketing Code, Public Policy and Compliance, and Supply Chain Transition.
  • Indicators are incorporated based on relevance, feasibility, and materiality to transformation. They offer insight into company performance, commitment, and transparency. Performance indicators consist of measures of absolute value, relative value of high-risk tobacco products compared to reduced-risk alternative products, and rates of change over a multi-year period.
  • Each category, subcategory, and indicator is assigned a relative weighting, which represents an indicator’s significance to tobacco company transformation. Performance measures are assigned the highest weighting values. Relative and rates-of-change measures are assigned higher weighting values than absolute measures; this partly normalizes the impact of size. Performance categories, such as Product Sales and Product Strategy, represent historical performance. The Capital Allocation category is considered a potential leading indicator of future performance.
  • An important function of the Index is monitoring companies’ activities and performance across different markets to determine whether the companies are pursuing a consistent approach toward harm reduction within regulatory guidelines, or whether they are only transitioning within select (e.g., high-income) markets.
  • The Index covers the 15 largest tobacco companies, to be scored on a relative basis. Each company’s score per category is based on the score per indicator within that category and the assigned relative weighting; category scores are then summed up to the total score.
  • Following a period of consultation and review, final design details will be presented in a Methodology Report to be published in conjunction with the first Index release in September 2020.

Of course, a complete assessment of any company cannot be captured by a single score, and this is not the intent of the Index. The Tobacco Transformation Index will also include discussion of company performance — quantitative and qualitative — based on verified data and other observable evidence. The Index strives for objective balance, given there is no single infallible indicator. The aim is a set of indicators that together give the most objectively balanced view possible.

In summary, the Foundation views the Tobacco Transformation Index as supporting and building upon the SASB and other standards. The Index and the SASB tobacco standard share common metrics — sales volume, revenue, and marketing practices. The Index goes further in scope, assessment of relative measures, rates of change over time, and leading indicators; therefore, achieving greater insight and enabling stakeholders to more effectively evaluate the behavior of and differentiate between the tobacco companies.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux