تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ - تعارض أم تكامل؟ - مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين

تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ - متعارض أم مُكمل؟

سيقدم تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ التابع للمؤسسة ("المؤشر") بمرور الوقت دليلاً ملموسًا على الخطوات التي تتخذها شركات التبغ الكبرى للتخلص من السجائر التقليدية وغيرها من منتجات التبغ شديدة الخطورة، والإجراءات التي تتخذها هذه الشركات لعرقلة التقدم المحرز في هذا الصدد. تدعم مبادرة إيقاف مؤسسات ومنتجات التبغ التي أطلقتها مؤسسة بلومبرج الخيرية (STOP) المؤشر العالمي لتدخلات صناعة التبغ. تسعى مؤسسة القضاء على الاستثمار في التبغ (Tobacco Free Portfolios) جاهدة للقضاء على الاستثمار في التبغ - وتشير إلى المؤشر (الذي كان يُعرف سابقًا باسم مؤشر القضاء على التدخين) بوصفه تحديًا مباشرًا لأهدافها، وتوصي الأعضاء الموقعين بعدم التعامل مع المؤسسة أو المؤشر.

ظاهريًا، يبدو أن وجهات نظر كل من مؤسسة القضاء على الاستثمار في التبغ ومؤسسة STOP ومؤسسة القضاء على التدخين مختلفة تمامًا. ولكن من وجهة نظري، تكمل هذه البرامج بعضها بعضًا.

أولاً، لدينا مؤسسة القضاء على الاستثمار في التبغ التي تمولها مؤسسة أبحاث السرطان بالمملكة المتحدة (Cancer Research UK)، وجمعية السرطان الدنماركية، وغيرهم من الداعمين بهدف تقليل الاستثمار في التبغ والقضاء عليه في النهاية. فالمستثمرون الذين لا يرغبون في وجود صلة تربطهم بدين شركات التبغ وأسهمها لديهم مطلق الحرية في القيام بذلك. ولكن هذا التصرف ليس خيار الجميع. نتيجةً لذلك، قد يخلق بيع (أو الامتناع عن شراء) أحد الاستثمارات لأسباب غير مالية فرصة شراء أفضل أمام شخص آخر. على سبيل المثال، يشير أحد التقارير التي نشرتها شركة Wilshire Associates، مستشار الاستثمار العام لنظام تقاعد موظفي القطاع العام في ولاية كاليفورنيا (CalPERS)، إلى أن نظام المعاشات قد فقد 3,581 مليار دولار في مكاسب الاستثمار عن طريق تصفية أسهم التبغ خلال فترة تزيد عن 17 سنة انتهت في 30 يونيو 2018. تشير شركة دويتشه لإدارة الأصول (Deutsche Asset Management) إلى احتمالية ظهور جدول أعمال للمستثمرين خاص بقطاع التبغ، بحيث يتضمن إستراتيجيات التصفية والمشاركة لأن التصفية وحدها على الأرجح لن تغير ممارسات صناعة التبغ.

ثانيًا، يراقب المؤشر العالمي لتدخلات صناعة التبغ الجهود "الحكومية للتعامل مع تدخلات صناعة التبغ" ويصنف في إطار عدة عوامل 33 دولة. وتشمل هذه العوامل تدخلات الصناعة في تطوير السياسة، والفوائد التي تتمتع بها صناعة التبغ، والتعاملات غير الضرورية، والشفافية، والمزيد. وفي تقرير عام 2019، حصلت المملكة المتحدة على أفضل درجة وحلت اليابان في المركز الأخير. وهذا الأسلوب مماثل للأسلوب الذي تستخدمه سياسات MPOWER التابعة لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، والتي تمولها أيضًا مؤسسة بلومبرج الخيرية، التي تراقب تنفيذ الدول لهذه التدابير. والأمر المثير للاهتمام في هذا الصدد، أن كلا من المملكة المتحدة واليابان قد شهدتا انخفاضًا في معدلات التدخين، انخفاضًا يدعمه جزئيًا التغييرات التي حدثت خارج المجال التنظيمي لمكافحة التبغ - تحديدًا بسبب الابتكارات المرتبطة بالسجائر الإلكترونية (المملكة المتحدة) ومنتجات التبغ المسخّن (اليابان). ومع ذلك، فإن محاولة التصنيف والترتيب والتأثير على صناع السياسات بطريقة أخرى له دور مهم للغاية.

وأخيرًا، سوف يستخدم تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ بيانات موضوعية تتعلق بسلوك الشركة لمعرفة ما إذا كانت شركات التبغ تتغير أم لا. يعتمد المؤشر على الأفكار التي وضعها مجلس معايير محاسبة الاستدامة (SASB) والمنهجيات البيئية والاجتماعية ومنهجيات الحوكمة (ESG) التي تنطبق على مجموعة متنوعة من القطاعات. يُعد مايكل بلومبرج أحد داعمي مجلس معايير محاسبة الاستدامة ويشغل منصب الرئيس الشرفي في المجلس، بالرغم من أن المجلس يغطي صناعة التبغ. سوف يستفيد المؤشر من قوى السوق مدفوعة بطلب المستهلكين، وتمكين المستثمرين بالبيانات التي لها دور جوهري في عملية التغيير، والتعامل مع شركات التبغ مع الإشارة إلى الممارسات السيئة التي تقوم بها ولكن استنادًا إلى الأدلة والبراهين. وتموّل مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين المؤشر، بينما تموّل المؤسسة شركة فيليب موريس إنترناشونال.

وعند دراسة الموضوع دراسة متأنية، نجد أن المنهجيات الثلاثة تتكامل في جهودها نحو تقليل حالات الوفاة المبكرة والأمراض المرتبطة بالتدخين.

تُدرك مؤسسة القضاء على الاستثمار في التبغ الحاجة إلى تسريع وتيرة التغيير وزيادة فرص الاستثمار فيما يتماشى مع المبادئ والضمير. ولهذا الجهد قيمة أخلاقية بالرغم من أنه لن يُحقق هدف القضاء على استخدام التبغ. كما تجذب الإستراتيجية الناشطين وانتباه وسائل الإعلام إلى الأثر المميت للتدخين في وقت تقلص فيه الاهتمام وتضائل.

يركز المؤشر العالمي لتدخلات صناعة التبغ على الحكومات، معترفًا بأن "جهود الحكومات في التعامل مع تدخلات صناعة التبغ كانت تسير ببطء وأنها أبعد ما يكون عن توقعاتنا". من وجهة نظرنا، من الممكن أن تكون هذه الاستراتيجية أكثر جرأة، بما في ذلك آثار احتكار الدولة لصناعة التبغ على سياسات الحكومة وفعالية هذه الحكومات في إنفاذ القوانين - وهو أمر لا يزال يمثل مشكلة في العديد من البلدان النامية.

وهناك نقطة خلاف مركزية بين البرامج الثلاثة تتعلق بالتعامل مع شركات التبغ، كما يتضح في تفسير المادة 5.3 من اتفاقية منظمة الصحة العالمية الإطارية بشأن مكافحة التبغ. فيرى تقرير المؤشر العالمي لتدخلات صناعة التبغ التابع لمبادرة STOP "المادة 5.3 بوصفها العمود الفقري للاتفاقية وأنها ذات أهمية بالغة"، ويذكر أيضًا: "ضرورة التوعية بممارسات صناعة التبغ." ونظرًا للمبالغة في تفسير المادة 5.3 والتعامل معها بوصفها المقاطعة والحظر، فقد أصبحت عائقًا أمام التغيير وبالتالي إدامة الوضع الراهن.

تعتمد نظرية التغيير في تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ على قوى السوق والمشاركة البناءة والمنافسة. وعلى الرغم من الاختلافات الواضحة، يمكن أن تساهم الأدوات المختلفة التي ناقشها هذا التقرير بطريقة متكاملة في تحقيق الهدف النهائي وهو الحد من حالات الوفاة المبكرة والأمراض الناجمة عن التدخين.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Tobacco Transformation Index – In conflict or complementary?

The Foundation’s Tobacco Transformation Index (the “Index”) will provide quantifiable evidence over time of the steps the largest tobacco companies are taking to achieve a world free of combustible cigarettes and other high-risk tobacco products and actions they take to impede that progress. Bloomberg Philanthropies’ Stopping Tobacco Organizations and Products (STOP) supports the Global Tobacco Industry Interference Index. Tobacco Free Portfolios strives to eliminate tobacco from investment portfolios—and refers to the Index (previously named the Smoke-Free Index) as a direct challenge to its objectives, advising signatories not to engage with the Foundation or the Index.

At face value, Tobacco Free Portfolios, STOP, and the Foundation offer widely divergent points of view. I believe their programs are complementary.

First, Tobacco Free Portfolios, funded by Cancer Research UK, The Danish Cancer Society, and other supporters aims to reduce and ultimately eliminate investment in tobacco. Investors that do not wish to own tobacco company debt and equity are certainly free to do so. However, not all investors will make this choice. As a result, the act of selling (or not buying) an investment for non-financial reasons may only create a better buying opportunity for someone else. For example, a report by Wilshire Associates, the general investment consultant for The California Public Employees’ Retirement System (CalPERS), estimates that the pension system lost $3.581 billion in investment gains by divesting from tobacco stocks during a 17-plus-year period ending June 30, 2018. Deutsche Asset Management suggests that an investor agenda for tobacco, including both divestment and engagement strategies, may emerge, since divestment on its own is unlikely to change tobacco industry practices.

Second, the Global Tobacco Industry Interference Index monitors “governments’ efforts to tackle tobacco industry interference” and ranks 33 countries across multiple factors. The factors include industry interference in policy development, benefits enjoyed by the tobacco industry, unnecessary interactions, transparency, and more. In the 2019 report, the UK was awarded the best score, Japan the worst. The technique is similar to that applied by the World Health Organization MPOWER policies, also funded by Bloomberg Philanthropies, which monitors countries’ implementation of the measures. Interestingly, the UK and Japan have both experienced a decline in smoking rates, driven in part by changes outside the tobacco control regulatory realm—namely through product innovation associated with e-cigarettes (UK) and heated tobacco products (Japan). That said, attempting to rate, rank, and otherwise influence policy makers plays a valuable role.

Finally, the Tobacco Transformation Index will use objective data on company behavior to measure whether tobacco companies are changing or not. The Index draws upon ideas developed by the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) and other environmental, social, and governance (ESG) methodologies applied to a diverse range of sectors. Michael Bloomberg is a supporter of SASB in the role of Chair Emeritus, and SASB covers the tobacco industry. The Index will leverage market forces driven by consumer demand, empower investors with data that are material to change, and engage with the tobacco companies while identifying bad practices based on evidence. The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World funds the Index. The Foundation is funded by Philip Morris International.

Upon closer review, the three approaches are complementary in the effort to reduce the premature death and disease caused by smoking.

Tobacco Free Portfolios recognizes the need to accelerate change and the opportunity to invest in accordance with one’s conscience. This effort has moral value, even if it will not achieve the goal of eliminating tobacco use. The strategy also attracts activism and media attention to the deadly impact of smoking at a time when attention and interest have dwindled.

The Global Tobacco Industry Interference Index focuses on governments, acknowledging that “governments’ efforts to tackle tobacco industry interference have been progressing slowly and are far from satisfactory.” In our view, this strategy can be even bolder, including the effects of state tobacco monopolies on government policies, and governments’ effectiveness to enforce laws – something that remains problematic in many developing countries.

A central point of contention across the programs relates to engagement with the tobacco companies, as reflected by the interpretation of Article 5.3 of the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control. The STOP Global Tobacco Industry Interference Index report states, “Article 5.3 is regarded as the backbone of the Convention and its importance cannot be over-emphasised,” and the “tobacco industry must be denormalized.” To the extent Article 5.3 is interpreted to mean boycott and ban, it has paradoxically become an impediment to change, thereby perpetuating the status quo.

The Tobacco Transformation Index theory of change is predicated on market forces, constructive engagement, and competition. Despite the apparent differences, the various tools discussed in this report can and likely will contribute in a complementary manner toward the end goal of reducing the premature death and disease caused by smoking.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux