تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ: اختلاف من أجل الخير - مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين

تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ: مختلف لسبب وجيه

لقد أثبت قادة الشركات والمستثمرون والمنظمات غير الحكومية أنه باستخدام نماذج الأعمال المبتكرة، يمكن مواءمة الربح المُحقق مع التقدم الاجتماعي والبيئي. ومع ذلك، لم يُحرز سوى تقدم ضئيل في القطاعات التي تسهم بشكل كبير في تدهور الصحة وتغير المناخ، ولا سيما الشركات التي تجني أرباحها من إنتاج التبغ والفحم وزيت النخيل ومحرك الاحتراق الداخلي. ولسوء الحظ، هذه القطاعات تحديدًا كثيرًا ما يتم استثناؤها من مناقشات الإستراتيجيات التحويلية. وكثيرًا ما تُحرَم الشركات التي لديها إرث "قذر"، والتي تستهدفها عادة حملات المقاطعة والتصفية، من الوصول إلى الأدوات التي قد تساعدها على المساهمة في جهود الصالح العام.

موّلت شركات الطاقة والشركات الغذائية والزراعية الكبرى جميعها مبادرات تعوق الجهود الرامية إلى القضاء على الأضرار الهائلة التي تسببها منتجاتها. مع ذلك، تواصل الأوساط الأكاديمية والحكومات والمستثمرون والمنظمات غير الربحية العمل مع هذه القطاعات للتوصل إلى حلول، حتى عند مطالبتها بممارسات غير مقبولة. ونعتقد بأن هناك حاجة إلى نهج مماثل للقضاء على الضرر الذي يسببه التبغ. ومع وجود سبعة ملايين حالة وفاة مرتبطة بالتدخين سنويًا، فإننا نرى أن المخاطر هائلة لدرجة لا تسمح لنا بحرية عدم التعاون مع الأطراف التي يمكنها تعجيل توفير الحلول المنقذة للحياة. وبالتالي تدعم مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين وضع مؤشر تحولات التبغ، وهو مبادرة تتماشى استراتيجيًا مع مهمتها لتحسين الصحة العالمية من خلال القضاء على التدخين بين أبناء هذا الجيل.

مع تطور الممارسات حتى في القطاعات ذات الإرث "القذر"، يميل بعض المستثمرين إلى أخذ المعلومات غير المالية في الاعتبار عند اتخاذ قراراتهم الاستثمارية. واستنادًا إلى تطبيق مبادئ الاستثمار الأساسية، يجب تقديم الشركات التي توفر حلولاً مستدامة وصحية على الشركات التي لا تفعل. ومن أجل اتخاذ مثل هذه الخيارات ذات المسؤولية الاجتماعية، يحتاج المستثمرون بالطبع إلى الحصول على البيانات ذات الصلة. وهنا نجد بعض التقدم الواضح.

وضع مجلس معايير محاسبة الاستدامة (Sustainability Accounting Standards Board - SASB) 77 معيارًا للصناعة، يُحدد الحد الأدنى من بنود الاستدامة الجوهرية من الناحية المالية والمقاييس ذات الصلة للشركة النموذجية في أي صناعة. ويُعد التبغ أحد الصناعات التي يضع المجلس معاييرًا من أجلها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، طالب التوجيه المحاسبي بخصوص المعلومات غير المالية في الاتحاد الأوروبي، والذي تم اعتماده عام 2017، أكثر من 6000 شركة الإفصاح عن المعلومات المتعلقة بدور الشركة في معالجة التحديات الاجتماعية والبيئية.

لم تتخذ الولايات المتحدة إجراءات مماثلة بعد. ففي شهر يوليو من هذا العام، عقدت لجنة الكونجرس الفرعية لحماية المستثمرين وريادة الأعمال وأسواق رأس المال (Congressional Subcommittee on Investor Protection, Entrepreneurship, and Capital Markets) جلسة استماع حول موضوع "بناء اقتصاد مستدام وتنافسي: دراسة عروض تحسين الإفصاح عن الجهود البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة." قدم الشهود، ومن بينهم كبار المديرين التنفيذيين لمبادرة الإبلاغ العالمية (Global Reporting Initiative)، ونظام تقاعد موظفي القطاع العام في ولاية كاليفورنيا الأمريكية (CalPERS)، والشركات الاستشارية في مجال الاستثمار، مجموعة متنوعة من الآراء المتعلقة بالاستثمار المستدام.

ولم تتوصل اللجنة إلى قرار بالإجماع كما هو متوقع. فقد دعا فريق إلى وضع معايير للإفصاح عن الجهود البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة (ESG). أكد المؤيدون أن هذه المعايير تشجع على الشفافية، وتدفع إلى الإفصاح عن المعلومات ذات الصلة بقرارات الاستثمار، وتدعم المستثمرين الذين يركزون على زيادة العوائد إلى حدها الأقصى. بينما أثار معارضو هذا الرأي مخاوف بشأن أهمية هذه الإفصاحات وموضوعيتها وتكلفتها وفعاليتها.

فكيف يمكن الاستفادة من موضوع الاستثمار في القضايا البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة في صناعة التبغ؟ غالبًا ما تواجه صناعة التبغ، كما هو الحال مع القطاعات ذات الإرث "القذر" الأخرى، رفضًا من الباحثين وممثلي مجتمع الرعاية الصحية، وتصفية لأسهمها من بعض المستثمرين، وحظر منتجاتها في بعض البلدان. تؤمن المؤسسة بأن مشاركة الصناعة مشاركة شفافة، بدلاً من عزلها، من الممكن أن يسرع وتيرة التغيير المرجو لصالح الصحة العامة.

سيقدم تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ بمرور الوقت دليلاً ملموسًا على الخطوات التي تتخذها شركات التبغ الكبرى للتخلص من السجائر التقليدية وغيرها من منتجات التبغ شديدة الخطورة حول العالم. كما يقيّم المؤشر أي إجراءات تُتخذ لعرقلة مثل هذا التقدم وفضحها. وعن طريق الاستفادة من نفوذ المستثمرين، وتحفيز إجراءات الشركات وتوفير معلومات موضوعية وشفافة للجهات الفاعلة، يهدف المؤشر إلى الحد بشكل كبير من معدلات الأمراض والوفيات المبكرة الناجمة عن التدخين وبوتيرة أسرع.

من الممكن أن يكون تمييز الشركات، حتى في قطاع مثل التبغ، أداة فعّالة. وإذا رأت إحدى هذه الشركات المؤثرة ميزة في المساهمة في الصالح العام، حتى ولوكان لذلك لمصلحتها الخاصة، فقد تؤدي دورًا مهمًا في تشجيع المنافسين. وتكمن فائدة المؤشر الخاص بالصناعة في أنه سيمنحنا القدرة على الغوص بعمق أكبر في دوافع التغيير المادية القابلة للقياس. ومن نفس المنطلق، من الممكن إنشاء معيار أداء وإفصاح واقعي، كما هو الحال مع مؤشر الحصول على الدواء ومؤشر الحصول على التغذية في الصناعات الخاصة بهما.

ترى المؤسسة أنه من خلال الإعلان بوضوح عن التوقعات ونشر أنشطة الشركات، من الممكن أن يكون مؤشر تحوّل التبغ وسيلة لتحفيز المنافسة بين الشركات لتحويل صناعة التبغ تحوّلاً جوهريًا ونهائيًا. وبالرغم من تفهمنا لحالة انعدام الثقة في شركات التبغ التي ترسخت على مدار عقود من الزمان، ترفض المؤسسة استمرار إستراتيجية المقاطعة والتصفية والحظر. وتوفر السياسات الفعالة لمكافحة التبغ، مصحوبة بالتدمير الخلاق الذي يجري بالفعل، فرصة رائعة للتغير الحقيقي.

ويتلخص الافتراض الرئيسي الذي يعتمد عليه مؤشر تحولات التبغ بأنه من خلال تشجيع هذا التحول ومراقبته بفعالية، نحفز بمرور الوقت شركات التبغ على التصرف بوتيرة أسرع وأكثر مسؤولية مما كانت ستفعله عادة. على العكس من ذلك، سيتم كشف الجهات الفاعلة التي لا تقوم بالتحول اللازم بسرعة كافية. نتيجة لهذا ستصبح جميع الجهات المعنية، مثل المستثمرين والعاملين في مجال الصحة العامة، أكثر اطلاعًا وقدرة على المطالبة باتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة.

هذه المقالة مقتبسة من مقالة كتبها ديريك ياك، نشرت لأول مرة في شبكة Business Fights Poverty.

 

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Tobacco Transformation Index: Different for Good Reason

Corporate leaders, investors, and nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) have demonstrated that, with the use of innovative business models, profit can be aligned with social and environmental progress. Still, little progress has been made in sectors contributing substantially to poor health and climate change, including companies that profit from tobacco, coal, palm oil, and the internal combustion engine. Unfortunately, these very sectors are frequently excluded from discussions of transformative strategies. Targeted by boycotts and divestment campaigns, companies with “dirty” legacies are often denied access to tools that could help them contribute to the public good.

Energy, food, and large agricultural companies have all funded initiatives that stymie efforts to end the massive harms their products cause. Yet, academia, governments, investors, and nonprofits continue to work with these sectors to achieve solutions, even as they call out unacceptable practices. We believe a similar approach is warranted to end the harm caused by tobacco. With seven million smoking-related deaths annually, the stakes are simply too high not to engage with parties that can expedite live-saving solutions. The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World is therefore supporting the development of the Tobacco Transformation Index, an initiative that is strategically aligned with its mission to improve global health by ending smoking in this generation.

As practices even in “dirty” legacy sectors evolve, some investors are choosing to factor non-financial information into their investment decisions. In concert with the application of fundamental investment principles, companies that deliver sustainable and healthy solutions should be advantaged over those that do not. Of course, in order to make such socially responsible choices, investors need access to the relevant data. Here, some progress is evident.

The Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) has developed 77 industry standards, which identify the minimal set of financially material sustainability topics and the associated metrics for the typical company in an industry. Tobacco is one industry for which SASB defines its standards. In addition, the EU Accounting Directive for Non-Financial Information, approved in 2017, requires over 6,000 companies to disclose information about corporate impact on social and environmental challenges.

The United States has yet to take similar action. This past July, the Congressional Subcommittee on Investor Protection, Entrepreneurship, and Capital Markets conducted a hearing on the topic of “Building a Sustainable and Competitive Economy: An Examination of Proposals to Improve Environmental, Social, and Governance Disclosures.” The witnesses, including senior executives from the Global Reporting Initiative, CalPERS, and investment advisory firms, presented a diverse set of views related to sustainable investing.

Unsurprisingly, no consensus was reached. One side argued for establishing standards for Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) disclosure. Proponents maintained that ESG standards encourage transparency, guide the disclosure of information relevant to investment decisions, and support investors focused on maximizing returns. Opponents of this view raised concerns regarding the materiality, subjectivity, cost, and efficacy of such disclosures.

How does the topic of ESG investing pertain to the tobacco industry? Like other “dirty” legacy sectors, the tobacco industry is often shunned by researchers and representatives of the health community; its shares are divested by certain investors; and its products are in some countries banned. The Foundation believes that transparent industry engagement, rather than isolation, can accelerate desired change for the benefit of public health.

The Tobacco Transformation Index will provide quantifiable evidence over time of what steps the largest tobacco companies are taking to promote a world free of combustible cigarettes and other high-risk tobacco products. The Index will evaluate and expose any actions that might impede such progress. By leveraging investor influence, stimulating corporate action, and providing objective, transparent information for all stakeholders, the Index over time aims to accelerate a reduction in the rates of disease and premature death caused by smoking.

Differentiating companies, even within a sector like tobacco, can be an effective tool. If just one actor perceives an advantage in contributing to the public good, even in its self-interest, it could play a part in influencing the hands of competitors. The benefit of an industry-specific index is the ability to dive deeply into the measurable, material drivers of change. In effect, it is possible to create a de facto performance and disclosure standard, as arguably is the case with the Access to Medicine Index and the Access to Nutrition Index in their respective industries.

The Foundation submits that by clearly articulating expectations and publicizing companies’ activities, the Tobacco Transformation Index can be a vehicle to stimulate competition among companies to finally and materially transform the tobacco industry. While understanding the distrust earned by the tobacco companies over the decades, the Foundation rejects the continued strategy of boycotts, divestments, and bans. Effective tobacco control policies, coupled with the creative destruction already underway, offers the greatest opportunity for real change.

The Tobacco Transformation Index’s key premise is that by actively encouraging and monitoring this transition, it will over time incentivize the tobacco companies to act more quickly and more responsibly than they otherwise would. Conversely, players that do not make the necessary transition rapidly enough will be exposed. As a result, all stakeholders, such as investors and public health professionals, will be better informed and able to demand necessary action.

This post has been adapted from an article by Derek Yach, originally published on Business Fights Poverty.

 

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux