欧盟薄荷烟禁令调查-建立无烟世界的基础

欧盟薄荷烟禁令调查

从历史上看,整个欧洲联盟(EU)的薄荷卷烟消费量约占卷烟总消费量的5%,波兰的流行率最高。由于假设包括薄荷醇在内的各种香料会促进吸烟,因此该产品类别引起了法规的关注。

去年5 月 20 日的欧盟关于薄荷醇卷烟生产和销售的禁令对联盟的27个成员国生效。这项监管行动是基于这样的观点,即这样的禁令会阻止人们开始吸烟或鼓励他们戒烟,从而有助于公众健康。

为了评估这种假设的有效性,基金会赞助了在禁烟前后对八个欧盟国家的成人薄荷烟使用者进行的调查。禁令前调查询问了戒烟或改行的意识和意图。根据COVID-19,调查还监测了大流行导致成年烟草使用者行为改变的情况。禁令后调查询问了实际行为。

根据调查,薄荷烟禁令对欧盟吸烟率的影响有限。除极少数情况外,禁令后的调查反应与禁令前的对口类似。

数据表明,成人薄荷卷烟吸烟者的戒烟率相对较低,在禁令后调查中总体约为8%。在八个市场中,平均有40%的受访者表示他们减少了薄荷卷烟的消费量,但继续或增加了非薄荷品种的消费量。接受调查的近20%的人转向不受该禁令影响的其他薄荷醇烟草产品,其中大多数已转向电子烟。 13%的受访者开始从其他来源购买薄荷卷烟;另外有13%的人开始购买产品,以便在常规烟草产品中手动添加薄荷味。在禁令后调查中,大约四分之一的受访者不知道禁令。

我们无法就禁止吸烟对青年吸烟的威慑力得出结论,因为调查调查了目前和最近退出的至少18岁的薄荷烟吸烟者,这是所有接受调查的国家的合法吸烟年龄。

表格1:欧盟国家的薄荷卷烟消费量最高

资料来源:欧睿国际护照烟草系统。 * 2020年数字为临时数字; 2020年最终数据将于2021年第二季度发布。 https://www.euromonitor.com/

在八个国家中,对超过6,000名法定年龄(18岁及18岁以上)薄荷醇卷烟吸烟者进行了调查。第一次调查是在禁令实施之前的三周内进行的,它询问了在过去六个月中每月至少食用一次薄荷卷烟的受访者。第二次调查是在禁令生效后大约六个月进行的,受访者包括目前的普通薄荷卷烟吸烟者和禁令之前的普通薄荷卷烟吸烟者。在这种情况下,“常规”定义为每月至少食用一次薄荷卷烟。

与禁令前的意图相比,禁令后调查答复中的主要差异是戒烟率降低和产品使用量增加,从而使消费者能够在常规烟草产品中手动添加薄荷味。

薄荷醇禁令

在禁令后调查中,只有约8%的受访者表示他们完全戒烟。这一比例明显低于禁令前调查中12%的人,后者表示他们计划由于禁令而完全退出。据报道,欧盟薄荷醇卷烟禁令采取的最常见行动是:

  • 我已经停止消费薄荷卷烟,但继续消费非薄荷卷烟 。禁令后报告,占28%;禁令前意图,35%
  • 我已改用其他不受禁令影响的薄荷烟草产品,例如薄荷雪茄,小雪茄,电子烟和加热的烟草产品 。禁令后报告,占18%;禁令前的意图为19%。
  • 我已经开始购买可以让我在常规烟草产品中手动添加薄荷味的产品,例如薄荷味卡或薄荷过滤嘴 。禁令后报告,占13%;禁令前意图,8%
  • 我已经开始从其他来源购买薄荷卷烟 。禁令后报告,占13%;禁令前意图,12%
  • 我已经停止消费薄荷卷烟,但增加了对非薄荷卷烟的消费。 禁令后报告,占12%;禁令前意图,13%

除上述答复外,有30%的禁令后受访者还表示他们减少了薄荷卷烟的消费。应根据以下事实来解释禁令后的调查答复:无提示时,只有43%的受访者认为薄荷醇卷烟是非法的。受访者报告说,他们认为薄荷醇卷烟是合法的(27%)或计划在未来被禁止(20%)。其他人不确定产品的法律地位(10%)。引起消费者困惑的部分原因可能是卷烟制造商以与以前薄荷醇卷烟相似的包装形式引入了无味卷烟。

回答因国家和人口因素而异。波兰,英国和匈牙利的戒烟率最低。在所调查的国家中,波兰和匈牙利是薄荷消费量最高的市场。同一两个国家的受访者也表示,从其他渠道购买的比例最高(18%)。拉脱维亚和瑞典的受访者表示完全戒烟的比例最高,分别为12%和11%。

总体而言,对于那些转向其他不受禁令影响的薄荷醇烟草或尼古丁产品的人,应对措施与产品流行有关。也就是说,受访者更有可能转而使用本国常用的产品。平均而言,有57%的人表示他们改用了电子烟。这与禁令前的调查保持一致,在调查中,有57%的有意转换的受访者还确定了有意转换为电子烟的意愿。在切换台中,切换到电子烟的比例最高,在波兰(67%),其次是英国(57%)。相对于其他接受调查的国家,英国和波兰市场的电子烟普及率很高。

对于那些改用其他薄荷醇烟草或不受该禁令影响的尼古丁产品的人,有24%的人表示他们改用加热的烟草。拉脱维亚的转炉烟草转换比例最高,为45%,其次是斯洛伐克和波兰,均为34%。与转用电子烟的结果相似,相对于其他接受调查的国家,拉脱维亚和斯洛伐克市场的加热烟草流行率很高。波兰是在八项调查中零售价值最大的加热烟草市场。

表2:欧盟国家降低风险产品的普及率

资料来源:欧睿国际护照烟草系统。 * 2020年数字为临时数字; 2020年最终数据将于2021年第二季度发布。 https://www.euromonitor.com/

平均有12%的切换者表示他们已切换到尼古丁替代疗法(NRT)产品。这种反应在芬兰最为普遍(34%),在零售价值销售中,NRT是第二大的NRT市场。最后,约18%的切换员表示他们转而使用了无烟烟草产品。瑞典是被调查者中最大的无烟烟草市场,其受访者遵守了该平均值,与其他产品类别中的流行趋势有所偏离。

表3:欧盟国家按产品划分的零售价值销售

资料来源:欧睿护照,烟草和消费者健康系统。 * 2020年数字为临时数字; 2020年最终数据将于2021年第二季度发布。无烟烟草包括鼻烟,湿鼻烟和咀嚼烟草(不包括无烟口服尼古丁)。 https://www.euromonitor.com/

图1。禁令后:产品切换调查结果

问: 您说过,您转用了不受近期禁令影响的其他薄荷烟草或尼古丁产品。自禁令以来,您切换了以下哪些产品?
注意: 允许多个响应

资料来源:Euromonitor禁令后调查,10月- 2020 年 11 月

大约13%的受访者表示,他们开始从其他来源购买薄荷卷烟,这一趋势与禁令前的意图相符。在这些受访者中,有超过一半的人报告说是从朋友或家人那里购买的,这些朋友或家人前往有薄荷醇卷烟的国家。在两项调查中,确定的第二种最常见的购买方式是从其他国家/地区发货的在线零售商购买的(禁令后为44%;禁令前为51%)。

禁令后调查的意外结果是,相对较大的受访者(13%)表示他们开始购买所谓的“薄荷化”产品。该产品类别包括薄荷香卡,过滤嘴,胶囊管和喷雾剂,所有这些产品使消费者可以向常规烟草产品中手动添加薄荷香。商店检查和案头研究表明,这些产品通常不是烟草公司生产的。尽管如此,薄荷醇替代烟草产品的制造商仍希望通过广告宣传强调其产品中含有薄荷醇,但在该禁令之后仍然合法,因此希望利用该禁令。

图2:按类型划分的“硫化”产品示例

资料来源:Euromonitor禁令后商店审核,7月- 2020 年 11 月

同样,一系列不受禁令影响的品牌也定制了营销信息,以突出其薄荷醇变体的可用性。这些品牌包括加热的烟草,电子烟油,电子烟,尼古丁口香糖和喷雾剂,无烟尼古丁小袋和鼻烟等产品,所有这些产品都可以替代薄荷醇卷烟。

图3:薄荷脑替代烟草产品广告

资料来源:Euromonitor禁令前和禁令后商店审核和案头研究,4月- 2020 年 11 月

最后,在整个研究期间(禁令前和禁令后),单个产品的零售价格基本保持一致。制造商和零售商在维持价格的同时,还利用广告和店内文献来宣传薄荷烟草替代产品。

关于可负担性,替代品与禁令薄荷卷烟的索引价格表明,在大多数国家/地区,电子烟油是最便宜的产品。在被审查的八个市场中的七个市场中,禁酒前卷烟的基本得分为100,电子烟油的相对价格得分为20或更低。丹麦是个例外。英国是该类别中价格最低的,指数得分为6,这一发现与英国转换为电子烟的受访者第二高的比率相一致。波兰,吸烟者转用电子烟的比例最大,其索引价格倒数第二,为10分。

平均而言,与禁令薄荷醇卷烟的定价相比,使用香精卡可增加10%的溢价。在普通的薄荷卷烟吸烟者中,这似乎并未给使用带来重大障碍,尽管这可能会随着时间而改变。在芬兰,常规薄荷卷烟和香精卡的成本与薄荷醇卷烟的禁售价格相当,这是因为薄荷醇产品以前要进行高价定价。然而,在八个国家中,有六个国家的小雪茄似乎是一种更昂贵的选择,从长远来看,最初转行的吸烟者可能会寻找更便宜的替代品。

薄荷禁令的意识和知觉

在实施禁令之前,有71%的受访者表示他们知道即将实施的有关薄荷卷烟和手卷烟草制品的禁令。在禁令后调查中,有74%的受访者表示他们知道禁令。 26%的人表示他们不知道。

相对缺乏认识的一个可能的解释是尼古丁产品的激增,声称提供与禁用产品相同的薄荷醇风味,可能使消费者感到困惑。在英国推出的新产品包括帝国品牌 L&B Blue New Crush和JPS Players New Crush。New Crush变体针对以前的Crushball消费者,并包括过滤器“可在吸烟时提供凉爽的感觉”。日本烟草国际公司在瑞典发布了包括骆驼风在内的新产品,其卷烟纸上带有薄荷油。

除新产品外,制造商还推出了无味香烟,其包装与之前用于薄荷醇香烟的包装类似。丹麦的Philip Morris International Skjold和Marlboro品牌就是这种包装的示例,标牌上标有“ Same Product”和“ No Menthol”。因此,有些消费者可能正在购买普通香烟,而错误地认为它们是薄荷醇味的。

禁令后烟草公司的活动在许多情况下受到挑战。例如,日本烟草国际公司因其LD品牌不符合新法规而受到匈牙利竞争管理局的罚款。此外,英美烟草公司向瑞典公共卫生机构投诉,称日本烟草国际公司的骆驼微风保持与薄荷卷烟相同的特性。

图4:某些市场禁止销售的具有类似薄荷醇外观的卷烟产品示例

资料来源:Euromonitor禁令后商店审核和案头研究,7月- 2020 年 11 月

接受调查的大多数薄荷卷烟吸烟者强烈/有点反对该禁令(禁令后为55%;禁令前为57%),而两项调查中大约有20%强烈/略微赞成该禁令。支持率是波兰(禁令前和禁令后10%)和匈牙利(禁令后12%;禁令前9%)中最低的,这两个国家在薄荷卷烟的市场份额都相对较高。超过三分之一的禁令反对者回应说,薄荷卷烟没有比普通烟草产品有害。相比之下,在禁令后的调查中,将近40%的禁令支持者回答说,薄荷卷烟鼓励年轻人吸烟;几乎有20%的受访者表示薄荷醇香烟鼓励女性吸烟。

COVID-19的影响

在禁令后的调查中,超过53%的受访者表示COVID-19并未影响其烟草或尼古丁产品的消费-这一发现与禁令前的调查相似,在调查中有近55%的人表示相同。禁令后调查的受访者中约31%表示,他们比平常消费更多的烟草或尼古丁产品; 29%的人表示在禁令前调查中有这种增加。在大流行期间不断增加的消费中,约有68%的人称由于暴发而遭受的压力和焦虑程度与禁令前的调查水平相符。

两项调查中约有16%的受访者表示,在COVID-19大流行期间,他们消费的烟草或尼古丁产品比平时少。主要原因是出门较少(禁后45%;禁前47%),以及吸烟对健康构成的风险(禁后41%;禁前40%)。前者是较年轻年龄组(禁令后18-34岁;禁令前18-44岁)指示的主要原因,而后者是较老龄组(禁令后35+岁;禁令前-ban 45岁以上)。

实例探究:波兰和英国

在接受调查的八个国家中,两个最大的烟草消费市场是波兰和英国。这两个国家的被调查者退出率也最低,切换到电子烟(在切换者中)的比例最高。在这里,有必要考虑一下,波兰历来在欧盟范围内的薄荷卷烟普及率最高。此外,相对于其他接受调查的国家,英国和波兰市场均显示出较高的电子烟普及率。

根据Euromonitor的数据,美国是全球最大的薄荷卷烟市场,薄荷醇约占卷烟总量的29%。它也是世界上最大的电子烟市场。因此,波兰和英国的案例研究在某种程度上可能有助于理解美国实施薄荷醇禁令的含义。

当然,整个市场之间存在着可能影响可比性的重要差异(例如,非法贸易,可负担性和公众认知度)。例如,表1显示,尽管波兰的吸烟率在下降,但该国卷烟的零售量在2019年比2018年有所增加。我们认为,这可以归因于较高的消费频率,对非法贸易的执法以及相对可承受性。而且,在EVALI爆发和反电子烟运动之后,美国的电子烟销量在2020年与2019年相比有所下降。

在波兰和英国,禁令后调查显示,成年薄荷醇吸烟者的戒烟率相对较低,分别为4.5%和6%。总体而言,欧盟薄荷烟禁令对吸烟率的影响似乎是有限的,尽管从长远来看,好处可能会实现。此外,我们无法就该禁令对青年吸烟的威慑力得出结论。

方法论–调查设计

禁令前和禁令后调查询问:薄荷卷烟消费量;禁止意识和知觉;意图和实际反应;以及COVID-19的影响。禁令前调查于4月28日至2020 年 5 月 19 日 。禁令后调查于10月16日至2020 年 11 月 15 日 。每个调查都对每月超过6,000个法定年龄(18岁及以上)的薄荷卷烟消费者以及最近戒烟的禁令调查用户进行了调查。参与调查的八个国家是薄荷醇/胶囊卷烟份额相对较高的市场。研究是通过在线调查进行的,并且通过跨部门调查方法得到了消费者小组的回应。两项调查均使用了非概率抽样技术。在线消费者小组被用作样本框架。与禁令前调查相比,禁令后调查使用了一组新的受访者。在线消费者调查辅以商店支票,案头研究,公司研究和贸易讨论。

执行摘要

调查仪表盘
(互动)

调查方法

调查仪表盘
(PDF)

WordPress 应用 - TurnKey Linux支持

Powered by

EU Menthol Cigarette Ban Survey - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

EU Menthol Cigarette Ban Survey

Historically, menthol cigarette consumption across the European Union (EU) has represented approximately 5% of total cigarette consumption by volume, with Poland having the highest prevalence. This product class generates regulatory attention due to the assumption that flavors, including menthol, encourage the uptake of smoking.

On May 20th of last year, the EU ban on the manufacture and sale of menthol cigarettes went into effect for the Union’s 27 member countries. This regulatory move was predicated on the view that such a ban would discourage people from starting smoking or encourage them to quit—thus contributing to general public health.

To evaluate the validity of this supposition, the Foundation sponsored surveys of adult menthol cigarette smokers in eight EU countries before and after the menthol cigarette ban. The pre-ban surveys queried awareness and intention to quit or switch. In light of COVID-19, the surveys also monitored behavioral changes among adult tobacco users as a result of the pandemic. The post-ban surveys queried actual behavior.

According to the surveys, the menthol cigarette ban has resulted in limited impact on smoking prevalence in the EU. With few exceptions, post-ban survey responses mirrored the pre-ban counterparts.

The data indicates that  quit rates among adult menthol cigarette smokers were relatively low, at approximately 8% overall in the post-ban survey. Across the eight markets, an average of 40% of respondents indicated that they reduced their menthol cigarette consumption, but either continued or increased their consumption of non-menthol varieties. Nearly 20% surveyed switched to other menthol tobacco products not affected by the ban, with a majority having switched to e-cigarettes. 13% of respondents started buying menthol cigarettes from other sources; and another 13% began buying products to manually add a menthol flavor to regular tobacco products. In the post-ban survey, about one-quarter of respondents were not aware of the ban.

We are unable to draw conclusions on the ban’s deterrence relative to youth initiation of smoking, as the surveys polled current and recently quit menthol cigarette smokers at least 18 years of age, which is the legal smoking age in all countries surveyed.

Table 1: EU Countries exhibiting highest levels of menthol cigarette consumption

Source: Euromonitor Passport Tobacco System. *2020 figures are provisional; final 2020 data to be published in Q2 2021. https://www.euromonitor.com/

More than 6,000 legal age (18 years and older) menthol cigarette smokers were surveyed in eight countries. The first survey, which was conducted during the three-week period leading up to the ban, queried respondents that consumed menthol cigarettes at least once per month over the prior six months. The second survey was conducted approximately six months after the ban went into effect, with respondents consisting of current, regular menthol cigarette smokers and those who were regular menthol cigarette smokers before the ban. In this case, “regular” was defined as consuming menthol cigarettes at least once per month.

The main deviations in the post-ban survey responses, compared with pre-ban intentions, were lower quit rates and higher use of products that allow the consumer to manually add a menthol flavor to regular tobacco products.

Menthol Ban Response

In the post-ban survey, only about 8% of respondents indicated that they quit smoking completely. This rate was notably lower than the 12% who, in the pre-ban survey, indicated that they planned to quit completely as a result of the ban.  The most commonly reported actions taken as a result of the EU menthol cigarette ban were:

  • I have stopped consuming menthol cigarettes, but have continued consuming non-menthol cigarettes. Post-ban report, 28%; pre-ban intention, 35%
  • I have switched to other menthol tobacco products not affected by the ban, such as menthol cigars, cigarillos, e-cigarettes, and heated tobacco products. Post-ban report, 18%; pre-ban intention, 19%.
  • I have started buying products which allow me to manually add a menthol flavor to regular tobacco products, such as menthol flavor-cards, or menthol filter tips. Post-ban report, 13%; pre-ban intention, 8%
  • I have started buying menthol cigarettes from other sources. Post-ban report, 13%; pre-ban intention,  12%
  • I have stopped consuming menthol cigarettes, but have increased my consumption of non-menthol cigarettes. Post-ban report, 12%; pre-ban intention, 13%

In addition to the responses identified above, 30% of post-ban respondents also indicated that they reduced consumption of menthol cigarettes. Post-ban survey responses should be interpreted in light of the fact that when unprompted only 43% of respondents considered menthol cigarettes to be illegal. Respondents reported that they believed menthol cigarettes were legal (27%) or planned for being banned in the future (20%). Others were unsure of the product’s legal status (10%). Consumer confusion was likely prompted, in part, by cigarette manufacturers having introduced non-flavored cigarettes in packaging similar to that which was previously used for menthol cigarettes.

Responses varied by country and demographic factors. Quit rates were lowest in Poland, the UK, and Hungary. Poland and Hungary were the highest menthol consuming markets among the countries surveyed. Respondents in the same two countries also indicated the highest rate of buying from other sources (18%). Latvia and Sweden had the highest percentage of respondents indicating that they completely quit smoking, at 12% and 11%, respectively.

Overall, for those who switched to other menthol tobacco or nicotine products not affected by the ban, responses related to product prevalence. That is, respondents were more likely to switch to products that are commonly used in their country. On average, 57% indicated they switched to e-cigarettes. This tracks with the pre-ban survey, in which 57% of respondents who intended to switch also identified an intention to switch to e-cigarettes. The highest percentage of switching to e-cigarettes among switchers was observed in Poland (67%), followed by the UK (57%). The UK and Poland markets exhibit high vaping prevalence, relative to the other countries surveyed.

For those who switched to other menthol tobacco or nicotine products not affected by the ban, 24% indicated they switched to heated tobacco. The highest percentage of switching to heated tobacco among switchers was observed in Latvia at 45%, followed by Slovakia and Poland, both at 34%. Similar to the outcome regarding switching to e-cigarettes, the Latvia and Slovakia markets exhibit a high heated tobacco prevalence, relative to the other countries surveyed. Poland is the largest heated tobacco market by retail value sales among the eight surveyed.

Table 2: EU Countries percent prevalence of Reduced Risk Products

Source: Euromonitor Passport Tobacco System. *2020 figures are provisional; final 2020 data to be published in Q2 2021. https://www.euromonitor.com/

On average 12% of switchers indicated that they switched to nicotine replacement therapy (NRT) products. This response was most common in Finland (34%), which is the second largest NRT market by retail value sales among those surveyed. Finally, about 18% of switchers indicated they switched to smokeless tobacco products. Respondents in Sweden, the largest smokeless tobacco market among those surveyed, adhered to this average, marking a deviation from the prevalence trend observed in other product categories.

Table 3: EU Countries Retail Value Sales by Product

Source: Euromonitor Passport Tobacco and Consumer Health Systems. *2020 figures are provisional; final 2020 data to be published in Q2 2021. Smokeless Tobacco includes snus, moist snuff, and chewing tobacco (excludes tobacco-free oral nicotine). https://www.euromonitor.com/

Figure 1. Post-ban: Products Switching Survey Results

Q: You said you have switched to other menthol tobacco or nicotine products not affected by the recent ban. Which of the following products have you switched to since the ban?
Note: Multiple responses allowed

Source: Euromonitor Post-ban Survey, October-November 2020

About 13% of the respondents indicated that they started buying menthol cigarettes from other sources, a trend that was consistent with pre-ban intentions. More than half of these respondents reported buying from friends or family who travelled to countries where menthol cigarettes are available. In both surveys, the second most common method of purchase identified was from online retailers that ship from other countries (post-ban 44%; pre-ban 51%).

An unexpected outcome of the post-ban survey was that a relatively large proportion (13%) of respondents indicated they started purchasing so-called “mentholizing” products. This products class includes menthol flavor cards, filter tips, capsule tubes, and sprays, all of which allow consumers to manually add a menthol flavor to regular tobacco products. Store checks and desk research indicate that these products are not typically produced by the tobacco companies. Still, manufacturers of alternative menthol tobacco products were keen to capitalize on the ban by highlighting, via advertising campaigns, that their products contained menthol but remained legal following the ban.

Figure 2: Examples of “Mentholizing” Products by Type

Source: Euromonitor Post-ban Store Audits, July-November 2020

Similarly, a range of brands that were unaffected by the ban tailored their marketing messages to highlight the availability of their menthol variants. These brands included products like heated tobacco, e-liquids, e-cigarettes, nicotine gums and sprays, tobacco-free nicotine pouches, and snus, all of which were positioned as alternatives to menthol cigarettes.

Figure 3: Alternative Menthol Tobacco Product Advertising

Source: Euromonitor Pre-ban and Post-ban Store Audits and Desk Research, April-November 2020

Finally, retail prices of individual products across the research period (pre-ban and post-ban) remained largely consistent. Manufacturers and retailers broadly maintained prices, while using advertising and in-store literature to promote menthol tobacco alternative products.

Regarding affordability, indexed pricing for alternatives versus pre-ban menthol cigarettes shows that in most countries e-liquids were the least expensive product. Where pre-ban menthol cigarettes were given the base score of 100, in seven of the eight markets under review, the relative pricing score was 20 or less for e-liquids. Denmark was the exception. The UK had the lowest pricing in that category, with an indexed score of 6—a finding consistent with the UK having the second highest rate of respondents switching to e-cigarettes. Poland, which had the greatest proportion of smokers switching to e-cigarettes, had the second lowest indexed pricing, with a score of 10.

On average, the use of flavor cards added a 10% premium relative to pre-ban menthol cigarette pricing. This does not appear to have presented a significant barrier to use among regular menthol cigarette smokers, although that may change with time. In Finland, the cost of a regular cigarette and a flavor card was comparable to pre-ban pricing of menthol cigarettes, due to the fact that menthol products were previously subjected to premium pricing. Cigarillos, however, appeared to be a more expensive option in six of the eight countries, and it is possible that smokers who switched initially may look for cheaper alternatives over the longer term. 

Menthol Ban Awareness and Perception

Prior to the ban, 71% of respondents indicated that they were aware of the upcoming ban on menthol cigarettes and hand-rolled tobacco products. In the post-ban survey, 74% of respondents indicated they were aware of the ban; and 26% indicated that they were not aware.

A possible explanation for the relative lack of awareness is the proliferation of nicotine products that purport to offer the same menthol flavoring as banned products, potentially confusing consumers. New products launched in the United Kingdom included Imperial Brands L&B Blue New Crush and JPS Players New Crush. The New Crush variants are targeted at previous crushball consumers and include a filter “that delivers a cooling sensation during smoking.” Japan Tobacco International released new products including Camel Breeze in Sweden, for which the cigarette paper has a menthol polish.

In addition to new products, manufacturers introduced non-flavored cigarettes in packaging similar to that which was previously used for menthol cigarettes. The Philip Morris International Skjold and Marlboro brands in Denmark are examples of such packaging, with signage indicating “Same Product” and “No Menthol.” As such, it is possible that some consumers are buying regular cigarettes, mistakenly believing them to be menthol flavored.

The activities of tobacco companies subsequent to the ban were challenged in a number of instances. Japan Tobacco International, for example, received a fine from the Hungarian Competition authority regarding its LD brand for not conforming to the new legislation. In addition, British American Tobacco made a complaint to the Public Health Agency of Sweden, claiming that JTI’s Camel Breeze maintains the same characteristics as menthol cigarettes.

Figure 4: Examples of Cigarette Products with a Menthol-like Appearance Available Post-ban in Selected Markets

Source: Euromonitor Post-ban Store Audits and Desk Research, July-November 2020

The majority of menthol cigarette smokers surveyed were strongly/somewhat opposed to the ban (55% post-ban; 57% pre-ban), while around 20% were strongly/somewhat in favor of the ban in both surveys. The support rate was among the lowest in Poland (10% post- and pre-ban) and Hungary (12% post-ban; 9% pre-ban), both of which had a relatively high market share of menthol cigarettes. More than one-third of ban opponents responded that menthol cigarettes are no more harmful than regular tobacco products. By contrast, in the post-ban survey, nearly 40% of ban supporters responded that menthol cigarettes encourage young people to smoke; and almost 20% indicated that menthol cigarettes encourage women to smoke.

Impact of COVID-19

In the post-ban survey, more than 53% of all respondents indicated that COVID-19 has not impacted their consumption of tobacco or nicotine products—a finding similar to the pre-ban survey, in which nearly 55% reported the same. About 31% of post-ban survey respondents indicated that they have been consuming more tobacco or nicotine products than usual; 29% reported such an increase in the pre-ban survey. Of those increasing consumption during the pandemic, about 68% reported they have experienced an increased level of stress and anxiety due to the outbreak, in line with pre-ban survey levels.

Approximately 16% of respondents in both surveys indicated they have been consuming less tobacco or nicotine products than usual during the COVID-19 pandemic. The leading reasons were going outside of the house less (45% post-ban; 47% pre-ban) and being worried about the risk smoking poses to health (41 %post-ban; 40% pre-ban). The former was the leading reason indicated by younger age groups (post-ban age 18-34; pre-ban age 18-44), while the latter was the leading reason indicated by older age groups (post-ban age 35+; pre-ban age 45+).

Case Studies: Poland and United Kingdom

Among the eight countries surveyed, the two largest tobacco-consuming markets are Poland and the UK. These two also exhibited the lowest quit rates of those surveyed and the highest percentage of switching to e-cigarettes (among switchers). Here, it is relevant to consider that Poland has historically exhibited the highest menthol cigarette prevalence within the EU. Further, both UK and Poland markets exhibit high vaping prevalence relative to the other countries surveyed.

The US is the largest menthol cigarette market in the world, with menthol accounting for about 29% of the total cigarette volume, according to Euromonitor. It is also the largest vaping market in the world. As such, Poland and UK case studies could, to some degree, be useful in understanding the implications of a menthol ban in the US, should it be enacted.

Of course, important differences exist across the markets that could affect comparability (e.g., illicit trade, affordability, and public perception). For example, Table 1 shows that while smoking prevalence is declining in Poland, the country’s retail volume sales of cigarettes increased in 2019 versus 2018. This, we believe, can be attributed to higher frequency of consumption, enforcement against illicit trade, and relative affordability. And, in the US, e-cigarette sales declined in 2020 compared to 2019, following the EVALI outbreak and anti-vaping campaigns.

In Poland and the UK, post-ban surveys indicated relatively low quit rates among adult menthol smokers, at 4.5% and 6%, respectively.  On the whole, the impact of the EU menthol cigarette ban on smoking prevalence appears to be limited, although it is possible that benefits could materialize over the long run.  Further, we are unable to draw conclusions on the ban’s deterrence power relative to youth initiation of smoking.

Methodology – Survey Design

The pre-ban and post-ban surveys inquired about: menthol cigarette consumption; ban awareness and perception; intentions and actual responses; and the impact of COVID-19. Pre-ban surveys were conducted from April 28 to May 19, 2020. Post-ban surveys were conducted from October 16 to November 15, 2020. Each survey polled more than 6,000 legal age (18 years and older) monthly consumers of menthol cigarettes, as well as in the post-ban survey users who recently quit. The eight countries selected for the surveys are markets with a relatively high share of menthol/capsule cigarettes. Research was conducted via online surveys and responses from consumer panels through a cross-sectional approach. Both surveys used a non-probability sampling technique. An online consumer panel was used as the sample frame. A new set of respondents was used for the post-ban survey compared to the pre-ban survey. Online consumer surveys were supplemented with store checks, desk research, company research, and trade discussions.

Executive Summary

Survey Dashboards
(Interactive)

Survey Methodology

Survey Dashboards
(PDF)

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux