农业转型启动计划 | 无烟世界基金会

农业转型启动计划

种植烟草从未使小农摆脱贫困。优质数据和严格分析可以基于证据有效制定政策和部署资源,使经济多样化并减少国家对烟草的依赖——在加强本国经济的同时,更好地为农民的未来做准备。

基金会的农业转型启动计划(ATI)使命是让小农户做好准备,迎接烟草需求大幅下降的时代,首先关注需求最大的人群。农业转型启动计划(ATI)将利用这一机会帮助农民制定更安全的收入策略,并寻求与各种利益相关者合作,确保我们的策略的成功和可持续性。农业转型启动计划(ATI)活动的目的如下:

  1. 提高收入来源,增加保障,改善粮食安全状况,改善小农及其家庭和更广泛社区的整体健康状况
  2. 增加前沿农业科学技术的知识和应用
  3. 减少对烟草的经济依赖,提高烟草种植国的适应力
  4. 减少因种植烟草造成的环境退化
  5. 改善营养质量和粮食安全状况

为实现这一目标,农业转型启动计划(ATI)将采用系统方法来了解本地环境和潜在干预点,并结合投资导向的行动模式。系统思考方法非常适合解决复杂的开发问题,因为它结合了多因素分析和反馈循环,促进更好的决策。同时,注重投资将确保花费的每一分钱都有助于以可持续的方式建设能力和强化地方及国家经济——即为小农户、他们的家庭和社区创造更美好的未来。尽管农业转型启动计划(ATI)的重点领域会而随时间发展,但农业转型启动计划(ATI)打算首先关注此处所述领域,认识到它们之间存在自然重叠。

战略方法

经济多元化战略方法

市场驱动投资、科技驱动创新以及有针对性的政策改革的良性循环

  1. 确定替代方案。为农户寻找创新且可盈利的替代作物和生计选择。这将通过与农艺学研究机构合作来实现,在考虑生产、价值链、商业化和政策潜力的基础上,确定最适合特定国家或地区的农作物和生计。
  2. 提高生产力。开发和应用新技术,从而提高农业生产力、增强抗灾能力和增加农民收入,这主要通过建立科技卓越中心(CoE)来推动。该中心将是无烟世界基金会(FSFW) / 农业转型启动计划(ATI)的旗舰计划,对于评估和验证可用于特定国家农业部门的新技术至关重要。确定的早期需求领域是种子测试、组织培养和实验室设施、土壤测试以及土地分配/制图。
  3. 促进商业化。促进新市场和可持续商业模式的创建和应用,以改善经济机会,为农村社区创造收入,并更广泛地促进经济发展。无烟世界基金会(FSFW) / 农业转型启动计划(ATI)战略的核心支柱是加强和支持替代农业价值链。该活动将通过多种方式进行,包括与确定的合作伙伴进行深入合作和本地政策分析;围绕一系列问题召开会议、研讨会和能力建设会议,包括但不限于经济特区;各行业采取经济多样化战略,包括烟草业;通过卓越中心(CoE)平台测试新技术;促进投资资金和商业案例开发;推动承购协议;基于集成小农/商业模式创建具有包容性供应链。
  4. 强化政策。在各层面采取有针对性的政策和应变能力建设行动,为这些新的生计和业务战略创造有利的环境。支持大多数重点投资领域是政策分析和政府能力建设的要素。在市场和价值链发展、教育和技术创新方面尤其如此。

不要忘记农户

农业转型启动计划(ATI) 只有在惠及个体农户的情况下有价值,保障个人收入、资产和消费以及粮食安全。为帮助这些贫困人口和营养不良人口改善生计,农业转型启动计划(ATI)有责任注意对营养结果的潜在影响,并尽可能有目的地将营养议程纳入其工作。提高营养水平是无烟世界基金会(FSFW) / 农业转型启动计划(ATI)的关键成果。

营养是人类健康和经济生产力的基石。当前全球营养不良的负担是巨大的,非洲的小农的比例严重超标。减轻当前世界面临的营养不良的多重负担,几乎会给社会的各个方面带来巨大好处。从经济角度来看,营养良好的人口直接转化为较低的医疗保健成本和更有生产力的公民。实际上,成本效益分析结果很明确:据估计,每花费 1 美投资在营养上,就会获得 16 美元的回报。1

在全球范围内,可持续发展目标 2(消除饥饿、实现粮食安全和改善营养状况,以及促进可持续农业)为农业转型启动计划(ATI)议程设定了高级别目标,特别强调目标 2.3,使小规模粮食生产者农业生产率和收入翻了一番;目标 2.4,可持续粮食生产系统和弹性农业生产模式。2

基金会与非洲及其他地区的小农户和其他主要利益相关者开展工作时,重点放在研究、社区计划、创新和循证政策策略上,这些会同时——并独立——支持改善营养成果,认识到营养良好且健康的公民对于健康经济至关重要,反之亦然。从根本上说,减少贫困战略与减少营养不良的战略之间往往有大量内在重叠,因为贫困是粮食不安全和营养不良的主要原因。然而,除了这些自然的协同作用外,基金会还致力于积极将营养评估和研究纳入其合作关系和项目中,并不断寻求创新途径来推进这些相互交织的目标。

马拉维:独特的背景

农业转型启动计划(ATI)认识到马拉维是一个有着巨大需求的国家。经济高度依赖烟草,马拉维人民贫困和粮食不安全比例严重超标。此外,在这种背景下,当前政府、非营利组织和私营部门的利益使其成为有希望进行变革的国家。因此,农业转型启动计划(ATI)最初的计划重点将放在马拉维,目的是最终扩展到全球范围的其它烟草生产经济体。

马拉维是世界上最依赖烟草的国家,尽管按重量计算,2016 年,马拉维在全球烟草生产国中仅排第十三位。2012 年,烟草——马拉维最重要的经济作物3——为该国带来了 6.54 亿美元的外汇收入。截至 2016 年,这一数字占出口总值的 59%。27 烟叶种植只是价值链的第一步,2016 年,仅这一项就雇用了大约 451,000 名员工,占总人口的 2.5%。当前烟草市场、健康问题和环境问题的全球趋势对国内烟草业造成了巨大压力,促使政府推行经济多样化,并减少对烟草作为最大外汇收入来源的过度依赖。

根据 2016 年的一项研究,只有 25% 的马拉维烟农对他们 2014 年的价格感到满意,大约 41% 的烟农已考虑转向替代作物或替代生计。4马拉维大约 45% 的烟农为合同制烟农,但在价格满意度和转型意愿上,独立烟农和合同烟农的统计数字没有显著差异。5

除此之外,马拉维的贫困和营养不良比例严重超标。截至 2011 年,贫困比例已超过 50%(农村贫困比例甚至更高,为 57%),最近的分析表明,由于最近的天气冲击,贫困比例可能还会增加。6此外,根据 2015 年至 2016 年马拉维人口与健康(DHS)调查的最新数据,37% 的 5 岁以下儿童发育迟缓。7因此,马拉维是一个特别容易受到未来全球烟草需求下降影响的国家。

农业转型启动计划(ati)

帮助全球竞争力的经济体和农民为无烟的未来做准备

烟叶需求下降可能会严重影响马拉维农户的收入

2012 年至 2016 年,全球香烟销量下降了7.6%

(Euromonitor International,2018 年)

2012 年至 2016 年,马拉维的烟草农场交货价格下跌了54%

(粮农组织统计数据库,2018年)

过去十年中,烟草占马拉维出口总额40.6% 至 63.6%

(BACI,2018)

2012 年至 2016 年,马拉维的烟草出口量下降了33%

(BACI,2018)

以市场为导向的经济多样化可能是缓解这种衰退的唯一途径

  • 了解当前基于烟草的商业模式。
  • 寻求替代作物和生计现有市场和潜在市场,替代不断减少的烟草收入。
  • 从长远来看,确定并支持结构化农业价值链和相近行业,推动经济增长。
  • 瞄准高价值商业模式,“做大蛋糕”。
  • 共同创造能直接为小农带来价值的商业模式。
  • 利用创新的融资机制来推动增长。
  • 试点“围墙式”农业投资,实现规模经营,保证安全。
  • 创建卓越中心,结合 21世纪的农业创新与私营部门的规模力量。
  • 确定变革性输入和技术,推动生产力的提高和经济增长。
  • 通过风险资本和技术转让协议激励私营部门投资。
  • 确定对农业、贸易、投资、金融和资本获取增长商业模式和整合增长制约因素。
  • 通过现有流程和利益相关者推动政策改革流程。
  • 组建并协助营商环境特别小组,使马拉维成为 SSA 的主要改革者。

我们的方法是将战略合作伙伴关系与明确的研究议程相结合,从而推进进展,赋予地方组织权力,并成就具有全球竞争力且富裕的农户

经济增长堪比非洲的成功案例

改善营商环境指标/投资环境

增加并保障小农收入

增加并保障小农收入

减少儿童发育迟缓和其它营养不良

1Fanzo J,Hawkes C 和 E.Udomkesmalee。《 2017 年全球营养报告:维持可持续发展目标》。全球营养改善联盟(GAIN)网站: https://www.gainhealth.org/knowledge-centre/2017-global-nutrition-report…。发表时间 2017 年 11 月 6 日。访问时间 2018 年 7 月 14 日。
2 联合国可持续发展大会。联合国大会的开放工作组提出了可持续发展目标。新闻稿,日期:2014 年 7 月 22 日。访问网址: https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/content/documents/4538pressowg13.pdf
3联合国粮食农业组织(FAO)。《马拉维粮食农业政策回顾:2014 年国家报告》。粮食农业组织网站:http://www.fao.org/fileadmin/templates/mafap/documents/Malawi/MCR_May201……。发表时间:2015 年。访问时间:2018 年 7 月 14 日。
4经济复杂性观察组织(OEC)。马拉维。经济复杂性观察组织网站:https://atlas.media.mit.edu/zh-CN/profile/country/mwi/。发表时间:2016 年。访问时间 2018 年 7 月 14 日。
5 Appau, A.、Drope, J.、Lencucha, R. 和 D. Makoka。马拉维烟草生产农场层面经济学。利隆圭农业大学和农业研究与发展自然资源中心论文,2016 年 4 月。
6国际货币基金组织(IMF)。国际货币基金组织国家报告第 17/184 号。马拉维:经济发展文件。货币基金组织网站:https://www.imf.org/cn/Publications/CR/Issues/2017/07/05/Malawi-Economic……。发表时间 2017 年 7 月 5 日。访问时间 2018 年 7 月 14 日。
7国家统计局(NSO)。2015-2016 年马拉维人口与健康调查。国际统计局计划网站:https://dhsprogram.com/pubs/pdf/FR319/FR319.pdf。发表时间 2017 年 2 月。访问时间 2018 年 7 月 14 日。

WordPress 应用 - TurnKey Linux支持

Powered by

Skip to main content
Now accepting proposals to develop a Smoke-Free Index©
Now accepting proposals to develop a Smoke-Free Index©
 

Agricultural Transformation Initiative

Growing tobacco has never lifted smallholder farmers out of poverty. High-quality data and rigorous analysis can shape and inform effective, evidence-based policy creation and resource deployment to diversify economies and lessen country dependence on tobacco—better preparing farmers for the future while strengthening their countries’ economies.

The mission of the Foundation’s Agricultural Transformation Initiative (ATI) is to prepare smallholder tobacco farmers for an era of significantly reduced demand for tobacco, focusing first on populations with the greatest need. The ATI will use this opportunity to facilitate the establishment of more secure income strategies for farmers and will seek to partner with a diverse set of stakeholders to ensure the success and sustainability of our strategy. ATI activities will target the following outcomes:

  1. Higher and more secure income streams, improved food security status, and better overall health for smallholder farmers, their families, and their communities more broadly
  2. Increased knowledge and application of cutting edge agricultural science and technology
  3. Reduced economic dependence on tobacco and increased resilience for tobacco-growing nations
  4. Reduced environmental degradation due to tobacco cultivation
  5. Improved nutritional quality and food security status

To achieve this, the ATI will employ a systems approach to understanding local contexts and potential points of intervention, coupled with an investment-oriented model of action. A systems-thinking approach is well suited for tackling complex development problems because it incorporates multifactor analysis and feedback loops to foster better decision-making. Focusing on investment, meanwhile, will ensure that each dollar spent is contributing to building capacity and strengthening local and national economies in a sustainable way—contributing, that is, to a better future for smallholder farmers, their families, and their communities. Although the priority areas of the ATI will develop over time, the ATI intends to focus initially on the areas outlined here, recognizing that there is natural overlap between them.

Strategic Approach

Strategic approach to economic diversification

A virtuous cycle of market-driven investment, science- and technology-driven innovation, and targeted policy reform

  1. Identify alternatives. Identify innovative and profitable alternative crop and livelihood options for farmers. This will be done by partnering with agronomy research institutes to determine which crops and livelihoods are best suited for a given country or region, considering production, value chain, commercialization, and policy potential.
  2. Enhance productivity. Develop and apply new technologies to enhance agricultural productivity, build resilience, and increase income generation for farmers, primarily driven through the establishment of a science and technology Center of Excellence (CoE). This Center will be a flagship program for FSFW / ATI and will be critical in assessing and verifying new technologies that can come into a given country’s agriculture sector. Early areas of need identified are seed testing, tissue cultures and lab facilities, soil testing, and land allocation/mapping.
  3. Facilitate commercialization. Facilitate the creation and application of new markets and sustainable business models to improve economic opportunity and generate income for rural communities, as well as to strengthen the economy more broadly. A core pillar of the FSFW / ATI strategy will be to strengthen and support alternate agricultural value chains. This activity will take place through multiple methods, including deep collaboration and local policy analysis with identified partners; conferences, seminars, and capacity-building sessions on a range of issues including but not limited to Special Economic Zones; economic diversification strategies across sectors including tobacco; CoE platform for testing new technologies; facilitation of investment capital and business case development; facilitation of off-take agreements; and creation of an inclusive supply chain based on an integrated smallholder / commercial model.
  4. Strengthen policy. Create an enabling environment for these new livelihood and business strategies through targeted policy and resilience-building action at all levels of scale. Underlying most of the priority areas of investment will be an element of policy analysis and government capacity building. This is particularly true relating to market and value-chain development, education, and technology innovation.

Remembering the Farmer

The ATI’s initiatives will be valuable only if the benefits trickle down to the individual farmer, impacting individual incomes, assets and consumption, and food security. In attempting to facilitate improved livelihood opportunities for these poor and undernourished populations, the ATI has a responsibility to be mindful of potential impacts on nutritional outcomes, as well as to purposefully incorporate a nutrition agenda into its work wherever possible. Contributing to increased nutritional levels will be a key outcome for FSFW / ATI.

Nutrition is a cornerstone of human health and economic productivity. The current global burden of malnutrition is immense, and smallholder farmers in Africa bear a disproportionate share of this burden. Alleviating the multiple burdens of malnutrition currently facing the world will have far-reaching benefits in almost every dimension of society. From an economic perspective, a well-nourished population translates directly into lower health care costs and more productive citizens. In fact, cost-benefit analyses make the case quite clear: it is estimated that investing in nutrition yields a return of $16 for every $1 spent.1

At the global level, Sustainable Development Goal 2 (end hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture) sets the high-level goal for the ATI’s agenda, with particular emphasis on target 2.3, durable agricultural productivity of small-scale food producers; and target 2.4, sustainable food production systems and resilient agricultural practices.2

As the Foundation conducts its work with smallholder farmers and other key stakeholders in Africa and beyond, it will prioritize research, community-based initiatives, innovations, and evidence-based policy strategies that will simultaneously—and independently—support improved nutritional outcomes, recognizing that well-nourished and healthy citizens are essential to healthy economies, and vice versa. Fundamentally, there is often substantial inherent overlap between strategies to reduce poverty and strategies to reduce malnutrition (by virtue of poverty being a primary root cause of food insecurity and malnutrition). In addition to these natural synergies, however, the Foundation is committed to actively incorporating nutrition assessment and research into its partnerships and projects, as well as to constantly seeking innovative avenues to advance these intertwined goals.

Malawi: A Unique Context

The ATI recognizes that Malawi is a country with uniquely great need. The economy is highly dependent on tobacco, and the Malawian people suffer from a disproportionate burden of poverty and food insecurity. Furthermore, current government, nonprofit, and private sector interests in the context render it a country with promising circumstances for change. As such, the initial programmatic focus of the ATI will be on Malawi, with the intention to ultimately expand into other tobaccoproducing economies with a global scope.

Malawi is the most tobacco-dependent country in the world, despite being only the thirteenth global producer of tobacco by weight in 2016. In 2012, tobacco—Malawi’s most important cash crop3—accounted for $654 million in foreign exchange earnings for the country. This represented a full 59% of total export value as of 2016.7 Tobacco leaf cultivation alone, considered only the first step on the value chain, employed an estimated 451,000 people in 2016, representing a full 2.5% of the population. The current global trends in tobacco markets, health issues, and environmental concerns have exerted significant pressure on the domestic industry, prompting the government to diversify the economy and reduce overreliance on tobacco as the largest foreign exchange earner.

According to a 2016 study, only 25% of Malawian tobacco farmers were content with the prices they received in 2014, and approximately 41% of all tobacco farmers have considered switching to alternative crops or livelihoods.4 Approximately 45% of all tobacco farmers in Malawi are contract farmers, but no statistically significant differences between independent and contract farmers were found in price satisfaction and desire to switch.5

In addition to this, Malawi suffers from a disproportionate burden of poverty and malnutrition. As of 2011, the poverty rate was over 50% (and the rural poverty rate even higher, at 57%), with recent analyses suggesting that this is likely to have increased because of recent weather shocks.6 Furthermore, according to the most current data from the 2015-16 Malawi Demographic and Health (DHS) survey, 37% of children under 5 are stunted.7 As such, Malawi is a country that will be particularly vulnerable to future declines in global tobacco demand.

Agricultural Transformation Initiative (ATI)

Preparing for a smoke-free future by facilitating globally competitive economies and farmers

Declining demand for tobacco leaf could have devasting effects on farmer incomes in Malawi

Global cigarette sales have fallen by 7.6% between 2012 and 2016

 (Euromonitor International, 2018)

Farm-gate prices of tobacco in Malawi have fallen by 54% between 2012 and 2016

(FAOSTAT, 2018)

Over the past decade, tobacco has represented 40.6-63.6% of Malawi's total exports

(BACI, 2018)

Malawi’s tobacco exports have fallen by 33% in quantity between 2012 and 2016

(BACI, 2018)

Market-driven economic diversification May Be the only way to mitigate this decline

Identify demand-driven growth opportunities
  • Understand current tobacco-based business models.
  • Seek existing and potential markets for alternative crops and livelihoods to replace declining tobacco income.
  • In the long-term, identify and support structured agricultural value chains and adjacent industries to drive economic growth.
Invest in inclusive business models and value chains
  • “Grow the pie” by targeting high-value business models.
  • Co-create business models that accrue value directly to smallholder farmers.
  • Leverage innovative financing mechanisms to drive growth.
  • Pilot “ring-fenced” agricultural investments to achieve scale and security.
Enhance productivity with science and technology
  • Create a Center of Excellence that merges 21st century agricultural innovation with the scaling power of the private sector.
  • Identify game-changing inputs and technologies that can drive productivity increases and economic growth.
  • Incentivize private sector investment with risk capital and technology transfer agreements.
Unlock constraints to growth with targeted policy reform
  • Identify business model and cross-cutting constraints to growth in agriculture, trade, investment, finance, and access to capital.
  • Facilitate the policy reform process through existing processes and stakeholders.
  • Form and facilitate a Doing Business task force to position Malawi as a lead reformer in SSA.

Our approach IS TO combine strategic partnerships and a robust research agenda to catalyze progress, empower local organizations, and create globally competitive, prosperous farmers

Paralleling economic growth comparable to African success stories

Seeking improvement in Doing Business Indicators/Investment climate

Rising and securing smallholder farmer incomes

Improving dietary diversity and food security

Reducing child stunting and other malnutrition

Download infographic PDF

1 Fanzo J, Hawkes C, and E. Udomkesmalee. The 2017 Global Nutrition Report: Nourishing the SDGs. Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN) website. https://www.gainhealth.org/knowledge-centre/2017-global-nutrition-report.... Published November 6, 2017. Accessed July 14, 2018.
2 United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development. UN General Assembly’s Open Working Group proposes sustainable development goals. Press Release, 22-July-2014. Accessed from https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/content/documents/4538pressowg13.pdf
3 Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations. Review of Food and Agricultural Policies in Malawi: Country Report 2014. FAO website. http://www.fao.org/fileadmin/templates/mafap/documents/Malawi/MCR_May201.... Published 2015. Accessed July 14, 2018.
4 Observatory of economic complexity (OEC). Malawi. OEC website. https://atlas.media.mit.edu/en/profile/country/mwi/. Published 2015. Accessed July 14, 2018.
5 Appau, A., Drope, J., Lencucha, R., and D. Makoka. Farm-level economics of tobacco production in Malawi. Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources Centre for Agricultural Research and Development Working Paper, April 2016.
6 International Monetary Fund (IMF). IMF Country Report No. 17/184. Malawi: economic development document. IMF website. https://www.imf.org/en/Publications/CR/Issues/2017/07/05/Malawi-Economic.... Published July 5, 2017. Accessed July 14, 2018.
7 National Statistical Office (NSO). Malawi Demographic and Health Survey 2015-16. DHS Program website. https://dhsprogram.com/pubs/pdf/FR319/FR319.pdf. Published February 2017. Accessed July 14, 2018.