Tobacco Company Reports for First-Half 2021 Demonstrate Mixed Results - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Les rapports des compagnies de tabac pour le premier semestre de 2021 démontrent des résultats mitigés

La première Tobacco Transformation Index™ a révélé qu’un petit groupe d’entreprises de tabac s’était engagé publiquement à réduire les méfaits, mais aucune n’avait suffisamment changé d’orientation pour assurer le déclin accéléré des cigarettes et autres produits à haut risque. Un examen des rapports récemment publiés au premier semestre 2021 par six des principales sociétés de tabac indique que réduit * continuent de constituer une part limitée, bien que croissante, des revenus totaux.

Nous avons évalué les rapports récemment publiés au premier semestre 2021 par Altria, British American Tobacco, Imperial Brands, Japan Tobacco, Philip Morris et Swedish Match. À l’exception de Swedish Match, chaque entreprise continue de tirer la majeure partie de ses revenus totaux de produits combustibles. Comme l’illustre le tableau 1, Swedish Match tire la plus grande part de ses revenus totaux (66 %) des produits incombustibles, suivie de Philip Morris (29 %), British American Tobacco (12 %) et Altria (12 %). Les parts de Japan Tobacco et d’Imperial provenant de produits non combustibles ne sont que de 3 % et 2 %, respectivement. À cet égard, le classement des entreprises par non combustibles en pourcentage des revenus totaux est globalement stable par rapport aux conclusions de la première publication de l’indice de transformation du tabac. L’indice montre Que Swedish Match est en tête de l’indice dans son ensemble et également en tête des mesures liées à la part des produits à risque réduit par rapport aux produits à haut risque.

Tableau 1 : Résultats financiers de la société, Chiffre d’affaires publié S1 2021 vs S1 2019

Pour six mois 30 juin 2021, sauf Imperial (six mois 31 mars 2021)

Source : Rapports d’entreprise (chiffres pour BAT, JT, Imperial Brands et Swedish Match convertis en USD)

** Exclut une participation de 35% dans JUUL

Les chiffres incombustibles de JT n’incluent pas les ventes en dehors de leur marché intérieur japonais

NR = Non déclaré

Selon les rapports de la société, Swedish Match, Philip Morris, British American Tobacco et, dans une moindre mesure, Altria ont démontré une augmentation de la part des produits incombustibles dans le chiffre d’affaires total, par rapport aux chiffres publiés pour le premier semestre 2019. Philip Morris, Swedish Match et British American Tobacco ont montré les plus de progrès dans l’augmentation de leur part des revenus tirés des produits incombustibles. Imperial Brands a régressé par cette mesure, au milieu de changements de gestion et de stratégie.

Pour évaluer davantage les portefeuilles de produits des sociétés, nous avons utilisé l’indice de transformation du tabac (intégrant les données de l’exercice 2019) pour estimer la répartition entre les produits à risque réduit et les produits à risque élevé (voir le tableau 2). Il est à noter que notre définition des produits à risque réduit* s’aligne largement sur celle des non-combustibles (à l’exception du tabac à priser humide de style américain), et notre définition des produits à haut risque s’aligne largement sur celle des combustibles.

Tableau 2: Ventes au détail des entreprises par catégorie de produits, 2019 (estimations Euromonitor)

Source : Passeport international Euromonitor, estimations utilisant des intrants, y compris les rapports et les relevés de l’entreprise

Remarque : Chiffres de l’indice de transformation du tabac septembre 2020, intégrant les données jusqu’à l’ensemble de l’année 2019

Dans le cas de Swedish Match, les ventes incombustibles de l’entreprise sont tirées par le snus de style suédois (par le biais de sa marque General), suivi par les sachets de nicotine sans tabac (ZYN®). Le 14 septembre, Swedish Match a annoncé son intention de séparer son activité cigares via une scission aux actionnaires et de se retirer de la fabrication de produits du tabac combustibles. La croissance du chiffre d’affaires incombustible de Philip Morris International au S1 2021, par rapport au S1 2019, est principalement tirée par ses marques de tabac chauffé IQOS (appareil) et HEETS™ (consommable). La croissance de la part des produits non combustibles dans le chiffre d’affaires total de British American Tobacco est principalement tirée par les ventes de produits de vapeur électronique et de sachets de nicotine non liés au tabac. Les ventes de produits à base de vapeur sont tirées par les marques Vype/Vuse, ainsi que par les marques de sachets de nicotine Lyft/Velo. La part modestement croissante d’Altria dans les non-combustibles dans le chiffre d’affaires total est principalement constituée par les ventes de tabac à priser humide de style américain, tirées par sa marque de Copenhague. Les chiffres publiés par Altria n’incluent pas sa participation de 35% dans JUUL, le fabricant de produits e-vapor à système fermé. JUUL a généré des ventes au détail d’environ 5,65 milliards USD** en 2020.

En revanche, Imperial Brands et Japan Tobacco n’ont pas réalisé de progrès significatifs au cours de la période, comme en témoigne leur part des revenus totaux tirés des produits incombustibles. Dans le cas d’Imperial, les produits e-vapor (marques blu/myblu™) constituent les ventes limitées de produits à risque réduit de la société. Les chiffres incombustibles de Japan Tobacco excluent ses ventes internationales, où la société vend des marques telles que Ploom™ des appareils de chauffage du tabac, Logic™ e-liquides et cartouches, Nordic Spirit™ sachets de nicotine non-tabac et LD™ Snus de style suédois.

Nous pensons que les résultats démontrent que l’industrie du tabac n’est pas un monolithe, mais plutôt un groupe d’entreprises individuelles avec des stratégies, des empreintes et des degrés de prouesses opérationnelles différents. En outre, cette analyse exclut les acteurs publics et privés qui dominent les ventes de cigarettes dans de nombreuses régions du monde. Le deuxième indice de transformation du tabac, qui doit être publié à l’automne 2022, fournira une évaluation plus approfondie des engagements et des actions des compagnies de tabac en ce qui concerne la réduction des méfaits du tabac. L’objectif de la plateforme de recherche Index est d’inciter les compagnies de tabac à agir plus rapidement et de manière plus responsable qu’elles ne le feraient autrement.

*Définition de produit à risque réduit basée sur hiérarchie des risques relatifs (RRH) produite par Rachel Murkett et al, octobre 2020, basée sur une revue systématique de la littérature scientifique et l’analyse des meilleures preuves disponibles.

**Passeport international Euromonitor. Les chiffres couvrent à la fois les revenus des appareils et des consommables; les ventes au détail par tous les canaux de vente au détail.  

Cet article a été mis à jour le 4 octobre avec des clarifications concernant Japan Tobacco.

Outil WordPress - Générée par TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Tobacco Company Reports for First-Half 2021 Demonstrate Mixed Results - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Tobacco Company Reports for First-Half 2021 Demonstrate Mixed Results

The first Tobacco Transformation Index™ found that a small group of tobacco companies made public commitments to harm reduction, but none have shifted their focus enough to ensure the accelerated decline of cigarettes and other high-risk products. A review of recently published first-half 2021 reports from six of the major tobacco companies indicates that reduced-risk products* continue to form a limited, albeit growing, share of total revenue.

We assessed recently published first-half 2021 reports from Altria, British American Tobacco, Imperial Brands, Japan Tobacco, Philip Morris, and Swedish Match. With the exception of Swedish Match, each company continues to derive most of its total revenues from combustible products. As Table 1 illustrates, Swedish Match derives the largest share of its total revenues (66%) from non-combustible products, followed by Philip Morris (29%), British American Tobacco (12%), and Altria (12%). The Japan Tobacco and Imperial shares from non-combustibles are just 3% and 2%, respectively. In this respect, the ranking of companies by non-combustibles as a share of total revenues is broadly stable relative to the findings from the first publication of the Tobacco Transformation Index. The Index shows Swedish Match leading the Index overall and also leading on metrics related to share of reduced-risk versus high-risk products.

Table 1: Company financial results, Reported Revenues H1 2021 vs. H1 2019

For six months ended June 30, 2021, except Imperial (six months ended March 31, 2021)

Source: Company reports (figures for BAT, JT, Imperial Brands and Swedish Match converted to USD)

** Excludes 35% stake in JUUL

***JT’s non-combustible figures do not include sales outside of their domestic Japanese market

NR = Not reported

According to company reports, Swedish Match, Philip Morris, British American Tobacco, and to a lesser degree Altria have demonstrated increases in the share of non-combustible products of total revenue, when compared with figures reported for first-half 2019. Philip Morris, Swedish Match, and British American Tobacco showed the most progress in increasing their share of revenue derived from non-combustible products. Imperial Brands regressed by this measure, amid management and strategy changes.

To further evaluate the companies’ product portfolios, we utilized the Tobacco Transformation Index (incorporating full-year 2019 data) to estimate the split by reduced-risk products versus high-risk products (see Table 2). Note that our definition of reduced-risk products* broadly aligns with that of non-combustibles (with the exception of US-style moist snuff), and our definition of high-risk products broadly aligns with that of combustibles.

Table 2: Company retail sales by product category, 2019 (Euromonitor estimates)

Source: Euromonitor International Passport, estimates using inputs including company reports and statements

Note: Figures from Tobacco Transformation Index published September 2020, incorporating data through full-year 2019

In the case of Swedish Match, the company’s non-combustible sales are driven by Swedish-style snus (through its General brand), followed by tobacco-free nicotine pouches (ZYN®). On September 14, Swedish Match announced that it intends to separate its cigar business via a spin-off to shareholders and to exit the manufacturing of combustible tobacco products. Philip Morris International’s growth in non-combustible revenue in H1 2021, compared with H1 2019, is primarily driven by its heated-tobacco brands IQOS (device) and HEETS™ (consumable). British American Tobacco’s growth in share of non-combustibles of total revenue is driven primarily by sales of e-vapor products and non-tobacco nicotine pouches. Vapor product sales are driven by Vype/Vuse brands, as well as Lyft/Velo nicotine pouch brands. Altria’s modestly increasing share of non-combustibles as a share of total revenue is made up predominantly by sales of US-style moist snuff, driven by its Copenhagen brand. Altria’s reported figures do not include its 35% ownership stake in JUUL, the manufacturer of closed system e-vapor products. JUUL generated retail sales of approximately USD 5.65 billion** in 2020.

On the other hand, Imperial Brands and Japan Tobacco did not make material progress over the period, as reflected by their shares of total revenue derived from non-combustible products. In the case of Imperial, e-vapor products (blu/myblu™ brands) constitute the company’s limited reduced-risk product sales. Japan Tobacco’s non-combustible figures exclude its international sales, where the company sells brands including Ploom™ tobacco heating devices, Logic™ e-liquids and cartridges, Nordic Spirit™ non-tobacco nicotine pouches, and LD™ Swedish-style Snus.

We believe the results demonstrate that the tobacco industry is not a monolith, but rather a group of individual companies with differing strategies, footprints, and degrees of operating prowess. Further, this analysis excludes the state-owned and privately held players that dominate cigarette sales in many parts of the world. The second Tobacco Transformation Index, due to be published in the fall of 2022, will provide a further deep-dive assessment of tobacco companies’ commitments and actions as they relate to tobacco harm reduction. The aim of the Index research platform is to incentivize tobacco companies to act more quickly and responsibly than they otherwise would.

*Reduced-risk product definition based on Relative Risk Hierarchy (RRH) produced by Rachel Murkett et al, October 2020, based on a systematic review of the scientific literature and analysis of the best available evidence.

 **Euromonitor International Passport. Figures cover both device and consumable revenues; retail sales through all retail channels.

This article was updated on October 4th with clarifications regarding Japan Tobacco.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux