استثناءات التبغ والحوكمة البيئية والاجتماعية والمؤسسية - نظرة معاكسة - مؤسسة لعالم خالٍ من التدخين

استثناءات التبغ والحوكمة البيئية والاجتماعية والمؤسسية - نظرة مخالفة

التبغ هو قطاع من الشائع بالنسبة للمستثمرين أن يستبعدوا أو يقللوا من قيمة الأسهم. تشجع الجماعات المناهضة للتبغ هذا الموقف. على سبيل المثال ، تهدف Tobacco Free Portfolios إلى تقليل جميع الاستثمارات في التبغ والقضاء عليها في النهاية. في هذا السياق ، فإن الموضع ناقص الوزن يحمل قدرًا غير كافٍ من سند معيّن مقارنة بوزن ذلك السند في المحفظة المعيارية.

اكتشف Russell Investments أن نصف إلى ثلاثة أرباع عالم الأسهم العالمية كان يقلل من وزن التبغ خلال الفترة من 2003 إلى 2018. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تجنب 36٪ إلى 62٪ التبغ تمامًا. في الولايات المتحدة ، ما يقرب من ثلاثة أرباع العالم يعانون من نقص وزن التبغ في مساحة الأسهم الكبيرة ، وحوالي 50٪ إلى 70٪ يتجنبون التبغ تمامًا. انخفض التعرض للتبغ خلال الفترة من 2003 إلى 2018 على مستوى العالم. على الرغم من أن مخزونات التبغ حققت عائدًا زائدًا في المتوسط بنسبة 2 ٪ تقريبًا خلال نفس الفترة ، خلصت شركة Russell Investments إلى عدة عوامل "إن الفكرة القائلة بأن استبعاد التبغ من الحافظات يضر بالأداء مبالغ فيه".

في ضوء إصدار Tobacco Transformation Index ، برعاية مؤسسة عالم خالٍ من التدخين ، أعرض وجهة نظر متضاربة. الاستثمار المعاكس هو أسلوب استثمار يتعارض فيه المستثمرون عن قصد مع اتجاهات السوق السائدة عن طريق البيع عندما يشتري الآخرون ويشترون عندما يقوم معظم المستثمرين بالبيع. يتفق العديد من المستثمرين على أن الاستثمار المتناقض هو نظام يصعب إتقانه. ومع ذلك ، عندما يتم تنفيذها بشكل صحيح ، يمكن أن تكون هذه الاستراتيجية مربحة للغاية.

وفقًا لـ Russell Investments ، لا يمتلك معظم المستثمرين أسهمًا للتبغ أو يمتلكون أقل من المعيار المعمول به. هذا الموقف هو الرأي المتفق عليه - وهو بالتحديد نوع الإجماع السلبي الذي يرى فيه المستثمر المعارض الفرصة.

لكي تتحقق الفرصة ، يجب أن يقدم الاستثمار في النهاية أداءً أفضل من المتوقع من خلال نمو الأرباح. بعبارة أخرى ، لا يعني عدم تفضيل سهم أو قطاع ما أنه سينتعش بالضرورة. في حالة مخزونات التبغ ، حيث تتناقص أحجام السجائر بشكل صحيح ، يتساءل المستثمرون بشكل صحيح عن نموذج الإيرادات المستقبلية. لكي يرفع المستثمرون وجهات نظرهم في نهاية المطاف ، يجب أن يكون هناك نوع من المحفز الإيجابي. يعتقد بعض المستثمرين أن الشركات ذات الأداء طويل الأمد في التبغ ستكون تلك الشركات التي لديها أفضل المنتجات منخفضة المخاطر ، وتقييمات الأسهم الحالية متوافقة مع هذا الرأي.

مؤشر تحول التبغ هو تقييم شامل لأكبر 15 شركة تبغ ، فيما يتعلق بانتقالها من السجائر القابلة للاحتراق ومنتجات التبغ الأخرى عالية الخطورة. من خلال تتبع مبيعات الشركات واستثماراتها واستراتيجياتها ، يهدف المؤشر إلى إعلام المستثمرين وتسريع إجراءات إنهاء التدخين في نهاية المطاف.

يكمل المؤشر ويسهل اتجاهًا أوسع - أي الاعتراف بالتأثير الاجتماعي للاستثمار. في تعارض مع النهج الإقصائي المتمثل في سحب الاستثمارات وتقليل الوزن الشائع في الاستثمار في التبغ اليوم ، تعمل شريحة متنامية من مجتمع المستثمرين على تطوير وتطبيق المعايير البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة (ESG) في عملية الاستثمار ، بهدف التأثير بشكل إيجابي على سلوك الشركة . بعض المستثمرين ، مثل Aberdeen Standard Investments ، مناصبهم كمساهمين للتفاعل مع الشركات - بما في ذلك قطاع التبغ - لمعالجة مخاطر البيئة والمجتمع والحوكمة والفرص في محافظهم الاستثمارية.

ليس هناك شك في أن التفكير في كيفية التعامل مع معلومات الاستدامة آخذ في التطور ، كما شهد ندوة SASB . في قطاع التبغ ، يؤسس مؤشر تحول التبغ موقعًا لتعزيز وضوح أداء شركات التبغ والتزامها وشفافيتها عبر مجموعة من 35 مؤشرًا تم تنظيمها وفقًا لست فئات. على هذا النحو ، فإنه يوفر بيانات وتحليلات للمستثمرين يمكن أن تساعدهم على فهم أنشطة الشركات وتتبعها بشكل أفضل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من خلال منهجيته ، التي تم تطويرها باتباع مشاركة أصحاب المصلحة ، يوفر الفهرس إطارًا يمكنه يحتمل أن تقود شركات التبغ نحو نموذج استثمار مستدام.

من خلال تتبع أنشطة شركات التبغ ، قد يكون من الممكن تشجيع المزيد من السلوك المسؤول اجتماعيًا. ولكن في النهاية ، يقع العبء على إدارة الشركة فيما يتعلق بما إذا كانت ستختار الإسراع في الحد من الضرر الناجم عن استخدام التبغ. بغض النظر عن النتيجة ، سيرصد المؤشر ويقيم بشكل نقدي سلوك شركات التبغ بمرور الوقت ويحاسب الشركات على أفعالها.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Tobacco and ESG Exclusions – A Contrarian View - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Tobacco and ESG Exclusions – A Contrarian View

Tobacco is a sector for which it is common for investors to exclude or underweight the stocks. Anti-tobacco groups encourage this stance. For example, Tobacco Free Portfolios aims to reduce and ultimately eliminate all investment in tobacco. In this context, an underweight position holds an insufficient amount of a particular security compared to the weight of that security in the benchmark portfolio.

Russell Investments found that one-half to three-quarters of the global equity universe was underweight tobacco over the period from 2003 to 2018. In addition, 36% to 62% avoided tobacco completely. In the US, approximately three-quarters of the universe is underweight tobacco in the large-cap equity space, and roughly 50% to 70% avoids tobacco completely. Tobacco exposure over the 2003 to 2018 period declined globally. Despite tobacco stocks having generated an average excess return of approximately 2% over the same period, Russell Investments concludes due to several factors “the notion that excluding tobacco from portfolios is a detriment to performance is overstated.”

In light of release of the Tobacco Transformation Index, sponsored by the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World, I offer a contrarian view. Contrarian investing is an investment style in which investors purposefully go against prevailing market trends by selling when others are buying and buying when most investors are selling. Many investors will agree that contrarian investing is a difficult discipline to master. When performed correctly, however, this strategy can be very profitable.

According to Russell Investments, most investors do not own tobacco stocks or own less than the applicable benchmark. This position is the consensus view—precisely the type of negative consensus in which a contrarian investor sees opportunity.

For the opportunity to materialize, the investment must ultimately deliver better than anticipated performance through earnings growth. In other words, just because a stock or sector is out of favor does not mean it will necessarily rebound. In the case of tobacco stocks, for which cigarette volumes are rightfully declining, investors correctly question the future revenue model. For investors to ultimately upgrade their views, there must be some type of positive catalyst. Some investors think the long-term performers in tobacco will be those companies with the best reduced-risk products, and current stock valuations are compatible with this view.

The Tobacco Transformation Index is a comprehensive evaluation of the 15 largest tobacco companies, with respect to their transition away from combustible cigarettes and other high-risk tobacco products. By tracking companies’ sales, investments, and strategies, the Index is meant to inform investors and ultimately accelerate action to end smoking.

The Index complements and facilitates a broader trend—namely, acknowledgement of the social impact of investing. In conflict with the exclusionary approach of divestment and underweighting common in tobacco investing today, a growing segment of the investor community is developing and applying environmental, social, and governance (ESG) criteria in the investment process, with the aim of positively influencing company behavior. Some investors, like Aberdeen Standard Investments, use their position as shareholders to engage with companies—including the tobacco sector—to address ESG risks and opportunities in their portfolios.

There is little doubt that thinking around how to handle sustainability information is evolving, as witnessed by the recent SASB Symposium. In the tobacco sector, the Tobacco Transformation Index is establishing a position to enhance the visibility of tobacco companies’ performance, commitment, and transparency across a set of 35 indicators organized according to six categories. As such, it offers investors data and analysis that can help them to better understand and track companies’ activities. In addition, through its methodology, developed following extensive stakeholder engagement, the Index provides a framework that can potentially lead tobacco companies toward a sustainable investing model.

By tracking the activities of tobacco companies, it may be possible to encourage more socially responsible behavior. Ultimately, however, the onus is on company management as to whether they will choose to accelerate the reduction of harm caused by tobacco use. Regardless of the outcome, the Index will monitor and critically evaluate tobacco companies’ behavior over time and hold companies accountable for their actions.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux