احتمالات التحول الصحي ربما تظهر بشكل أكبر في الصين - مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين

قد تظهر احتمالات التحول الصحي بشكل أكبر في الصين

普通话翻译/ترجمة صينية

التبغ في الصين

لا تزال الصين تؤدي دورًا مهمًا في الصحة العامة على الصعيد العالمي. ونظرًا لأنها تحمل على أرضها أكثر من300 مليون مدخن، فإن الآثار الصحية عليها وخيمة. إن الحد من أضرار التبغ والإقلاع عن التدخين وجهان لعملة واحدة، إذ أنهما يقدمان حلولاً للمدخنين تبدي تعاطفًا واحترامًا مع خياراتهم. تتمتع الصين بمكانة جيدة لتولي الريادة في تحوّل صناعة التبغ وتطوير منتجات منخفضة الضرر لتحل محل السجائر التقليدية عبر سياسة الاحتكار المتغلغلة - من خلال نفس مبدأ التعاطف. تأسست مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين على مبدأ التعاطف مع المدخن ومع مزارع التبغ.

هذا هو وقت العمل في الصين. أولاً، أطلقت الشركة الصينية الوطنية للتبغ (CNTC) أول منتج تبغ مسخّن في كوريا الجنوبية. ثانيًا، تشير التقارير إلى أن الشركة الصينية للتبغ تخطط لإدراج وحدتها الدولية في سوق الأوراق المالية هونج كونج. ثالثًا، أعلنت شركة China Tobacco Anhui Industry Corporation، وهي شركة تابعة للشركة الصينية الوطنية للتبغ عن إطلاق منتج جديد سيكون متاحًا خلال أنشطة تجربة المستهلكين في مدينتي شينزين وخفي. منتج التبغ المسخن غير القابل للاحتراق، من جيل منتجات Toop، والذي يستخدم تقنية تسخين بالحث المغناطيسي. رابعًا، تشير التقارير إلى أن الشركة الصينية الوطنية للتبغ تحارب تجارة التهريب، التي أدخلت إلى الصين العام الماضي بشكل غير شرعي ملايين الدولارات من منتجات التبغ المسخّن. وتقع هذه الأحداث جميعًا بالتزامن مع تفكير الإدارة في أطر تنظيمية للسجائر الإلكترونية ومنتجات التبغ المسخّن. ونحن نعتقد أن هذه الأحداث تشير إلى أن الوقت قد حان لتحقيق نتائج صحية إيجابية طويلة المدى في الصين.

منظومة النيكوتين البيئية في الصين كبيرة ومعقدة

نقدر امتلاك الشركة الصينية الوطنية للتبغ لما يقرب من 43% من حصة سوق السجائر العالمية، على أساس حجم مبيعات التجزئة لعام 2017. وأنتجت الشركة حوالي 2.3 تريليون حامل سيجارة في 2017. ولكن المستوى والنطاق والآثار الاقتصادية لصناعة التبغ في الصين هائلة:

  • في عام 2016، كان إجمالي الإيرادات الضريبية الصناعية والتجارية التي ساهمت بها الشركة الصينية الوطنية للتبغ حوالي 1.1 تريليون يوان (حوالي 160 مليار دولار أمريكي).
  • وفقًا للشركة، يعمل في صناعة التبغ الصينية 550,000 شخص.
  • وتشير تقارير الشركة ومصادر في الصناعة إلى أن الصين لديها أكثر من مليون مزرعة لزراعة التبغ، يعمل بها أكثر من 5 ملايين مزارع.
  • ويتركز أكثر من 80% من إنتاج التبغ وأكثر من 50% من إنتاج السجائر في الصين في المناطق الفقيرة.

وللوهلة الأولى، يبدو أن هناك تعارض بين الاعتماد الاقتصادي على التبغ في الصين وبين التكاليف المتعلقة بالصحة. فالإيرادات الضريبية المرتبطة بالسجائر تسهم في تمويل برامج المدارس والضمان الاجتماعي والبنية التحتية وغيرها من احتياجات التنمية الأخرى. ولكن مظاهر التعارض الواضع يمكن أن تتلاشى لو اعتمدت الصين مبدأ القضاء على التدخين. وفي رأينا، فإن إحراز التقدم في القضاء على التدخين في الصين سيساعدها على تحقيق الأهداف الصحية الطموحة في الخطة الخمسية الثالثة عشرة. والطريق لتحقيق أهداف الصين الصحية قد يعتمد على مدى تطبيق الابتكارات التي تهدف إلى التخلص من محركات الاحتراق الداخلي بالقوة على التخلص من السجائر التقليدية.

التبغ والخطة الخمسية الثالثة عشرة

الخطة الخمسية الثالثة عشرة للتنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لجمهورية الصين الشعبية (2016-2020) تحدد الأهداف الرئيسية المتعلقة بالصحة والابتكار، والتي تتوافق مع أهداف مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين.

ونقرأ في الإستراتيجية في الفصل (60)، تعزيز الصحة في الصين، وتحديدًا في القسم الثالث منه "الوقاية من الأمراض الرئيسية وعلاجها وخدمات الرعاية الصحية العامة الأساسية": "سننفذ إستراتيجية شاملة للوقاية الفعالة من الأمراض المزمنة، مثل أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية وأمراض الدماغ وأمراض الأوعية الدموية ومرض السكري الأورام الخبيثة وأمراض الجهاز التنفسي والأمراض النفسية". إن هدف مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين، تحسين الصحة العالمية من خلال القضاء على التدخين في هذا الجيل، متوافق مع تعزيز الصحة في الصين وذلك من خلال العمل على تقليل الأمراض والوفيات المرتبطة بالتدخين.

أما الجزء الثاني، التطوير القائم على الابتكار فنقرأ فيه "متخذين من الابتكار أساسًا لتحقيق التنمية، سنعطي دورًا محوريًا للابتكار في العلوم والتكنولوجيا…" والحقيقة، فإن الصين تقود مسيرة الابتكار في الحد من الأضرار. واليوم، توجد معظم شركات تصنيع السجائر الإلكترونية في العالم في الصين، وتحديدًا مدينة شنتشن. وتؤمن المؤسسة أن الابتكار، عند توظيفه التوظيف الصحيح، يمكن أن يقلل أضرار التدخين في المستقبل. فهناك مثلاً، الأدوات المتاحة على الهواتف الذكية وأجهزة الاستشعار والتطبيقات الموجهة للمستهلكين والتي يمكن أن تساعد المدخنين على قياس سلوكياتهم وتغييرها وفهم الآثار الصحية والحصول على تعليقات وتدخلات معدة لهم خصيصًا لمساعدتهم على الإقلاع عن التدخين أو الحد منه.

وإذا وضعنا هذا في الحسبان، فسنجد أن هناك دراسة كبيرة تثير نتائجها أسئلة خطيرة حول الأهداف الصحية للصين. وعلى وجه التحديد، فإن الدراسة، التي ضمت أكثر من 170 ألف مواطن صيني من البالغين ما بين عامي 2013 و2014، وجدت أن نسبة 60,7% من الرجال كانوا يدخنون طوال عمرهم. وكان انتشار التدخين بين الرجال في المناطق الريفية أعلى من المناطق الحضرية، وتفاوتت النسبة ما بين 39,5% إلى 67,4% في 31 مقاطعة. ونتائج الدراسة المتعلقة بالرجال البالغين فيما يتعلق بشراهة التدخين ومتوسط العمر عند بداية التدخين بانتظام والمعرفة بأخطار التدخين نتائج مقلقة، وأن كان انتشار التدخين ظل منخفضًا للغاية بين النساء في الصين (لم تتجاوز نسبة من قمن بالتدخين ولو لمرة واحدة في حياتهن 2,8%). وهذه الدراسة واحدة من أكبر الدراسات المسحية للتدخين التي تضم عينة ممثلة للسكان على مستوى الدولة والتي تم إجراؤها في الصين على مدار العقود الأخيرة.

ولو وضعنا هذه الخلفية في الحسبان، فإن التحول إلى المنتجات التي تقلل من الضرر يمكن أن يساعد على تحقيق أهداف الصين الصحية ويمكن تنفيذه بطريقة تضمن الحفاظ على المدى البعيد على الإيرادات الحكومية اللازمة لبرامج الضمان الاجتماعي المختلفة. ويمكن الحصول على تدفقات الإيرادات من منتجات ذات قيمة أعلى مقارنة بالسجائر التقليدية البدائية المميتة. واتباع نهج شامل يحمي التوظيف والزراعة، مع تقليل التكاليف الصحية العامة للشعب الصيني.

وتتوفر في الصين مقومات تولي الريادة في مجالي الصحة والابتكار، كما يتضح من الخطة الخمسية الثالثة عشرة. بل إننا نعتقد أن هذا التوجه لا مفر منه. ففي يناير 2017، وفي أثناء خطاب الرئيس زي أمام المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي في دافوس، قدم الرئيس التزامًا قويًا بالتوسع في توظيف التقنيات لخدمة البشرية. ولكن لو نظرنا إلى أن الصين تنتج 2.3 تريليون سيجارة سنويًا وأن جميع السجائر الإلكترونية تقريبًا تنتج فيها، سنجد أنفسنا أمام إشارات مختلطة. أما إذا اختارت الصين اعتماد مبدأ الحد من الأضرار في جميع المجالات التي تحتكرها، فإن الأثر العالمي سيكون هائلاً. ولذلك، فإننا ندعو الصين للاستفادة من بيان الرئيس زي في دافوس وتطبيق الإستراتيجيات اللازمة لمواجهة أكبر سبب في العالم للوفاة المبكرة والمرض - ألا وهو التدخين - وذلك لإثبات تحليها ببعد النظر في القيادة والذي ضمن للصين التميز على مدار عقود.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

the possibilities for the greatest transformation in health may be emerging in china

普通话翻译/Mandarin Translation

TOBACCO IN CHINA

China continues to be a critically important player in global public health. It is home to more than 300 million smokers, and the health impacts are profound. Tobacco harm reduction and smoking cessation are two sides of the same coin, providing solutions to smokers that exercise empathy and respect for their choices. China is well positioned to assume leadership in tobacco industry transformation and the development of reduced-harm products to replace combustible cigarettes across its vast monopoly – through this very same principle of empathy. The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World is founded also on the principle of empathy for the smoker, as well as for the tobacco farmer.

These are times of dynamic action in China. First, China National Tobacco Corporation (CNTC) launched its first heated tobacco product in South Korea. Second, reports indicate that CNTC plans to list its international unit on the Hong Kong stock exchange. Third, China Tobacco Anhui Industry Corporation, a subsidiary of CNTC, announced that a new product will be available for consumer experience activities in Shenzhen and Hefei. The non-combustible heated tobacco product, from the Toop generation of products, uses magnetic induction heating technology. Fourth, reports indicate that CNTC is battling the smuggling trade, which brought millions of dollars of heated tobacco products into China illegally last year. This is occurring while the administration is potentially considering regulatory frameworks for e-cigarettes and heated tobacco products. We believe these events indicate that the time is ripe to engage for positive long-term health outcomes in China.

THE NICOTINE ECOSYSTEM IN CHINA IS LARGE AND COMPLEX

We estimate that CNTC has approximately 43% of the global cigarette market share, based on retail volume for 2017. CNTC produced approximately 2.3 trillion cigarette sticks in 2017. The scale, scope, and economic implications of the tobacco industry in China are massive:

  • In 2016, the total industrial and commercial tax revenue generated by CNTC was approximately 1.1 trillion yuan (about $160 billion USD).
  • According to CNTC, the Chinese tobacco industry employs 550,000 people.
  • Company reports, industry sources, and estimates indicate that China has more than 1 million farms growing tobacco, with more than 5 million growers involved.
  • More than 80% of tobacco production and more than 50% of cigarette production in China are concentrated in poor areas.

At first glance, the economic dependence on tobacco in China and the health-related costs appear to be in conflict. Tax revenue associated with cigarettes contributes to funding school programs, social security, infrastructure, and other development needs. However, the apparent conflicts could be diminished if China embraces a smoke-free world. In our view, making progress toward a smoke-free China will help it achieve the bold health goals outlined in The 13th Five-Year Plan. The key to accomplishing China’s health goals may depend on whether the innovations aimed at ending the internal combustion engine can be as vigorously applied to ending combustible cigarettes.

TOBACCO AND THE 13TH FIVE-YEAR PLAN

The 13th Five-Year Plan for Economic and Social Development of The People’s Republic of China (2016-2020) identifies key goals related to health and innovation, which are compatible with the objectives of the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World.

As stated in Chapter 60, Promote a Healthy China; Section 3, Major Disease Prevention and Treatment and Basic Public Healthcare Services: “We will implement a comprehensive strategy for the effective prevention and control of chronic diseases such as cardiovascular, brain, and vascular diseases as well as diabetes, malignant tumors, respiratory disease, and mental illness.” The purpose of the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World – to improve global health by ending smoking in this generation – is compatible with a Healthy China by working to reduce smoking-related morbidities and mortality.

Part II, Innovation-Driven Development states, “With innovation as the basis from which to pursue development, we will give a central role to innovation in science and technology. . . .” In fact, innovation in harm reduction is already being led by China. Today, most of the world’s e-cigarette manufacturers are in China, specifically Shenzhen. The Foundation believes that innovation, properly harnessed, could reduce future harm from smoking. For example, tools on smartphones and consumer-oriented sensors and apps can help smokers measure and change their behavior, understand health impacts, and receive customized feedback and intervention to help them quit or smoke less.

That said, the results of a large study raise serious questions about China’s health goals. Specifically, the study, which recruited more than 170,000 Chinese adults in 2013-2014, found that, among men, 60.7% were ever smokers. The prevalence of ever smoking in men was higher in rural than urban areas and varied from 39.5% to 67.4% across 31 provinces. Results associated with adult men regarding heavy smoking, mean age at first starting to smoke regularly, and knowledge about smoking hazards are troubling – although smoking prevalence remained extremely low among women in China (2.8% had ever smoked). The study is one of the largest nationally representative surveys of smoking ever conducted in China in recent decades.

With this background, transformation into products that reduce harm can promote China’s health goals and be implemented in a manner that also ensures the long-term preservation of government revenue needed for various social security programs. Revenue streams can be transitioned to higher value products, compared to the primitive and deadly combustible cigarette. A comprehensive approach safeguards employment and agriculture, while reducing overall health costs to the Chinese population.

China is well positioned to assume leadership in the areas of health and innovation, as reflected in The 13th Five-Year Plan. Indeed, we believe this direction is inevitable. In January 2017, President Xi, addressing the World Economic Forum in Davos, made a powerful commitment to expand the use of technologies in the service of humankind. With about 2.3 trillion cigarettes produced in China annually, and almost all e-cigarette device manufacturing occurring within the country, the signals are mixed. However, if the Chinese choose to embrace harm reduction across the vast monopoly, the global impact would be massive. Hence, we call upon China to build on the President Xi’s Davos statement by implementing strategies to address the world’s greatest cause of premature death and disease – smoking – in a display of far-sighted leadership that has set China apart for centuries.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux