ديريك ياك | مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين

ديريك ياك

مجلس الإدارة
ديريك ياك

رئيس المؤسسة وعضو مجلس الإدارة

حاصل على بكالوريوس الطب والجراحة، وماجستير الصحة العامة، ودرجة الدكتوراه (الفخرية) في العلوم

د. ديريك ياتش، الخبير الصحي العالمي وأحد الداعين إلى مكافحة التدخين لأكثر من 30 عامًا، هو رئيس مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين. وطوال حياته المهنية، دعم وأشرف على أبحاث الإقلاع عن التدخين وعلى تطوير السياسات وكان مناصرًا قويًا لسياسات الحد من الضرر، وقد طالب بزيادة التركيز على الحد من الضرر في وقت مبكر من عام 2005. وهو أيضًا أحد المدافعين المتحمسين عن تعزيز الصحة والوقاية من الأمراض، ويسعى لتعزيز مسيرته المهنية من خلال عمله في مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين.

شغل الدكتور ديريك ياك في السابق منصب رئيس مكتب المدير العام لمنظمة الصحة العالمية والمدير التنفيذي لدائرة الأمراض غير المعدية والصحة النفسية بالمنظمة حيث شارك مشاركة قوية في عملية وضع الاتفاقية العالمية الوحيدة لمكافحة التبغ، وهي اتفاقية منظمة الصحة العالمية الإطارية بشأن مكافحة التبغ. وقد شغل أيضًا في السابق منصب كبير المسؤولين للشؤون الصحية في مجموعة Vitality، والمدير التنفيذي لمعهد Vitality، والنائب الأول لرئيس شركة Pepsico للسياسات الصحية والزراعية العالمية، ومدير الصحة العالمية في مؤسسة روكافلر (Rockefeller Foundation)، وأستاذ للصحة العالمية في جامعة ييل. وقد كتب، أو شارك في كتابة، أكثر من 250 مقالة محكمة حول الصحة العالمية، وكان عضوًا في العديد من المجالس الاستشارية ومنها المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي، وCornerstone Capital وWellcome Trust. وما بين عامي 2007 و2016، كان عضوًا في اللجنة الاستشارية للبرنامج في مبادرة كلينتون العالمية.

ود. ياك من مواطني جنوب أفريقيا وحاصل على الدكتوراه الفخرية في العلوم من جامعة جورج تاون، وبكالوريوس الطب والجراحة من جامعة كيب تاون، ودرجة البكالوريوس (الفخرية في الوبائيات) من جامعة ستيلينبوس (University of Stellenbosch) وماجستير الصحة العامة من كلية بلومبرغ للصحة العامة بحامعة جونز هوبكنز.

وضع الإطار الرائد لمكافحة التبغ

في أثناء عمله في منظمة الصحة العالمية، كان للدكتور ياك دورًا جوهريًا في وضع اتفاقية منظمة الصحة العالمية الإطارية بشأن مكافحة التبغ، والتي تُعد مجموعة من المعايير العالمية التي توضح مخاطر التبغ وتنص على الحد من تعاطيه وبيعه وتوزيعه والإعلان عنه في العالم أجمع. وقد أصبح إطار العمل هذا أهم معاهدة عالمية حول مكافحة التبغ وقد صادقت عليها 180 دولة تقريبًا، قام أكثر من 75% منهم بتعزيز تشريعاته التي كانت قائمة أو اعتماد سياسات جديدة لمكافحة التبغ. ومنذ أن ترك الدكتور ياك منظمة الصحة العالمية في عام 2004 لم يتوقف عن الدعوة إلى تحسين اتفاقية منظمة الصحة العالمية الإطارية بشأن مكافحة التبغ. وقد دعا إلى حظر الإعلان عن التبغ والترويج له ورعايته في تدوينة  له في هافينغتون بوست بمناسبة اليوم العالمي للامتناع عن التدخين، وتناول الوضع الراهن والتأثير المستقبلي لاتفاقية منظمة الصحة العالمية في عام 2014 في مقال بدورية Lancet.

الالتزام بالعمل على الحد من أضرار التدخين

منذ وضع اتفاقية منظمة الصحة العالمية الإطارية بشأن مكافحة التبغ توفرت للمستهلكين مجموعة من البدائل الجديدة منخفضة المخاطر التي تفصل النيكوتين عن القطران. ويعتقد د. ياك أن هذه المنتجات يمكن أن تشجع على الإقلاع عن التدخين وتقلل من مخاطر التدخين. وقد كتب عن هذا الموضوع كثيرًا في مقالات نُشرت في فاينينشال تايمز، وThe Spectator، وموقع لينكد إن، وNational Post وهافينغتون بوست.

تعزيز الصحة والوقاية من الأمراض

د. ياك من أشد الداعين للوقاية من الأمراض غير المعدية وتعزيز الصحة، وهو من المناصرين لزيادة الحوافز التي تساعد الناس على ممارسة الرياضة وتناول وجبات مغذية والحفاظ على وزنهم في الحدود الصحية. وهو يدرك أن القضاء على التدخين في العالم سيسهم إسهامًا كبيرًا في الوقاية من الأمراض غير المعدية وقد يكون سببًا في رفع متوسط الأعمار عالميًا، وسيحسن مستوى الحياة ويزيد من الإنتاج الاقتصادي. وفي مقال كتبه لدورية القلب العالمي (Global Heart)، أوضح الحاجة إلى خلق قيمة مشتركة بين القطاعين العام والخاص، وتكوين منظومة متكاملة تحفز الابتكار في الوقاية من الأمراض - بدلاً من الاقتصار على علاج الأمراض. وقد شرح أيضًا فكره في تعزيز الصحة والوقاية من الأمراض في أثناء عرض تقديمي في TEDxMonTecarlo.

 

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Derek Yach | Foundation for a Smoke-Free World
Derek Yach

President and Board Member

MBChB, MPH, DSc (Honoris Causa)

Dr. Derek Yach, a global health expert and anti-smoking advocate for more than 30 years, is the president of the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World. Throughout his career, he has supported and led smoking cessation research and policy development and has been a strong proponent of harm-reduction policies, calling for a greater emphasis on harm reduction as early as 2005. He is also a passionate advocate of health promotion and disease prevention and is advancing his career’s work at the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World.

Dr. Yach is a former World Health Organization (WHO) cabinet director and executive director for noncommunicable diseases and mental health where he was deeply involved with the development of the world’s treaty on tobacco control, the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control. He is also the former chief health officer of the Vitality Group, executive director of the Vitality Institute, SVP global health and agriculture policy at PepsiCo, director of global health at the Rockefeller Foundation, and a professor of global health at Yale University. He has authored or co-authored more than 250 peer-reviewed articles on global health and has served on several advisory boards, including the World Economic Forum, Cornerstone Capital and the Wellcome Trust. From 2007 to 2016, he served on the program advisory committee of the Clinton Global Initiative.

Dr. Yach is a native of South Africa and has an honorary DSc from Georgetown University, MBChB from the University of Cape Town, BSc (Hons Epi) from the University of Stellenbosch, and an MPH from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Development of the Leading Tobacco Control Framework

While at World Health Organization, Dr. Yach was instrumental in the development of the organization’s Framework Convention on Tobacco Control(FCTC), a set of universal standards stating the dangers of tobacco and limiting its use, sale, distribution and advertisement worldwide. The framework has become the world’s foremost treaty on tobacco control and has been ratified by almost 180 countries, more than 75% of which strengthened existing legislation or adopted new tobacco control policies. Since leaving the World Health Organization in 2004, Dr. Yach has continued to advocate for the improvement of the FCTC. He championed the ban of tobacco advertising, promotion and sponsorship in a Huffington Post blog for World No-Tobacco Day, and reflected on the current status and future impact of the FCTC in a 2014 Lancet article.

Commitment to Smoking Harm Reduction

Since the FCTC’s development, a range of new reduced-risk alternatives to smoking have been introduced to consumers that separate the nicotine from the tar. Dr. Yach believes these products can promote smoking cessation and reduce the risks of smoking. He has written about this topic extensively, authoring articles appearing in the Financial TimesThe Spectator, LinkedInNational Post and the Huffington Post.

Promoting Health and Preventing Disease

Dr. Yach is a passionate advocate for non-communicable disease prevention and health promotion and is a champion of increased incentives to help people exercise, eat nutritious meals and maintain a healthy weight. He recognizes that creating a smoke-free world will do much to prevent disease, add years to the lives of the global population, improve quality of life and increase economic production. In an article written for the journal Global Heart, he explains the need to create shared value between the public and private sectors, forming an ecosystem that incentivizes innovation in disease prevention – not just disease treatment. He further explained his thinking on health promotion and disease prevention during a presentation at TEDxMonteCarlo.

 

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux