感想 | 无烟世界基金会

感想

在那个时代,我们习惯了电视上播出的每日死亡人数;工作,学校和娱乐转移到虚拟空间;口罩既是救生配件,又是引起争议的话题。然而,这个时代也带来了对优先事项的必要重新评估。在世界迎接2021年的到来之际,人们对生命的神圣性有了新发现。否则,“祝您新年快乐,身体健康”的陈腐愿望具有深远的诚意。

点击阅读更多

2019 年一开始很幸运,我们感觉吸烟的时代就要结束了。然而,这种乐观的气氛是短暂的。2019 年不仅没有取得进展,还遭受了一系列挫折、分裂,失去改善全球健康的机会。尽管如此,我仍然希望 2020 年会有所不同。

点击阅读更多内容

吸烟是四种主要的非传染性疾病(NCD)的主要行为风险因素——即心血管疾病(CVD)、癌症、糖尿病和慢性呼吸道疾病。世界 11 亿烟民中约有 80% 生活在中低收入国家(LMIC);据估计,在发展中国家,非传染性疾病导致的死亡人数在三分之二以上。NCD(非传染性疾病)发病率和死亡率的这种社会经济梯度一部分要归因于吸烟。尽管存在这些令人不快的数字,但 LMIC(中等收入国家)对戒烟干预措施的研究仍然有限。在最近出版的 Social Injustice and Public Health(社会不公正与公共卫生)一书中,我们讨论了这些问题以及吸烟、NCD 和社会不公正之间的联系。

点击阅读更多内容

世界范围内,燃烧香烟的销量正在下降。与此同时,各种减少烟草危害产品具有很高的‬增长率。这些趋势表明,一些消费者正在使用新产品取代传统香烟——Jacob Grier 将该现象称为对卷烟行业的“创造性破坏”。

点击阅读更多内容

在索拉布尔考察期间,我首先被房间里女性纱丽的优雅打动,接着吸引我的是 iPad。机器配备先进的面部识别软件,其复杂性与屋内其余景象形成了鲜明对比,有成堆的天度烟叶、加工过的烟草、织线和危险锋利的薄纱。

点击阅读更多内容

在过去的 15 年中,企业领导者、投资者和非政府组织 (NGO) 证明,通过使用创新的业务模型,利润可以与社会和环境进步保持一致。这些策略与 20 世纪 90 年代的“创可贴”企业社会责任 (CSR) 方法不同,涉及对商业行为的根本改变,包括核心产品和服务的改变。

点击阅读更多内容

我在 2019 年 7 月 4 日 参加了 25 周年基加利解放纪念日,纪念种族灭绝的结束。今时已完全不同“往日”。自 1994 年以来,卢旺达实现了许多可持续发展目标,取得了重大进展。

点击阅读更多内容

Derek Yach 博士
无烟世界基金会主席

自 1989 年以来,人们在 5 月 31 日庆祝世界无烟日 (WNTD)。WNTD 提醒着人们为提高对吸烟危害的认识在世界各地所作的不懈努力,尤其是鼓励和支持吸烟者戒烟或改用其他产品。那么,在第一个 WNTD 过后的 30 年,我们现在的局势境况如何?

点击阅读更多内容

二十世纪八十年代后期,世界卫生组织(WHO)已开始加大力度进行全球烟草控制。1987 年,世界卫生组织会员国设立了世界无烟日,世界卫生大会(WHA)通过了 WHA40.38 号决议,要求将1988 年 4 月 7 日定为“世界禁烟日”。

点击阅读更多内容

在2018 年 11 月 举行的 Morven Dialogue 的参加者确定了 10 项核心原则,旨在指导正在进行的和未来的讨论,以制定和实施减少危害的有效政策和目标。我们简要阐述了无烟世界基金会(以下简称“基金会”)对于本月重新发布的报告中的每个核心原则的立场。

点击阅读更多内容

《美国预防医学杂志》上发表了 Murray DM 等人的最新研究,旨在按领域和研究阶段分析国家卫生研究院对人类一级和二级预防研究的支持水平。该研究于 2012 年至 2017 年之间进行,涵盖了与疾病预防办公室 (ODP) 合作美国国家卫生研究院 (NIH) 所有 27 个研究所和中心。

点击阅读更多内容

在 2018 年结束之际,让我们来评估一下我们是否在终结吸烟方面取得了真正的进展。来自世界卫生组织的数据 (WHO) 显示,当今世界上仍然有超过 10 亿吸烟者,而与吸烟相关的癌症、心脏病和肺部疾病过早地夺走了 700 多万人的生命。

点击阅读更多内容

我谨代表无烟世界基金会,赞扬伦敦利益相关者活动的所有参与者,他们进行了信息丰富而令人振奋的对话。这次活动为即将到来的进展和创新提供了一个全面的框架,它将推动我们迈向一个无烟的世界。在全力实现目标的过程中,我们将认真考虑所有评论和建议。

点击阅读更多内容

今日引述了我的言论,关于 近期为遏制美国青少年中的雾化产品增长所采取的行动。

点击阅读更多内容

全球有超过十亿吸烟者。除非我们采取更果断的行动,现状将继续维持,十亿烟草使用者将在本世纪丧生。减害产品 (HRP) 可以成为许多吸烟者的戒烟工具,与香烟相比,它们可以减少健康风险。但是,吸烟者对 HRP 相比可燃型烟草的相关风险的认识并不准确。

点击阅读更多内容

WordPress 应用 - TurnKey Linux支持

Powered by

Reflections | Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Reflections

2019 began auspiciously, with a sense that the end of smoking might finally be on the horizon. This ambience of optimism, however, was short-lived. Instead of progress, 2019 brought a series of setbacks, schisms, and squandered opportunities to improve global health. Still, I remain hopeful that 2020 can be different.

Click to read more

Smoking is a major behavioral risk factor common to all four major noncommunicable diseases (NCDs)—namely, cardiovascular disease (CVD), cancer, diabetes, and chronic respiratory diseases. Approximately 80% of the world’s 1.1 billion smokers live in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs); and NCDs are estimated to cause more than two-thirds of all deaths in developing countries. This socioeconomic gradient in morbidity and mortality for NCDs is attributed, in part, to smoking. Despite these jarring figures, research on smoking cessation interventions remains limited in LMICs. We discussed these issues and the link between smoking, NCDs, and social injustice in a recently-published book, Social Injustice and Public Health.

Click to read more

Around the world, sales volumes of combustible cigarettes are dropping. Meanwhile, growth rates are substantial across a range of tobacco harm reduction products. These trends suggest that some consumers are swapping out conventional cigarettes for newer products—a phenomenon that Jacob Grier refers to as the “creative destruction” of the cigarette industry.

Click to read more

Surveying the room in Solapur, I’m struck first by the elegance of the women’s saris, and second, by the iPad. Equipped with advanced facial recognition software, the machine’s sophistication stands in stark contrast to the rest of the scene, which otherwise comprises piles of tendu leaves, processed tobacco, thread, and perilously sharp sheers.

Click to read more

Over the past 15 years, corporate leaders, investors, and nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) have demonstrated that, with the use of innovative business models, profit can be aligned with social and environmental progress. A departure from the “band-aid” corporate social responsibility (CSR) approaches of the 1990s, these strategies involve fundamental changes to business practices, including alterations to core products and services.

Click to read more

I attended the 25th Anniversary of Liberation Day in Kigali on July 4, 2019, commemorating the end of the genocide. The contrast between “then” and today was extraordinary. Rwanda has made progress since 1994 toward attaining many Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Click to read more

By Dr. Derek Yach,
President of the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Each year since 1989, World No Tobacco Day (WNTD) is observed on May 31. WNTD serves as a reminder of the tireless efforts to raise awareness about the dangers of smoking around the world, and specifically to encourage and support smokers to quit or switch. So, 30 years after the first WNTD, where do we stand?

Click to read more

By the late 1980s, the World Health Organization (WHO) had started to ramp up efforts to address global tobacco control. World No Tobacco Day was created by the Member States of the WHO in 1987, whereby the World Health Assembly (WHA) passed Resolution WHA40.38 that called for April 7, 1988, to be a “a world no-smoking day.”

Click to read more

Participants of the Morven Dialogue that was held in November 2018 identified 10 Core Principles that aim to guide ongoing and future discussions for the development and implementation of effective policies and objectives on harm reduction. We outline the position of the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World (herein referred to as “The Foundation”) on each Core Principle of the report that was re-released this month.

Click to read more

A recent study by Murray DM et al., published in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine, aimed to provide an analysis of the level of NIH support for primary and secondary prevention research in humans by field and stage of research. The study was conducted between 2012 and 2017 and included all 27 Institutes and Centers at the NIH that collaborate with the Office of Disease Prevention (ODP). 

Click to read more

As 2018 ends, let’s take stock of whether we are making real progress in ending smoking. Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) show that there are still more than 1 billion smokers in the world today, and more than 7 million lives are prematurely claimed by smoking-related cancer, heart disease, and lung disease.

Click to read more

On behalf of the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World, I would like to commend all participants in the London Stakeholder event for the informative and invigorating conversations. The event provided a comprehensive framework for forthcoming progress and innovation that will drive us toward a smoke-free world. All comments and suggestions will be carefully considered while we make strides toward achieving our purpose.

Click to read more

I have been quoted by the today, about the ‘s recent actions to curb the rise of vaping among American youth.

Click to read more

There are over a billion smokers worldwide. Unless we act more decisively, a billion tobacco users will die in this century if the status quo is maintained. Harm reduction products (HRPs) can be smoking cessation tools for many smokers and reduce their health risks compared to cigarettes. However, smokers have skewed perceptions of HRP-associated risks relative to combustible tobacco. 

Click to read more

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux