中点战略计划更新-建立无烟世界的基础

2019-2021年战略计划:中点更新

(截至2020 年 7 月 )基金会在其运营的第一个整年2018年底战略计划2019-2021 在达到这一战略时期的中点之后,基金会现在对其进行以下评估:(1)通过战略支柱取得的进展;(2)任务协调;(3)与其活动如何共同实现其任务有关的凝聚力。在过去的18个月中,基金会在实现其目标方面取得了实质性进展,并且有望在未来18个月中取得更大的影响。《 2019-2021年战略计划》围绕三个支柱进行组织:健康,科学和技术(HST),农业和生计(AGL)以及产业转型(IT)。

目的

基金会的“宗旨”包括基金会成立证书第三条和第IX条第3款的全部内容。基金会的章程 A。基金会成立证书的第三条规定了将资产或收入用于七类活动(无烟目的(i)至(vii))。基金会正在展示七项无烟目标中的六项取得的进展。具体来说,HST工作致力于实现无烟目的(i),(ii),(iii)和(vii)。AGL工作致力于实现无烟目的(v)。IT工作致力于实现无烟目的(iv)。无烟目的(vi)将在未来的战略计划中解决。

无烟目的

     i。)向学术,健康相关,研究和科学中心和机构以及其他合作中心和机构以及科学家和健康相关专家提供赠款和其他分发,以支持有关卷烟和其他可燃烟草替代品的研究和项目产品以及如何最好地实现无烟世界并推进减少烟草危害的领域;

     ii。)为全球研究计划提供资金,并发表有关公众对减少烟草危害的态度和观点等方面的报告;

     iii。)资助科学验证研究,以评估无烟和降低风险的产品对公共卫生成果的影响以及此类产品如何影响大众;

     iv。)对烟草业,其他商业实体和其他利益相关者的活动进行审查,评论并向公众通报,这些活动可能对建立无烟世界和推进烟草领域产生积极或消极的影响减少烟草危害;

     v。)研究烟叶需求减少对烟农和其他利益相关者的影响,并探索和促进为烟农,烟田和其他利益相关者提供可持续的农业和营养替代品;

     vi。)研究与无烟和降低风险的产品相关的废物和材料管理相关的可持续性问题和解决方案;

     vii。)举行全球性会议,论坛,专题讨论会和类似计划,重点关注与香烟和其他可燃烟草制品替代品有关的不断发展的科学,以及如何最好地实现无烟世界。

表1将基金会 ' 的赠款映射到无烟目的以及《战略计划目标》(定义如下)。某些赠款可解决多个无烟目的和战略计划目标。

表1:基金会赠款与宗旨和战略计划的对应关系

战略计划目标

基金会终止吸烟的变革理论涉及改变尼古丁生态系统,其中包括考虑尼古丁使用者,卷烟及相关产品制造商,烟农,投资者和卫生专业人士。

该基金会的工作以《世界卫生组织烟草控制框架公约》(WHO FCTC)为依据。我们认识到需要在需求和供应双方上采取协调一致的行动,我们超越了《烟草控制框架公约》,还力图使行业参与以减少烟草使用造成的危害。我们对 Morven对话是我们如何满足多方利益相关者参与需求的一个例子。

《 2019-2021年战略计划的背景》 提供了有关我们工作背景和战略框架决定因素的更多详细信息。基金会的作用是查明并填补空白在执行FCTC和整个生态系统转型的其他要素中的空白。这些差距与吸烟,烟草种植和工业有关。最近的文章 “加速结束吸烟:在FCTC的COP9大会前夕采取行动”(Yach,2020年)。

基金会按支柱列出的《 2019-2021年战略计划》目标如下:

健康、科学和技术

A. 正在进行中的多年研究计划,其成果已经发表,并被用于为政策和法规提供信息

     B.在优先国家建立研究中心,加强当地研究能力并吸引新人才

     C.投资工具投入运营,并为创新戒烟工具,改善戒烟和降低风险产品的使用投入资金

     D.政策制定者,研究人员和其他利益相关者使用的国家级烟草和尼古丁地图集的第一期

农业与生计 

     A.基于试点和新的投资机制,随时可以扩展的可行模型

     B.由活跃的研究人员创建的农业转型中心

     C.授予赠款,新的烟草专业科学家和地方科学家也加入其中

     D.进行了一些政策改革,起草了立法

     E.首先改善营养成果,改善国家粮食安全指标

产业转型

     A.《 烟草转型指数™ ,接受调查的全球15至25家顶级公司

     B.与机构投资者的交往,交往策略和监督衡量目标的初稿

     C.与投资者/政策制定者和行业对索引输出的审查

     D.首先通过正确的平台与烟草业建立结构化的投资者互动关系

     E.基于索引数据的初步反市场营销活动正在进行中

进度和任务/目的一致

该基金会已向许多引领创新的戒烟和减少危害项目的世界知名研究人员提供了赠款。相关补助金预计将在2024年之前支付。许多研究合作伙伴还发表了研究报告,并发表了同行评审文章。与健康,科学和技术(HST)支柱相关的补助金摘要可在此处访问- HST补助金 。上面的表1显示了这些赠款与基金会宗旨(特别是与每个无烟宗旨)和《 2019-2021年战略计划》目标直接相关的方式。

此外,可以在此处访问基金会赞助的出版物列表– HST报告和出版物 。这些输出包括:可公开获得的报告;出版物或即将出版的出版物,或尚未分发的演示文稿;以及未来12个月中合作伙伴预期的可交付成果的总和。请注意,出版物已经出现在领先的学术期刊上,包括英国医学杂志柳叶刀美国公共卫生杂志以及主要教科书(例如卫生领域的社会正义 )。

基金会的受赠人和研究合作伙伴包括被引用率很高的受赠人,例如Jed Rose,Rose Research Center;卡塔尼亚大学Riccardo Polosa;和加利福尼亚大学的史蒂文·肖托(Steven Shoptaw)。名单包括来自私营部门的新兴研究人员,例如Adam Hill和Karen Nelson,以及诸如Cambridge Design Partnership,EY-Parthenon,Etheim Biotics,BOTEC和Signals Analytics等组织。所有这些合作伙伴都拥有传统烟草控制计划所没有的深厚专业知识。基金会正在积极地从狭窄的烟草控制范围之外吸引最前沿的科学家,为该领域带来新的活力和创造力。通过招募新的研究人员,该基金会旨在解决与THR相关的新问题,特别是使用创新技术来促进戒烟和减少伤害。最后,基金会正在发展中国家建立新的研究能力。

基金会很早就认识到低收入和中等收入国家(LMIC)的研究能力差距,并在其战略计划和HST工作流中纳入了能力增强。最近记录了的差距。

连接图–电子烟研究人员

资料来源:PubMed使用相关搜索词搜索文章

注意:使用Visone社交网络数据可视化方法对作者数据进行分析,以通过联系确定“最佳作者”;结果包括发表了3种或以上出版物的作者(N = 859);搜索词–电子烟,包括2007年至2017年的所有出版物

为了弥补研究空白,该基金会已发放了用于中低收入国家努力的赠款。这些努力包括:

  1. 学者/奖学金计划的培训–知识行动的改变
  2. 培训和管理计划– ECLAT srl
  3. 针对记者使用社交媒体的培训– VIDA新闻
  4. 加强和组织成员团体– INNCO
  5. 加强中低收入国家的研究能力和系统– COHRED USA

除了这些赠款外,基金会及其合作伙伴还撰写了多份报告,论文播客 ,和博客来突出需求和潜在解决方案。

农业和生计战略解决了无烟目的(v),可以在此处访问赠款摘要– AGL赠款 。马拉维利隆圭的农业转型中心(CAT)于2019年宣布,是一项科学,技术和商业孵化项目。CAT旨在从战略上商业化和传播创新,以支持小农马拉维农民在经济上可行的,由数据驱动的决策中,实现收入多样化。领奖者包括Land O'Lakes / Venture37,斯泰伦博斯大学,马拉维科技大学和利隆圭农业自然资源大学(LUANAR)。马拉维的农业转型政策议程(MwAPATA)在马拉维建立了独立的政策研究所,为政府决策者提供研究支持。该计划的主要受助人是密歇根州立大学。相关报告和论文包括:马拉维国家概况烟草生产和贸易的全球趋势以及烟草的过去,现在和未来马拉维的土地利用:背景评论(将在2020 年 7 月 )。

行业转型战略致力于实现无烟目标(iv)。第一个烟草转化指数™ 计划发布2020 年 9 月 。该工具借鉴了广泛的利益相关者对话 ,该对话于2019年完成,包括8个会议,7个国家和150多个参与者。索引设计审查对利益相关者,专家审查者和公司开放。自愿行业咨询反馈和响应周期已经在多方之间进行。如烟草转型指数管理与治理 ,主要受赠方包括SustainAbility和Euromonitor International。基金会通过其尼古丁全球趋势报告为该指数奠定了基础。

基金会董事会对基金会的宗旨(以及每个无烟宗旨)和战略计划目标有清晰的了解。董事会敬业度很高,可以从管理层那里获得详细信息,批准拨款,熟悉受赠人的活动和直接的慈善活动,并仔细监督基金会的运作(包括财务运作和支出)。

凝聚力–实现目的/使命

基金会在其2019-2021年战略计划的中期,正在通过赠款和研究报告来支持其宗旨,从而取得实质性进展。此外,基金会正在与全球创新型研究人员建立联系。结果,基金会的初始战略计划达到了中点目标,下半年及以后还会有更多的目标。在第一个《战略计划》时期即将结束之际,基金会正在2021 年 11 月调整资源以应对COP9。该基金会的计划是扩大研究范围,推进辩论并开展有关减少烟草危害的教育。Yach,2020年包括一个模型,该模型显示了如果部署THR和更好的戒烟计划,将来可以挽救多少生命。

基金会的工作解决了基金会战略计划中确定的关键变革杠杆:吸烟者需要“正确了解戒烟或改用低风险尼古丁替代品的健康益处”。这种变革力量与无烟目的(ii),(iv)和(vii)一致。它还符合《食品安全和卫生法》 2019-21年战略计划的上下文中的差距5,“提高公众对吸烟危害驱动因素和替代方法的认识。”在过去的18个月中,基金会在这一领域的活动和赠款已经扩大到:工作人员参加外部活动;加强消费者网络;传播基于证据的出版物,视频,播客和博客;并加强当地的能力。

图2。预计到2060年,采用HRP可以大大减少烟草死亡

为了筹备第九届缔约方会议,基金会制定了一项战略,要求国家代表和国家利益相关者分享和利用有关减少烟草危害的研究证据。已经发放了赠款,以协调世卫组织确定的区域(SEARO,EMRO,拉丁美洲和欧洲,其中一个正在开发中的亚太地区)的工作。国际尼古丁消费者组织网络(INNCO)现在已获得该基金会的资助,专门针对将于COP9举行的欧洲。在围绕《欧洲烟草制品指令》进行的辩论中,INNCO和知识行动变革也发挥着重要作用。

在《 2019-2021年战略计划》中期的基础上,基金会可以在整个时期的剩余时间内,将无烟目标和战略计划目标推进下一个计划。该结论基于基金会已完成的,当前的和计划的工作。

WordPress 应用 - TurnKey Linux支持

Powered by

Midpoint Strategic Plan Update - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Strategic Plan 2019 - 2021: Midpoint Update

The Foundation launched its Strategic Plan 2019-2021 at the end of 2018, its first full year of operation. Having reached the midpoint of this strategic period, the Foundation now assesses its: (1) progress by strategic pillar, (2) mission alignment, and (3) cohesiveness related to how its activities work together toward achieving its mission. Over the past 18 months, the Foundation has made substantial progress toward its goals, and it is on track to achieve even greater impact over the next 18 months. The Strategic Plan 2019-2021 is organized around three pillars: Health, Science, and Technology (HST), Agriculture and Livelihoods (AGL), and Industry Transformation (IT).

PURPOSE

The Foundation’s “Purpose” includes the entirety of Article Third of the Foundation’s Certificate of Incorporation and Article IX, Par. A of the Foundation’s Bylaws. Article Third of the Foundation’s Certificate of Incorporation specifies use of assets or income toward seven sets of activities (smoke-free purposes (i) to (vii)). The Foundation is demonstrating progress in six of the seven smoke-free purposes. Specifically, the HST work addresses smoke-free purposes (i), (ii), (iii), and (vii). The AGL work addresses smoke-free purpose (v). The IT work addresses smoke-free purpose (iv). Smoke-free purpose (vi) will be addressed in a future strategic plan.

Smoke-free Purposes

      i.) make grants and other distributions to academic, health-related, research and science centers and institutions and other collaborating centers and institutions, and to scientists and health-related experts, to support research and projects regarding alternatives to cigarettes and other combustible tobacco products and how to best achieve a smoke-free world and advance the field of tobacco harm reduction;

      ii.) fund global research initiatives and publish reports regarding, among other things, the attitudes and opinions of the general public towards tobacco harm reduction;

      iii.) fund scientific verification studies to assess the impact of smoke-free and reduced risk products on public health outcomes and how such products affect the general population;

      iv.) scrutinize, comment on, and inform the general public regarding the activities of the tobacco industry, other commercial entities and other stakeholders which may have an impact, either positive or negative, on achieving a smoke-free world and advancing the field of tobacco harm reduction;

      v.) research the effect of the reduced demand for leaf tobacco on farmers and other stakeholders and explore and promote sustainable agricultural and nutritional alternatives for tobacco farmers, tobacco land and other stakeholders;

      vi.) research sustainability issues and solutions related to management of smoke-free and reduced risk products-related waste and materials;

     vii.) conduct global conferences, forums, panels and similar programs to focus on the evolving science regarding alternatives to cigarettes and other combustible tobacco products and how to best realize a smoke-free world.

Table 1 maps the Foundations grants to the smoke-free purposes, as well as to the Strategic Plan Objectives (defined below). Certain grants address multiple smoke-free purposes and strategic plan objectives.

Table 1 Mapping of Foundation Grants to Purposes and Strategic Plan

Strategic Plan Objectives

The Foundation’s theory of change for ending smoking involves transforming the nicotine ecosystem, which includes taking account of nicotine users, cigarette and related product manufacturers, tobacco farmers, investors, and the health professional community.

The Foundation’s work is informed by the World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC). We recognize that coordinated action on both demand and supply sides needs to happen, and we go beyond the FCTC by also seeking to engage industry to accelerate the reduction of harm caused by tobacco use. Our support for the Morven Dialogues is one example of how we have approached the need for multi-stakeholder engagement.

The Context for Strategic Plan 2019-2021 provides greater detail regarding the context of our work and the determinants of our strategic framework. The Foundation’s role is to identify and fill gaps in the implementation of the FCTC and other elements of ecosystem-wide transformation. These gaps relate to smoking, tobacco farming, and industry. The gaps are succinctly outlined in a recent article, “Accelerating an end to smoking: a call to action on the eve of the FCTC’s COP9” (Yach, 2020).

The Foundation’s Strategic Plan 2019-2021 objectives by pillar are listed as follows:

Health, Science, and Technology

      A. Multi-year research programs underway, with output published and being used to inform policy and regulations

      B. Research centers established in priority countries, strengthening local research capability and attracting new talent

      C. Investment vehicles operational, and funds deployed for innovating cessation tools, and improving access to cessation and reduced-risk products

      D. First issues of country-level tobacco & nicotine atlases, used by policymakers, researchers, and other stakeholders

Agriculture and Livelihoods 

      A. Viable models ready to be scaled, based on pilots and new investment mechanisms

      B. Center for Agricultural Transformation created with active researchers

      C. Grants awarded, with new tobacco-specialized and local scientists joining

      D. Some policy reforms in action, with legislation drafted

      E. First improved nutritional outcomes, improving national food security indicators

Industry Transformation

      A. First issues of the Tobacco Transformation Index ™ live, with top 15-25 global companies surveyed

      B. Engagements with Institutional Investors, first drafts of engagement strategies and oversight measurement objectives

      C. Reviews of indexing outputs with investors/policymakers and industry

      D. First structured investors’ engagements with tobacco industry, communicating through right platforms

      E. Initial counter-marketing campaigns underway, based on Index data

Progress and Mission/Purpose Alignment

The Foundation has awarded grants to a number of world-renowned researchers who are spearheading innovative smoking cessation and harm reduction projects. The related grant payments are anticipated to be made through 2024. Many research partners also have published research reports and contributed to peer-reviewed articles. A summary of the grants related to the Health, Science, and Technology (HST) pillar can be accessed here – HST Grants. Table 1 above demonstrates the manner in which these grants relate directly to Foundation Purpose (in particular, to each smoke-free purpose) and to the Strategic Plan 2019-2021 Objectives.

In addition, a list of Foundation-sponsored publications can be accessed here – HST Reports and Publications.  These outputs include: reports that are publicly available; publications that are in press or nearly final, or presentations that have not been disseminated; and a summation of deliverables expected from partners in the next 12 months. Note that publications have appeared in leading academic journals, including British Medical Journal, Lancet, and American Journal of Public Health, as well as in leading textbooks (e.g., Social Justice in Health).

The Foundation’s grantees and research partners include highly cited grantees, such as Jed Rose, Rose Research Center; Riccardo Polosa, University of Catania; and Steven Shoptaw, University of California. The list includes emerging researchers from the private sector, such as Adam Hill and Karen Nelson, as well as organizations such as Cambridge Design Partnership, EY-Parthenon, Etheim Biotics, BOTEC, and Signals Analytics. All these partners have deep expertise not available in traditional tobacco control programs. The Foundation is actively drawing upon cutting-edge scientists from outside of the narrow confines of tobacco control to bring new energy and creativity to this area. By recruiting new researchers, the Foundation aims to tackle novel issues related to THR, particularly the use of innovative technologies to catalyze cessation and harm reduction. Finally, the Foundation is building new research capacity in developing countries.

Early on, the Foundation recognized the research capacity gaps in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs), and it included capacity strengthening in its Strategic Plan and HST workstream. The size of the gap was recently documented.

Connection map – electronic cigarette researchers

SOURCE: PubMed Search of articles using related search terms

NOTE: Author data is analyzed using Visone social networking data visualization methodology to identify ‘top authors’ by connections; results include authors with 3 or more publications (N = 859); Search term – electronic cigarette, includes all publications from 2007 to 2017

To address research gaps, the Foundation has issued grants devoted to efforts in LMICs. These efforts include:

  1. Trainings of scholars/scholarship programs – Knowledge Action Change
  2. Trainings and management program – ECLAT srl
  3. Trainings for journalists on use of social media – VIDA News
  4. Strengthening and organization of member groups – INNCO
  5. Strengthening research capacity and systems in LMICs – COHRED USA

In addition to these grants, the Foundation and its partners have written multiple reports, paperspodcasts, and blogs to highlight needs and potential solutions.

The Agriculture and Livelihoods strategy addresses smoke-free purpose (v) and the summary of grants can be accessed here – AGL Grants. The Centre for Agricultural Transformation (CAT) in Lilongwe, Malawi, announced in 2019, is a science, technology, and business incubation project. The CAT aims to strategically commercialize and disseminate innovations that support smallholder Malawian farmers in making economically viable, data-driven decisions for diversifying incomes. Lead grantees include Land O’Lakes / Venture37, Stellenbosch University, the Malawi University of Science and Technology, and Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR). Malawi’s Policy Agenda for the Transformation of Agriculture (MwAPATA) established an independent policy institute in Malawi that offers research support to government policymakers. The lead grantee for this initiative is Michigan State University. Related reports and papers include: Malawi Country Overview, Global Trends in Tobacco Production and Trade, and The Past, Present and Future of Land Use in Malawi: A Background Review (to be published in July 2020).

The Industry Transformation strategy addresses smoke-free purpose (iv). The first Tobacco Transformation Index ™ is scheduled to launch September 2020. This tool draws upon extensive stakeholder dialogues which were completed in 2019 and included 8 sessions, 7 countries, and over 150 participants. Index design review is open to stakeholders, expert reviewers, and companies. Voluntary industry consultation feedback and response cycles have occurred with multiple parties. Lead grantees, as documented by Tobacco Transformation Index Management & Governance, include SustainAbility and Euromonitor International. The Foundation laid the groundwork for the Index through its Global Trends in Nicotine reports.

The Foundation Board of Directors has a clear understanding of the Foundation’s Purpose (and each of the smoke-free purposes) and the Strategic Plan Objectives.  The Board has a deep level of engagement, receives detailed information from management, approves grants, is familiar with grantee activity and direct charitable activities, and carefully oversees the Foundation’s operations (including financial operations and expenditures).

Cohesiveness – Achieving the Purpose/Mission

The Foundation, at the midpoint of its Strategic Plan 2019-2021, is achieving material progress via grants and research reports in support of its Purpose. Further, the Foundation is developing relationships with innovative researchers across the globe. As a result, the Foundation’s initial Strategic Plan is on target at its midpoint, with more to come in the second half and beyond. Approaching the back end of the first Strategic Plan period, the Foundation is aligning resources to address COP9 in November 2021. The Foundation’s plan is to amplify research, advance debate, and educate about Tobacco Harm Reduction. Yach, 2020 includes a model showing how many lives could be saved in the future if THR and better cessation programs were to be deployed.

The Foundation’s work addresses a key lever of change identified in the Foundation’s Strategic Plan: smokers need a “correct understanding of the health benefits of quitting or switching to reduced-risk nicotine alternatives.” This force for change is consistent with smoke-free purposes (ii), (iv), and (vii). It also aligns with Gap 5 in the Context for FSFW 2019-21 Strategic Plan, “improving public awareness of the drivers of smoking harm and of the availability of alternatives.” Over the past 18 months, the Foundation’s activities and grantmaking in this area have expanded to include: staff participation in external events; strengthening consumer networks; disseminating evidence-based publications, videos, podcasts, and blogs; and strengthening local capacity for the same.

Figure 2. Adoption of HRPs projected to drastically reduce tobacco deaths by 2060

To prepare for COP9, the Foundation has developed a strategy to apprise country delegates and national stakeholders to share and utilize research evidence on Tobacco Harm Reduction.  Grants have been issued to coordinate work in WHO defined regions (SEARO, EMRO, Latin America, and Europe, with one for Asia Pacific under development). The International Network for Nicotine Consumer Organizations (INNCO) now has funding from the Foundation to focus specifically on Europe, where COP9 will be held. INNCO and Knowledge Action Change also are playing an important role in debates around the European Tobacco Products Directive.

At the midpoint of the Strategic Plan 2019-2021 period, the Foundation is in position to advance the smoke-free purposes and strategic plan objectives through the remainder of the period and into the next plan. This conclusion is based on the Foundation’s completed, current, and planned work.  

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux