تحديث الخطة الإستراتيجية للنقطة الوسطى - مؤسسة لعالم خالٍ من التدخين

الخطة الإستراتيجية 2019 - 2021: تحديث نقطة المنتصف

أطلقت المؤسسة خطتها الإستراتيجية 2019-2021 في نهاية عام 2018 ، أول عام كامل لها من التشغيل. بعد أن وصلت إلى منتصف هذه الفترة الاستراتيجية ، تقوم المؤسسة الآن بتقييم: (1) التقدم حسب الركيزة الاستراتيجية ، (2) مواءمة المهمة ، (3) التماسك المرتبط بكيفية عمل أنشطتها معًا نحو تحقيق رسالتها. على مدار الثمانية عشر شهرًا الماضية ، أحرزت المؤسسة تقدمًا كبيرًا نحو أهدافها ، وهي في طريقها لتحقيق تأثير أكبر خلال الأشهر الـ 18 المقبلة. يتم تنظيم الخطة الإستراتيجية 2019-2021 حول ثلاث ركائز: الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا (HST) والزراعة وسبل العيش (AGL) وتحول الصناعة (IT).

الغرض

يشمل "الغرض" للمؤسسة كامل المادة الثالثة من شهادة التأسيس والمادة التاسعة ، الفقرة. أ من لوائح المؤسسة . تحدد المادة الثالثة من شهادة التأسيس الخاصة بالمؤسسة استخدام الأصول أو الدخل نحو سبع مجموعات من الأنشطة (أغراض خالية من التدخين من (1) إلى (7)). تُظهر المؤسسة تقدماً في ستة من أغراض منع التدخين السبعة. على وجه التحديد ، يتناول عمل HST الأغراض الخالية من التدخين (1) و (2) و (3) و (7). يعالج عمل AGL الغرض الخالي من التدخين (v). يعالج عمل تكنولوجيا المعلومات الغرض من عدم التدخين (4). الغرض من عدم التدخين (6) سيتم تناوله في خطة إستراتيجية مستقبلية.

أغراض خالية من الدخان

      ط) تقديم المنح والتوزيعات الأخرى إلى المراكز والمؤسسات الأكاديمية والصحية والبحثية والعلمية وغيرها من المراكز والمؤسسات المتعاونة ، والعلماء والخبراء ذوي الصلة بالصحة ، لدعم البحوث والمشاريع المتعلقة ببدائل السجائر والتبغ القابل للاحتراق الأخرى المنتجات وأفضل السبل لتحقيق عالم خالٍ من التدخين والنهوض بمجال الحد من أضرار التبغ ؛

      2) تمويل مبادرات البحث العالمية ونشر تقارير تتعلق ، من بين أمور أخرى ، بمواقف وآراء عامة الناس تجاه الحد من أضرار التبغ ؛

      (3) تمويل دراسات التحقق العلمية لتقييم تأثير المنتجات الخالية من الدخان وتقليل المخاطر على نتائج الصحة العامة وكيف تؤثر هذه المنتجات على عامة السكان ؛

      (4) التدقيق والتعليق وإبلاغ الجمهور العام فيما يتعلق بأنشطة دوائر صناعة التبغ والكيانات التجارية الأخرى وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين التي قد يكون لها تأثير إيجابي أو سلبي على تحقيق عالم خالٍ من التدخين والنهوض بمجال الحد من أضرار التبغ ؛

      5) البحث في تأثير انخفاض الطلب على أوراق التبغ على المزارعين وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين واستكشاف البدائل الزراعية والتغذوية المستدامة وتعزيزها لمزارعي التبغ وأراضي التبغ وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين ؛

      6) البحث في قضايا الاستدامة والحلول المتعلقة بإدارة النفايات والمواد ذات الصلة بالمنتجات الخالية من الدخان والمخففة المخاطر ؛

     vii.) عقد مؤتمرات ومنتديات وحلقات نقاش عالمية وبرامج مماثلة للتركيز على العلوم المتطورة فيما يتعلق ببدائل السجائر ومنتجات التبغ الأخرى القابلة للاحتراق وكيفية تحقيق عالم خالٍ من التدخين على أفضل وجه.

يوضح الجدول 1 المؤسسة ' لمن لا يدخن بالإضافة إلى أهداف الخطة الإستراتيجية (المحددة أدناه). تتناول منح معينة العديد من الأغراض الخالية من التدخين وأهداف الخطة الإستراتيجية.

الجدول 1 رسم خرائط المنح التأسيسية للأغراض والخطة الإستراتيجية

أهداف الخطة الإستراتيجية

تتضمن نظرية التغيير الخاصة بالمؤسسة لإنهاء التدخين تحويل النظام البيئي للنيكوتين ، والذي يتضمن مراعاة مستخدمي النيكوتين ، والسجائر والشركات المصنعة للمنتجات ذات الصلة ، ومزارعي التبغ ، والمستثمرين ، والمجتمع المهني الصحي.

يسترشد عمل المؤسسة بالاتفاقية الإطارية لمنظمة الصحة العالمية بشأن مكافحة التبغ (WHO FCTC). نحن ندرك أن العمل المنسق على جانبي العرض والطلب يجب أن يحدث ، ونتجاوز الاتفاقية الإطارية لمكافحة التبغ من خلال السعي أيضًا إلى إشراك الصناعة لتسريع الحد من الضرر الناجم عن استخدام التبغ. يعد دعمنا لـ Morven Dialogues أحد الأمثلة على كيفية تعاملنا مع الحاجة إلى مشاركة أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين.

يوفر سياق الخطة الإستراتيجية 2019-2021 مزيدًا من التفاصيل فيما يتعلق بسياق عملنا ومحددات إطار العمل الاستراتيجي. يتمثل دور المؤسسة في تحديد وملء الفجوات في تنفيذ FCTC والعناصر الأخرى للتحول على مستوى النظام البيئي. تتعلق هذه الفجوات بالتدخين وزراعة التبغ والصناعة. تم توضيح الفجوات بإيجاز في مقالة حديثة ، "تسريع إنهاء التدخين: دعوة للعمل عشية COP9 الخاص بـ FCTC "(Yach ، 2020).

تم سرد أهداف الخطة الاستراتيجية للمؤسسة 2019-2021 حسب المحاور على النحو التالي:

قطاع الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا

أ. برامج البحث متعددة السنوات قيد التنفيذ ، مع نشر المخرجات واستخدامها لإعلام السياسة واللوائح

      إنشاء مراكز بحثية في البلدان ذات الأولوية ، وتعزيز القدرة البحثية المحلية واستقطاب المواهب الجديدة

      جيم- تشغيل آليات الاستثمار ، وتوزيع الأموال لابتكار أدوات للإقلاع عن التدخين ، وتحسين الوصول إلى منتجات الإقلاع عن التدخين والمنتجات منخفضة المخاطر

      دال- الإصدارات الأولى من أطالس التبغ والنيكوتين على المستوى القطري ، التي يستخدمها صانعو السياسات والباحثون وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرون

الزراعة وسبل العيش 

      أ. نماذج قابلة للتطبيق جاهزة للتوسع ، على أساس التجارب وآليات الاستثمار الجديدة

      ب. إنشاء مركز التحول الزراعي مع باحثين نشطين

      المنح الممنوحة ، مع انضمام علماء متخصصين جدد ومحليين في التبغ

      د- تنفيذ بعض إصلاحات السياسات مع صياغة التشريعات

      هاء- أولاً تحسين النتائج التغذوية وتحسين مؤشرات الأمن الغذائي الوطنية

تحوّل الصناعة

      أ. الإصدارات الأولى من Tobacco Transformation Index ™ مباشرة ، مع أكبر 15-25 شركة عالمية شملها الاستطلاع

      ب. التعامل مع المستثمرين المؤسسيين ، المسودات الأولى لاستراتيجيات المشاركة وأهداف قياس الرقابة

      ج. مراجعات لفهرسة المخرجات مع المستثمرين / صانعي السياسات والصناعة

      دال - أولاً ، ارتباطات المستثمرين المنظمة مع دوائر صناعة التبغ ، والتواصل من خلال المنصات الصحيحة

      هـ- الحملات الأولية المضادة للتسويق الجارية ، بناءً على بيانات المؤشر

التقدم والرسالة / الغرض المحاذاة

قدمت المؤسسة منحًا لعدد من الباحثين المشهورين عالميًا الذين يقودون مشاريع مبتكرة للإقلاع عن التدخين والحد من الضرر. من المتوقع أن يتم سداد مدفوعات المنحة ذات الصلة حتى عام 2024. نشر العديد من شركاء البحث أيضًا تقارير بحثية وساهموا في مقالات راجعها النظراء. يمكن الوصول إلى ملخص المنح المتعلقة بركيزة الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا (HST) هنا - HST Grants . يوضح الجدول 1 أعلاه الطريقة التي ترتبط بها هذه المنح مباشرة بالغرض الأساسي (على وجه الخصوص ، لكل غرض خالٍ من التدخين) وبأهداف الخطة الإستراتيجية 2019-2021.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن الوصول إلى قائمة المنشورات التي ترعاها المؤسسة هنا - تقارير ومنشورات HST . وتشمل هذه المخرجات: التقارير المتاحة للجمهور ؛ المنشورات التي هي قيد النشر أو شبه نهائية أو العروض التقديمية التي لم يتم نشرها ؛ وملخصًا للمخرجات المتوقعة من الشركاء خلال الاثني عشر شهرًا القادمة. لاحظ أن المنشورات ظهرت في المجلات الأكاديمية الرائدة ، بما في ذلك British Medical Journal و Lancet و American Journal of Public Health ، وكذلك في الكتب المدرسية الرائدة (على سبيل المثال ، العدالة الاجتماعية في الصحة ).

من بين الجهات المستفيدة من المنح وشركاء البحث من المؤسسة الحاصلين على منح ، مثل جيد روز ، مركز روز للأبحاث ؛ ريكاردو بولوسا ، جامعة كاتانيا ؛ وستيفن شوبتاو ، جامعة كاليفورنيا. تشمل القائمة باحثين ناشئين من القطاع الخاص ، مثل آدم هيل وكارين نيلسون ، بالإضافة إلى منظمات مثل Cambridge Design Partnership و EY-Parthenon و Etheim Biotics و BOTEC و Signals Analytics. يتمتع كل هؤلاء الشركاء بخبرة عميقة غير متوفرة في برامج مكافحة التبغ التقليدية. تعتمد المؤسسة بنشاط على العلماء المتميزين من خارج الحدود الضيقة لمكافحة التبغ لجلب طاقة جديدة وإبداع في هذا المجال. من خلال تجنيد باحثين جدد ، تهدف المؤسسة إلى معالجة القضايا الجديدة المتعلقة بـ THR ، لا سيما استخدام التقنيات المبتكرة لتحفيز الإقلاع عن التدخين وتقليل الضرر. أخيرًا ، تقوم المؤسسة ببناء قدرات بحثية جديدة في البلدان النامية.

في وقت مبكر ، أدركت المؤسسة الفجوات في القدرات البحثية في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل (LMICs) ، وأدرجت تعزيز القدرات في خطتها الاستراتيجية ومسار عمل HST. تم مؤخرًا توثيق حجم الفجوة .

خريطة الاتصال - باحثو السجائر الإلكترونية

المصدر: PubMed البحث عن المقالات باستخدام مصطلحات البحث ذات الصلة

ملحوظة: يتم تحليل بيانات المؤلف باستخدام منهجية Visone لتصور بيانات الشبكات الاجتماعية لتحديد "أفضل المؤلفين" من خلال الاتصالات ؛ تتضمن النتائج مؤلفين لديهم 3 منشورات أو أكثر (العدد = 859) ؛ مصطلح البحث - السجائر الإلكترونية ، يشمل جميع المنشورات من عام 2007 إلى عام 2017

لمعالجة الفجوات البحثية ، أصدرت المؤسسة منحًا مخصصة للجهود المبذولة في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل. تشمل هذه الجهود:

  1. تدريبات العلماء / برامج المنح الدراسية - تغيير العمل المعرفي
  2. برنامج التدريبات والإدارة - ECLAT srl
  3. تدريبات للصحفيين على استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي - أخبار VIDA
  4. تعزيز وتنظيم المجموعات الأعضاء - INNCO
  5. تعزيز القدرات والأنظمة البحثية في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل - COHRED USA

بالإضافة إلى هذه المنح ، كتبت المؤسسة وشركاؤها عدة تقارير وأبحاث ، بودكاست ، و المدونات لتسليط الضوء على الاحتياجات والحلول المحتملة.

تتناول إستراتيجية الزراعة وسبل العيش الغرض من منع التدخين (5) ويمكن الوصول إلى ملخص المنح هنا - AGL Grants . تم الإعلان عن مركز التحول الزراعي (CAT) في ليلونغوي ، ملاوي ، في عام 2019 ، وهو مشروع حاضنة للعلوم والتكنولوجيا والأعمال. تهدف لجنة مناهضة التعذيب إلى التسويق التجاري للابتكارات ونشرها بشكل استراتيجي والتي تدعم المزارعين الملاويين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة في اتخاذ قرارات مجدية اقتصاديًا وقائمة على البيانات لتنويع الدخل. تشمل الجهات المانحة الرئيسية Land O'Lakes / Venture37 ، وجامعة Stellenbosch ، وجامعة ملاوي للعلوم والتكنولوجيا ، وجامعة Lilongwe للزراعة والموارد الطبيعية (LUANAR). أنشأت أجندة سياسة ملاوي لتحويل الزراعة (MwAPATA) معهدًا مستقلاً للسياسات في ملاوي يقدم دعمًا بحثيًا لواضعي السياسات الحكومية. الجهة الرئيسية الممنوحة لهذه المبادرة هي جامعة ولاية ميتشيغان. التقارير والأوراق ذات الصلة تشمل: نظرة عامة على بلد ملاوي ، الاتجاهات العالمية في إنتاج وتجارة التبغ ، وماضي وحاضر ومستقبل استخدامات الأراضي في ملاوي: مراجعة خلفية (تُنشر في يوليو 2020 ).

تتناول استراتيجية تحول الصناعة الغرض من عدم التدخين (4). تمت جدولة أول Tobacco Transformation Index ™ ليتم إطلاقها سبتمبر 2020 . تعتمد هذه الأداة على حوارات أصحاب المصلحة المكثفة التي اكتملت في عام 2019 وتضمنت 8 جلسات و 7 بلدان وأكثر من 150 مشاركًا. مراجعة تصميم الفهرس مفتوحة لأصحاب المصلحة والمراجعين الخبراء والشركات. تمت استشارات الصناعة الطوعية ودورات الاستجابة والتعليقات مع عدة أطراف. يشمل المستفيدون الرئيسيون من المنح ، كما هو موثق بواسطة Tobacco Transformation Index Management & Governance ، شركة SustainAbility و Euromonitor International. أرست المؤسسة الأساس للفهرس من خلال تقاريرها الاتجاهات العالمية في النيكوتين .

لدى مجلس إدارة المؤسسة فهم واضح لهدف المؤسسة (وكل من الأغراض الخالية من التدخين) وأهداف الخطة الإستراتيجية. يتمتع مجلس الإدارة بمستوى عميق من المشاركة ، ويتلقى معلومات تفصيلية من الإدارة ، ويوافق على المنح ، ويطلع على نشاط الممنوح والأنشطة الخيرية المباشرة ، ويشرف بعناية على عمليات المؤسسة (بما في ذلك العمليات المالية والنفقات)

التماسك - تحقيق الهدف / الرسالة

تحقق المؤسسة ، في منتصف خطتها الإستراتيجية 2019-2021 ، تقدمًا ماديًا من خلال المنح والتقارير البحثية لدعم هدفها. علاوة على ذلك ، تقوم المؤسسة بتطوير علاقات مع باحثين مبتكرين في جميع أنحاء العالم. ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن الخطة الإستراتيجية الأولية للمؤسسة تسير على الهدف في منتصفها ، وسيأتي المزيد في النصف الثاني وما بعده. مع اقتراب النهاية الخلفية لفترة الخطة الإستراتيجية الأولى ، تعمل المؤسسة على مواءمة الموارد لمعالجة نوفمبر 2021 في نوفمبر 2021 . تتمثل خطة المؤسسة في تضخيم البحث ، ودفع النقاش ، والتثقيف حول الحد من أضرار التبغ. يشتمل Yach ، 2020 على نموذج يوضح عدد الأرواح التي يمكن إنقاذها في المستقبل إذا تم نشر برامج الإقلاع عن التدخين وتحسين الإقلاع عن التدخين.

يتناول عمل المؤسسة عامل تغيير رئيسي تم تحديده في الخطة الإستراتيجية للمؤسسة: يحتاج المدخنون إلى "فهم صحيح للفوائد الصحية للإقلاع عن التدخين أو التحول إلى بدائل النيكوتين منخفضة المخاطر." تتوافق قوة التغيير هذه مع الأغراض الخالية من الدخان (2) و (4) و (7). كما أنه يتماشى مع الفجوة 5 في سياق الخطة الإستراتيجية FSFW 2019-21 ، "تحسين الوعي العام بدوافع ضرر التدخين وتوافر البدائل." على مدار الثمانية عشر شهرًا الماضية ، توسعت أنشطة المؤسسة ومنحها في هذا المجال لتشمل: مشاركة الموظفين في الأحداث الخارجية ؛ تقوية شبكات المستهلكين ؛ نشر المنشورات القائمة على الأدلة ومقاطع الفيديو والمدونات الصوتية والمدونات ؛ وتعزيز القدرات المحلية لنفسه.

الشكل 2. من المتوقع أن يؤدي اعتماد خطط الاستجابة الإنسانية إلى الحد بشكل كبير من وفيات التبغ بحلول عام 2060

للتحضير لمؤتمر COP9 ، طورت المؤسسة استراتيجية لإطلاع المندوبين القطريين وأصحاب المصلحة الوطنيين على مشاركة واستخدام الأدلة البحثية حول الحد من أضرار التبغ. تم إصدار المنح لتنسيق العمل في المناطق المحددة من قبل منظمة الصحة العالمية (SEARO و EMRO وأمريكا اللاتينية وأوروبا ، مع واحدة لمنطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ قيد التطوير). الشبكة الدولية لمنظمات مستهلكي النيكوتين (INNCO) لديها الآن تمويل من المؤسسة للتركيز بشكل خاص على أوروبا ، حيث سيعقد COP9. تلعب INNCO و Knowledge Action Change أيضًا دورًا مهمًا في المناقشات حول التوجيه الأوروبي لمنتجات التبغ.

في منتصف فترة الخطة الاستراتيجية 2019-2021 ، تكون المؤسسة في وضع يمكنها من المضي قدمًا في أغراض منع التدخين وأهداف الخطة الاستراتيجية خلال الفترة المتبقية وفي الخطة التالية. يستند هذا الاستنتاج إلى عمل المؤسسة المكتمل والحالي والمخطط له.  

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Midpoint Strategic Plan Update - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Strategic Plan 2019 - 2021: Midpoint Update

The Foundation launched its Strategic Plan 2019-2021 at the end of 2018, its first full year of operation. Having reached the midpoint of this strategic period, the Foundation now assesses its: (1) progress by strategic pillar, (2) mission alignment, and (3) cohesiveness related to how its activities work together toward achieving its mission. Over the past 18 months, the Foundation has made substantial progress toward its goals, and it is on track to achieve even greater impact over the next 18 months. The Strategic Plan 2019-2021 is organized around three pillars: Health, Science, and Technology (HST), Agriculture and Livelihoods (AGL), and Industry Transformation (IT).

PURPOSE

The Foundation’s “Purpose” includes the entirety of Article Third of the Foundation’s Certificate of Incorporation and Article IX, Par. A of the Foundation’s Bylaws. Article Third of the Foundation’s Certificate of Incorporation specifies use of assets or income toward seven sets of activities (smoke-free purposes (i) to (vii)). The Foundation is demonstrating progress in six of the seven smoke-free purposes. Specifically, the HST work addresses smoke-free purposes (i), (ii), (iii), and (vii). The AGL work addresses smoke-free purpose (v). The IT work addresses smoke-free purpose (iv). Smoke-free purpose (vi) will be addressed in a future strategic plan.

Smoke-free Purposes

      i.) make grants and other distributions to academic, health-related, research and science centers and institutions and other collaborating centers and institutions, and to scientists and health-related experts, to support research and projects regarding alternatives to cigarettes and other combustible tobacco products and how to best achieve a smoke-free world and advance the field of tobacco harm reduction;

      ii.) fund global research initiatives and publish reports regarding, among other things, the attitudes and opinions of the general public towards tobacco harm reduction;

      iii.) fund scientific verification studies to assess the impact of smoke-free and reduced risk products on public health outcomes and how such products affect the general population;

      iv.) scrutinize, comment on, and inform the general public regarding the activities of the tobacco industry, other commercial entities and other stakeholders which may have an impact, either positive or negative, on achieving a smoke-free world and advancing the field of tobacco harm reduction;

      v.) research the effect of the reduced demand for leaf tobacco on farmers and other stakeholders and explore and promote sustainable agricultural and nutritional alternatives for tobacco farmers, tobacco land and other stakeholders;

      vi.) research sustainability issues and solutions related to management of smoke-free and reduced risk products-related waste and materials;

     vii.) conduct global conferences, forums, panels and similar programs to focus on the evolving science regarding alternatives to cigarettes and other combustible tobacco products and how to best realize a smoke-free world.

Table 1 maps the Foundations grants to the smoke-free purposes, as well as to the Strategic Plan Objectives (defined below). Certain grants address multiple smoke-free purposes and strategic plan objectives.

Table 1 Mapping of Foundation Grants to Purposes and Strategic Plan

Strategic Plan Objectives

The Foundation’s theory of change for ending smoking involves transforming the nicotine ecosystem, which includes taking account of nicotine users, cigarette and related product manufacturers, tobacco farmers, investors, and the health professional community.

The Foundation’s work is informed by the World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC). We recognize that coordinated action on both demand and supply sides needs to happen, and we go beyond the FCTC by also seeking to engage industry to accelerate the reduction of harm caused by tobacco use. Our support for the Morven Dialogues is one example of how we have approached the need for multi-stakeholder engagement.

The Context for Strategic Plan 2019-2021 provides greater detail regarding the context of our work and the determinants of our strategic framework. The Foundation’s role is to identify and fill gaps in the implementation of the FCTC and other elements of ecosystem-wide transformation. These gaps relate to smoking, tobacco farming, and industry. The gaps are succinctly outlined in a recent article, “Accelerating an end to smoking: a call to action on the eve of the FCTC’s COP9” (Yach, 2020).

The Foundation’s Strategic Plan 2019-2021 objectives by pillar are listed as follows:

Health, Science, and Technology

      A. Multi-year research programs underway, with output published and being used to inform policy and regulations

      B. Research centers established in priority countries, strengthening local research capability and attracting new talent

      C. Investment vehicles operational, and funds deployed for innovating cessation tools, and improving access to cessation and reduced-risk products

      D. First issues of country-level tobacco & nicotine atlases, used by policymakers, researchers, and other stakeholders

Agriculture and Livelihoods 

      A. Viable models ready to be scaled, based on pilots and new investment mechanisms

      B. Center for Agricultural Transformation created with active researchers

      C. Grants awarded, with new tobacco-specialized and local scientists joining

      D. Some policy reforms in action, with legislation drafted

      E. First improved nutritional outcomes, improving national food security indicators

Industry Transformation

      A. First issues of the Tobacco Transformation Index ™ live, with top 15-25 global companies surveyed

      B. Engagements with Institutional Investors, first drafts of engagement strategies and oversight measurement objectives

      C. Reviews of indexing outputs with investors/policymakers and industry

      D. First structured investors’ engagements with tobacco industry, communicating through right platforms

      E. Initial counter-marketing campaigns underway, based on Index data

Progress and Mission/Purpose Alignment

The Foundation has awarded grants to a number of world-renowned researchers who are spearheading innovative smoking cessation and harm reduction projects. The related grant payments are anticipated to be made through 2024. Many research partners also have published research reports and contributed to peer-reviewed articles. A summary of the grants related to the Health, Science, and Technology (HST) pillar can be accessed here – HST Grants. Table 1 above demonstrates the manner in which these grants relate directly to Foundation Purpose (in particular, to each smoke-free purpose) and to the Strategic Plan 2019-2021 Objectives.

In addition, a list of Foundation-sponsored publications can be accessed here – HST Reports and Publications.  These outputs include: reports that are publicly available; publications that are in press or nearly final, or presentations that have not been disseminated; and a summation of deliverables expected from partners in the next 12 months. Note that publications have appeared in leading academic journals, including British Medical Journal, Lancet, and American Journal of Public Health, as well as in leading textbooks (e.g., Social Justice in Health).

The Foundation’s grantees and research partners include highly cited grantees, such as Jed Rose, Rose Research Center; Riccardo Polosa, University of Catania; and Steven Shoptaw, University of California. The list includes emerging researchers from the private sector, such as Adam Hill and Karen Nelson, as well as organizations such as Cambridge Design Partnership, EY-Parthenon, Etheim Biotics, BOTEC, and Signals Analytics. All these partners have deep expertise not available in traditional tobacco control programs. The Foundation is actively drawing upon cutting-edge scientists from outside of the narrow confines of tobacco control to bring new energy and creativity to this area. By recruiting new researchers, the Foundation aims to tackle novel issues related to THR, particularly the use of innovative technologies to catalyze cessation and harm reduction. Finally, the Foundation is building new research capacity in developing countries.

Early on, the Foundation recognized the research capacity gaps in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs), and it included capacity strengthening in its Strategic Plan and HST workstream. The size of the gap was recently documented.

Connection map – electronic cigarette researchers

SOURCE: PubMed Search of articles using related search terms

NOTE: Author data is analyzed using Visone social networking data visualization methodology to identify ‘top authors’ by connections; results include authors with 3 or more publications (N = 859); Search term – electronic cigarette, includes all publications from 2007 to 2017

To address research gaps, the Foundation has issued grants devoted to efforts in LMICs. These efforts include:

  1. Trainings of scholars/scholarship programs – Knowledge Action Change
  2. Trainings and management program – ECLAT srl
  3. Trainings for journalists on use of social media – VIDA News
  4. Strengthening and organization of member groups – INNCO
  5. Strengthening research capacity and systems in LMICs – COHRED USA

In addition to these grants, the Foundation and its partners have written multiple reports, paperspodcasts, and blogs to highlight needs and potential solutions.

The Agriculture and Livelihoods strategy addresses smoke-free purpose (v) and the summary of grants can be accessed here – AGL Grants. The Centre for Agricultural Transformation (CAT) in Lilongwe, Malawi, announced in 2019, is a science, technology, and business incubation project. The CAT aims to strategically commercialize and disseminate innovations that support smallholder Malawian farmers in making economically viable, data-driven decisions for diversifying incomes. Lead grantees include Land O’Lakes / Venture37, Stellenbosch University, the Malawi University of Science and Technology, and Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR). Malawi’s Policy Agenda for the Transformation of Agriculture (MwAPATA) established an independent policy institute in Malawi that offers research support to government policymakers. The lead grantee for this initiative is Michigan State University. Related reports and papers include: Malawi Country Overview, Global Trends in Tobacco Production and Trade, and The Past, Present and Future of Land Use in Malawi: A Background Review (to be published in July 2020).

The Industry Transformation strategy addresses smoke-free purpose (iv). The first Tobacco Transformation Index ™ is scheduled to launch September 2020. This tool draws upon extensive stakeholder dialogues which were completed in 2019 and included 8 sessions, 7 countries, and over 150 participants. Index design review is open to stakeholders, expert reviewers, and companies. Voluntary industry consultation feedback and response cycles have occurred with multiple parties. Lead grantees, as documented by Tobacco Transformation Index Management & Governance, include SustainAbility and Euromonitor International. The Foundation laid the groundwork for the Index through its Global Trends in Nicotine reports.

The Foundation Board of Directors has a clear understanding of the Foundation’s Purpose (and each of the smoke-free purposes) and the Strategic Plan Objectives.  The Board has a deep level of engagement, receives detailed information from management, approves grants, is familiar with grantee activity and direct charitable activities, and carefully oversees the Foundation’s operations (including financial operations and expenditures).

Cohesiveness – Achieving the Purpose/Mission

The Foundation, at the midpoint of its Strategic Plan 2019-2021, is achieving material progress via grants and research reports in support of its Purpose. Further, the Foundation is developing relationships with innovative researchers across the globe. As a result, the Foundation’s initial Strategic Plan is on target at its midpoint, with more to come in the second half and beyond. Approaching the back end of the first Strategic Plan period, the Foundation is aligning resources to address COP9 in November 2021. The Foundation’s plan is to amplify research, advance debate, and educate about Tobacco Harm Reduction. Yach, 2020 includes a model showing how many lives could be saved in the future if THR and better cessation programs were to be deployed.

The Foundation’s work addresses a key lever of change identified in the Foundation’s Strategic Plan: smokers need a “correct understanding of the health benefits of quitting or switching to reduced-risk nicotine alternatives.” This force for change is consistent with smoke-free purposes (ii), (iv), and (vii). It also aligns with Gap 5 in the Context for FSFW 2019-21 Strategic Plan, “improving public awareness of the drivers of smoking harm and of the availability of alternatives.” Over the past 18 months, the Foundation’s activities and grantmaking in this area have expanded to include: staff participation in external events; strengthening consumer networks; disseminating evidence-based publications, videos, podcasts, and blogs; and strengthening local capacity for the same.

Figure 2. Adoption of HRPs projected to drastically reduce tobacco deaths by 2060

To prepare for COP9, the Foundation has developed a strategy to apprise country delegates and national stakeholders to share and utilize research evidence on Tobacco Harm Reduction.  Grants have been issued to coordinate work in WHO defined regions (SEARO, EMRO, Latin America, and Europe, with one for Asia Pacific under development). The International Network for Nicotine Consumer Organizations (INNCO) now has funding from the Foundation to focus specifically on Europe, where COP9 will be held. INNCO and Knowledge Action Change also are playing an important role in debates around the European Tobacco Products Directive.

At the midpoint of the Strategic Plan 2019-2021 period, the Foundation is in position to advance the smoke-free purposes and strategic plan objectives through the remainder of the period and into the next plan. This conclusion is based on the Foundation’s completed, current, and planned work.  

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux