Foundation Launches First Tobacco Transformation Index ™ - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

المؤسسة تطلق مؤشر التحول الأول للتبغ ™

في 21 سبتمبر 2020 ، أطلقت Foundation for a Smoke-Free World أول Tobacco Transformation Index ™ . الفهرس هو أداة تهدف إلى تسريع الحد من الضرر الناجم عن استخدام التبغ. 

بالنسبة لشركات التبغ التي تنفذ بالفعل شكلاً من أشكال التحول ، يوفر المؤشر بطاقة أداء نسبية ومعيار لتوجيه جهودها وتسريعها من خلال تشجيع اتخاذ إجراءات أكثر وأسرع. بالنسبة لشركات التبغ التي لا تنفذ التغيير ، يعد المؤشر أداة تكشف سلوكها ، مع السماح لأصحاب المصلحة بمساءلة الشركات عن أفعالهم وإتاحة الفرصة للشركات للتعلم من ممارسات الآخرين.

ما هي النتائج الرئيسية للمؤشر بالنسبة لأكبر 15 شركة تبغ في العالم؟ التقدم المحرز في الحد من أضرار التبغ محدود ، وتتركز الجهود في الغالب على البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع. تقدم عدد قليل من الشركات بالتزامات عامة للحد من الضرر. ومع ذلك ، لم تلتزم غالبية الشركات بأي التزام للحد من أضرار التبغ و / أو استمرت في تحديد أهداف لزيادة مبيعات السجائر.

الشركات ذات التصنيف الأعلى في المؤشر هي في الغالب شركات متعددة الجنسيات مطروحة للتداول العام ، في حين أن الشركات الخاصة والمملوكة للدولة هي من بين أقل الشركات مرتبة. وتتصدر شركة Swedish Match ، التي تخلت عن نشاطها في مجال السجائر في عام 1999 ، العبوة ، مدعومة بمبيعاتها من المنتجات منخفضة المخاطر مثل أكياس النيكوتين والنيكوتين.

يؤكد المؤشر إلى أي مدى يجب على الصناعة أن تذهب لتقليل أضرار التبغ على الصعيد العالمي بشكل هادف. خلال الفترة من 2017 إلى 2019 ، أنتجت معظم الشركات الـ 15 الغالبية العظمى من صافي مبيعاتها من خلال منتجات التبغ عالية المخاطر بما في ذلك السجائر ، وخصصت القليل نسبيًا من نفقات البحث والتطوير والاستثمار الرأسمالي للمنتجات منخفضة المخاطر مقابل المنتجات عالية المخاطر - المنتجات الخطرة ، وخصصت معظم إنفاقها التسويقي للمنتجات عالية الخطورة. قامت العديد من الشركات بالاستحواذ خلال فترة الدراسة على شركات السجائر بشكل أساسي ، وكان العديد منها يقع في البلدان ذات الدخل المتوسط المنخفض حيث معدلات التدخين هي الأعلى.

يعتمد الفهرس على الأفكار التي طورها مجلس معايير محاسبة الاستدامة (SASB) والمنهجيات البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة (ESG) الأخرى التي تم تطبيقها على مجموعة متنوعة من قطاعات الصناعة. تعتقد المؤسسة أن المؤشر سيساهم بطريقة تكميلية نحو الهدف النهائي المتمثل في الحد من الوفيات المبكرة والأمراض الناجمة عن التدخين. ساعدت عقود من الجهود الدولية المستمرة ، بما في ذلك التنفيذ المستمر للاتفاقية الإطارية لمنظمة الصحة العالمية بشأن مكافحة التبغ ( WHO FCTC ) ، على إحداث انخفاض تدريجي في معدلات التدخين في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم. ومع ذلك ، فإن التقدم العام لا يزال بطيئا. 

الفهرس ليس أداة شاملة تهدف إلى استبدال المقاييس الأخرى ، ولكن تم تصميمه للعمل بالتنسيق معها. يتضمن Tobacco Transformation Index ™ مناقشة أداء الشركة عبر مجموعة من الفئات - الكمية والنوعية - استنادًا إلى البيانات التي تم التحقق منها والأدلة الأخرى التي يمكن ملاحظتها والتي تتمحور حول أداء الشركة والتزامها والشفافية. والهدف من ذلك هو إنتاج مجموعة من المؤشرات التي تقدم مجتمعة الرؤية الأكثر توازناً من الناحية الموضوعية. وتكمن فائدة المؤشر الخاص بالصناعة في أنه سيمنحنا القدرة على الغوص بعمق أكبر في دوافع التغيير المادية القابلة للقياس. في الواقع ، من الممكن إنشاء أداء فعلي ومعيار إفصاح ، كما هو الحال مع فهرس Access to Medicine و الوصول إلى التغذية مؤشر في الصناعات المعنية.

تم إنشاء Tobacco Transformation Index ™ بشكل مفتوح ، بناءً على استشارة أصحاب المصلحة العالمية ، مؤشر شفاف منهجية التصميم بما في ذلك قبول التعليق العام والإدارة السليمة و هيكل الحوكمة الذي يتضمن نظامًا مستقلًا اللجنة الاستشارية ، والسماح استشارة الصناعة الخاضعة للرقابة والطوعية والموثقة. يتم الكشف عن جميع جوانب المؤشر هذه علنًا ، بما في ذلك منهجية تصميم المؤشر التي تستند إليها النتائج والتصنيفات والتصنيفات. أصدرت اللجنة الاستشارية أيضًا بيانها يعكس الرأي المشترك لأعضائها حول عملية وتنفيذ الإصدار الأول من الفهرس ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع التوصيات للمستقبل. اقتصرت الاستشارات الصناعية الطوعية على الإبلاغ ، وتقييم جدوى المؤشرات ، وطلب البيانات من الشركات ، كما تم الكشف عنها.

قد يجادل البعض بأن صناعة التبغ وشركاتها سيئة بطبيعتها ، بناءً على طبيعة منتجاتها وتاريخها ، بحيث لا توجد حاجة لقياسها. تعتقد المؤسسة ، كما يفعل جميع أصحاب المصلحة تقريبًا فيما يتعلق بالقطاعات الأخرى ، أن المشاركة النشطة والمفتوحة القائمة على التحليل السليم للبيانات أكثر فعالية في تحقيق التحول بمرور الوقت من الاستبعاد.

قد يجادل آخرون بأن الحد من أضرار التبغ ليس حلاً ولكنه يشكل حيلة أخرى من قبل صناعة التبغ. حقيقة أن بعض التقدم قد تم إحرازه يساعد في رفض هذا الادعاء. في غضون ذلك ، تدعم المؤسسة تطوير منتجات وطرق بديلة قد تقلل من المخاطر الصحية الحالية للمستخدمين وتساعدهم على الإقلاع عن التدخين تمامًا. تساهم المؤسسة في تطوير العلم حول الحد من أضرار التبغ من خلال برامجها البحثية.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Foundation Launches First Tobacco Transformation Index ™ - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Foundation Launches First Tobacco Transformation Index ™

On September 21, 2020, the Foundation for a Smoke-Free World launched the first Tobacco Transformation Index ™. The Index is a tool that aims to accelerate the reduction of harm caused by tobacco use. 

For the tobacco companies that are already implementing some form of transformation, the Index provides a relative scorecard and benchmark to guide and accelerate their efforts by encouraging more and faster action. For the tobacco companies that are not implementing change, the Index is a tool that exposes their behavior, while allowing stakeholders to hold the companies accountable for their actions and offering the companies an opportunity to learn from the practices of others.

What are the key findings of the Index relative to the 15 largest tobacco companies in the world? Tobacco harm reduction progress is limited, and efforts are mostly focused on higher income countries. A few companies have made public commitments to harm reduction. The majority of companies, however, have not made any commitment to tobacco harm reduction and/or continue to set targets to increase the sales of cigarettes.

The highest-ranking companies in the Index are mostly publicly traded multinationals, whereas private and state-owned companies are among the lowest ranked. Swedish Match, which divested its cigarette business in 1999, leads the pack, supported by its sales of reduced-risk products such as snus and nicotine pouches.

The Index underscores how far the industry must go to meaningfully reduce tobacco harm globally. Over the period 2017 to 2019, most of the 15 companies generated the large majority of their net sales through high-risk tobacco products including cigarettes, allocated relatively little of their research & development and capital investment expenditures to reduced-risk products as opposed to high-risk products, and allocated most of their marketing spending to high-risk products. Several companies made acquisitions during the study period of essentially cigarette companies, many of which were located in low-middle income countries where smoking rates are highest.

The Index draws upon ideas developed by the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) and other environmental, social, and governance (ESG) methodologies that have been applied to a diverse range of industry sectors. The Foundation believes the Index will contribute in a complementary manner toward the end goal of reducing the premature death and disease caused by smoking. Decades of sustained international effort, including the ongoing implementation of the World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC), have helped to produce a gradual decline in smoking rates in many parts of the world. Overall progress, however, remains slow. 

The Index is not an all-encompassing tool intended to supplant other measures, but was designed to work in concert with them. The Tobacco Transformation Index ™ includes discussion of company performance across a range of categories — quantitative and qualitative — based on verified data and other observable evidence centered around company performance, commitment, and transparency. The aim is to produce a set of indicators that together give the most objectively balanced view possible. The benefit of an industry-specific index is the ability to dive deeply into the measurable, material drivers of change. In effect, it is possible to create a de facto performance and disclosure standard, as is arguably the case with the Access to Medicine Index and the Access to Nutrition Index in their respective industries.

The Tobacco Transformation Index ™ was created openly, building on extensive global stakeholder consultation, transparent Index design methodology including acceptance of public comment, sound management and governance structure which included an independent Advisory Panel, and allowance for controlled, voluntary, and documented industry consultation. All such aspects of the Index are disclosed publicly, including the Index design methodology upon which the findings, ratings, and rankings are based. The Advisory Panel also released its statement reflecting the joint opinion of its members on the process and execution of the first edition of the Index, along with recommendations for the future. Voluntary industry consultation was limited to inform, assess the feasibility of indicators, and request data from companies, and is also disclosed.

Some may argue that the tobacco industry and its companies are inherently bad, based on the nature of their products and history, such that there is no need to measure them. The Foundation believes, as do virtually all stakeholders regarding other sectors, that active and open engagement based on the sound analysis of data is more effective in achieving transformation over time than is exclusion.

Others may argue that tobacco harm reduction is not a solution but constitutes another ploy by the tobacco industry. The fact that some progress is being made helps dispute this claim. In the meantime, the Foundation supports the development of alternative products and methods that may reduce users’ current health risks and help them to quit entirely. The Foundation contributes to developing the science around tobacco harm reduction through its research programs.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux