مسح الاتحاد الأوروبي لحظر السجائر في المنثول - مؤسسة لعالم خالٍ من التدخين

مسح الاتحاد الأوروبي لحظر السجائر بالمنثول

دخل حظر الاتحاد الأوروبي على تصنيع وبيع سجائر المنثول حيز التنفيذ في 20 مايو للدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد البالغ عددها 27 دولة. يمثل استهلاك سجائر المنثول في جميع أنحاء الاتحاد الأوروبي حوالي 5٪ من إجمالي استهلاك السجائر من حيث الحجم. يختلف استهلاك المنثول وانتشاره بين المدخنين حسب السوق ، حيث أظهرت بولندا أعلى معدل انتشار.

ترعى المؤسسة استطلاعات الرأي لمدخني سجائر المنثول البالغين في العديد من دول الاتحاد الأوروبي قبل وبعد حظر سجائر المنثول. استفسرت استطلاعات ما قبل الحظر عن الوعي ونية الإقلاع أو التبديل. في ضوء COVID-19 ، رصدت المسوحات أيضًا التغيرات السلوكية بين مستخدمي التبغ البالغين نتيجة للوباء. سوف تستعلم استطلاعات ما بعد الحظر عن السلوك الفعلي.

الجدول 1: دول الاتحاد الأوروبي تظهر أعلى مستويات استهلاك سجائر المنثول

ملخص النتائج من استطلاع ما قبل الحظر . تم مسح أكثر من 6000 مدخن سجائر المنتول في ثمانية بلدان خلال فترة الثلاثة أسابيع التي سبقت الحظر. استهلك المستجيبون سجائر المنثول مرة واحدة على الأقل شهريًا خلال الأشهر الستة السابقة.

الاستجابة المقصودة

أشار حوالي 12٪ فقط من المستجيبين إلى أنهم يخططون للإقلاع التام عن التدخين نتيجة للحظر. يتضمن "الإجراء الفردي" الأكثر شيوعًا الذي يتم اتخاذه على الأرجح نتيجة لحظر السجائر المنثول في الاتحاد الأوروبي ما يلي:

  • سأتوقف عن تناول سجائر المنثول ، لكنني سأستمر في تناول السجائر غير المنثول: 35٪
  • سأنتقل إلى منتجات التبغ المنثول الأخرى التي لا تتأثر بالحظر ، مثل سيجار المنتول والسيجار الصغير والسجائر الإلكترونية ومنتجات التبغ الساخن: 19٪
  • سأتوقف عن تناول سجائر المنثول ، لكنني سأزيد من استهلاكي للسجائر غير المنثول: 13٪

تختلف الإجابات حسب البلد ومجموعة من العوامل الديموغرافية التي يشملها المسح. بشكل عام ، بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يعتزمون التحول إلى منتجات أخرى من منتجات المنثول أو النيكوتين غير المتأثرة بالحظر ، أشار 58٪ إلى أنهم سيتحولون إلى السجائر الإلكترونية ، مع أعلى نسبة لوحظت في بولندا (78٪). أشار حوالي 12 ٪ من المستجيبين إلى أنهم يعتزمون البدء في شراء سجائر المنثول من مصادر أخرى ، وأشار أكثر من نصفهم إلى أنهم سيشترون من الأصدقاء / العائلة الذين يسافرون إلى البلدان التي تتوفر فيها سجائر المنثول أو من تجار التجزئة عبر الإنترنت الذين يشحنون من بلدان أخرى.

الوعي بالمنثول والإدراك

بشكل عام ، كان 71٪ من المشاركين على علم مسبق بالحظر المفروض على سجائر المنتول ومنتجات التبغ الملفوفة يدويًا. 57٪ من مدخني سجائر المنثول عارضوا الحظر بشدة / إلى حد ما ، بينما ما يقرب من 20٪ أيدوا الحظر بشدة / إلى حد ما كان معدل الدعم الأدنى في بولندا (10٪) والمجر (9٪) ، اللتين تتمتعان بحصة سوقية عالية نسبيًا من سجائر المنثول. أجاب 34٪ من معارضي الحظر بأن سجائر المنتول ليست أكثر ضررًا من منتجات التبغ العادية. في المقابل ، أجاب 33٪ من مؤيدي الحظر بأن سجائر المنتول تشجع الشباب على التدخين ، مع أكثر من 20٪ أشاروا إلى أن سجائر المنتول تشجع النساء على التدخين.

تأثير COVID-19

أشار ما يقرب من 55 ٪ من جميع المستجيبين إلى أن COVID-19 لم يؤثر على استهلاكهم للتبغ أو منتجات النيكوتين. أشار أكثر من 29٪ إلى أنهم يستهلكون منتجات التبغ أو النيكوتين أكثر من المعتاد. من بين أولئك الذين زادوا استهلاكهم أثناء الوباء ، أفاد حوالي 68٪ أنهم شعروا بمستوى متزايد من التوتر والقلق بسبب تفشي المرض. أفاد المستجيبون في بلدين بمستويات أقل ؛ الدنمارك (44٪) وسلوفاكيا (40٪). بالنسبة لـ 16٪ من المستجيبين الذين أشاروا إلى أنهم كانوا يستهلكون كميات أقل من التبغ أو منتجات النيكوتين أكثر من المعتاد خلال جائحة COVID-19 ، كانت الأسباب الرئيسية هي الخروج من المنزل بنسبة أقل (47٪) والقلق بشأن مخاطر التدخين على صحتي (40٪). كان الأول هو السبب الرئيسي الذي أشارت إليه الفئات العمرية 18-44 ، بينما كان الأخير هو السبب الرئيسي الذي أشارت إليه الفئات العمرية 45+.

بناءً على انتشار سجائر المنثول والاستجابة المقصودة ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع المؤشرات المختلطة المتعلقة باستهلاك التبغ أو النيكوتين التي قدمها COVID-19 ، كما يتضح من مسح ما قبل الحظر ، التأثير على انتشار التدخين في الاتحاد الأوروبي نتيجة لحظر سجائر المنثول من المحتمل أن تكون محدودة. بالطبع ، الدليل موجود في الحلوى ، حيث يتغير المستهلكون من النية إلى الممارسة الفعلية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ستختلف النتائج حسب الدولة. سترعى المؤسسة استطلاع متابعة في الخريف.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

EU Menthol Cigarette Ban Survey - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

EU Menthol Cigarette Ban Survey

The EU ban on the manufacture and sale of menthol cigarettes went into effect on May 20 for the Union’s 27 member countries. Menthol cigarette consumption across the European Union represents approximately 5% of total cigarette consumption by volume. Menthol consumption and its prevalence among smokers varies by market, with Poland demonstrating the highest prevalence.

The Foundation is sponsoring surveys of adult menthol cigarette smokers in several EU countries before and after the menthol cigarette ban. The pre-ban surveys queried awareness and intention to quit or switch. In light of COVID-19, the surveys also monitored behavioral changes among adult tobacco users as a result of the pandemic. The post-ban surveys will query actual behavior.

Table 1: EU Countries exhibiting highest levels of menthol cigarette consumption

Summary results from the pre-ban surveyMore than 6,000 menthol cigarette smokers were surveyed in eight countries during the three-week period leading up to the ban. Respondents consumed menthol cigarettes at least once per month over the prior 6 months.

Intended Response

Only about 12% of respondents indicated they plan to quit completely as a result of the ban. The most common “single action” most likely to be taken as a result of the EU menthol cigarette ban included:

  • I will stop consuming menthol cigarettes, but will continue consuming non-menthol cigarettes: 35%
  • I will switch to other menthol tobacco products not affected by the ban, such as menthol cigars, cigarillos, e-cigarettes and heated tobacco products: 19%
  • I will stop consuming menthol cigarettes, but will increase my consumption of non-menthol cigarettes: 13%

Responses vary by country and a range of demographic factors encompassed by the survey. Overall, for those who intend to switch to other menthol tobacco or nicotine products not affected by the ban, 58% indicated they would switch to e-cigarettes, with the highest percentage observed in Poland (78%). About 12% of the respondents indicated they intend to start buying menthol cigarettes from other sources, with more than half of them indicating they would buy from friends/family travelling to countries where menthol cigarettes are available or from online retailers which ship from other countries.

Menthol Ban Awareness and Perception

Overall, 71% of respondents were aware in advance of the ban on menthol cigarettes and hand-rolled tobacco products. 57% of the menthol cigarette smoker respondents were strongly/somewhat opposed to the ban, while nearly 20% were strongly/somewhat in favor of the ban. The support rate was lowest in Poland (10%) and Hungary (9%), which have relatively high market share of menthol cigarettes. 34% of opponents of the ban responded that menthol cigarettes are no more harmful than regular tobacco products. In contrast, 33% of supporters of the ban responded that menthol cigarettes encourage young people to smoke, with more than 20% indicating menthol cigarettes encourage women to smoke.

Impact of COVID-19

Nearly 55% of all respondents indicated that COVID-19 has not impacted their consumption of tobacco or nicotine products. More than 29% indicated they have been consuming more tobacco or nicotine products than usual. Of those increasing consumption during the pandemic, almost 68% reported they have been feeling an increased level of stress and anxiety due to the outbreak. Respondents in two countries reported lower levels; Denmark (44%) and Slovakia (40%). For the 16% of respondents that indicated they have been consuming less tobacco or nicotine products than usual during the COVID-19 pandemic, leading reasons were going outside of the house less (47%) and being worried about the risk smoking poses to my health (40%). The former was the leading reason indicated by the 18-44 age groups, while the latter was the leading reason indicated by the 45+ age groups.

Based on menthol cigarette prevalence and intended response, along with mixed indications relative to tobacco or nicotine consumption presented by COVID-19, as reflected by the pre-ban survey, the impact on smoking prevalence in the EU as a result of the menthol cigarette ban will likely be limited. Of course, the proof is in the pudding, as consumers change from intent to actual practice. In addition, outcomes will vary by country. The Foundation will sponsor a follow-on survey in the fall.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux