欧盟薄荷烟禁令调查-建立无烟世界的基础

欧盟薄荷醇香烟禁令调查(EU Menthol Cigarette Ban Survey)

欧盟关于薄荷醇卷烟生产和销售的禁令于5月20日对欧盟的27个成员国生效。整个欧洲薄荷脑卷烟消费量约占卷烟总消费量的5%。薄荷醇的消费及其在吸烟者中的流行程度因市场而异,其中波兰的流行率最高。

基金会赞助禁止吸烟前后在几个欧盟国家的成人薄荷卷烟吸烟者进行的调查。禁令前调查询问了戒烟或改行的意识和意图。根据COVID-19,调查还监测了大流行导致成年烟草使用者行为改变的情况。禁令后调查将查询实际行为。

表格1:欧盟国家的薄荷卷烟消费量最高

禁令前调查的摘要结果在禁令实施前的三周内,对八个国家的6,000多名薄荷卷烟吸烟者进行了调查。在过去的6个月中,受访者每月至少食用一次薄荷卷烟。

预期的反应

只有大约12%的受访者表示,他们计划由于这项禁令而完全退出。欧盟薄荷醇卷烟禁令最有可能采取的最常见“单一行动”包括:

  • 我将停止食用薄荷卷烟,但将继续食用非薄荷卷烟:35%
  • 我将改用不受该禁令影响的其他薄荷烟草产品,例如薄荷雪茄,小雪茄,电子烟和加热的烟草产品:19%
  • 我将停止食用薄荷卷烟,但会增加非薄荷卷烟的消费:13%

回答因国家/地区而异,调查所涵盖的一系列人口因素也不同。总体而言,对于那些打算改用不受禁令影响的其他薄荷醇烟草或尼古丁产品的人,有58%的人表示他们会改用电子烟,其中波兰的比例最高(78%)。约12%的受访者表示他们打算开始从其他来源购买薄荷卷烟,其中一半以上的受访者表示他们会从前往有薄荷卷烟国家的朋友/家人或从其他国家发货的在线零售商那里购买。

薄荷禁令的意识和知觉

总体而言,有71%的受访者提前意识到了薄荷卷烟和手卷烟制品的禁令。薄荷卷烟吸烟者中有57%强烈/有点反对这项禁令,而近20%的强烈/有点反对该禁令。薄荷醇卷烟市场份额较高的波兰(10%)和匈牙利(9%)的支持率最低。该禁令的反对者中有34%的人回答说,薄荷卷烟比普通烟草产品危害更大。相比之下,该禁令的支持者中有33%回答说,薄荷卷烟鼓励年轻人吸烟,而超过20%的人表示薄荷卷烟鼓励女性吸烟。

COVID-19的影响

将近55%的受访者表示COVID-19并未影响其烟草或尼古丁产品的消费。超过29%的人表示他们比平常消费更多的烟草或尼古丁产品。在大流行期间不断增加的消费中,几乎68%的人表示,由于疫情,他们感到压力和焦虑水平增加。两个国家的受访者报告的水平较低;丹麦(44%)和斯洛伐克(40%)。对于16%的受访者表示他们在COVID-19大流行期间消费的烟草或尼古丁产品比平时少,主要原因是出门在外的人数减少了(47%),并且担心吸烟对我的健康构成风险(40%)。前者是18-44岁年龄组指示的主要原因,而后者是45岁以上年龄组指示的主要原因。

根据薄荷醇卷烟的流行和预期的反应,以及COVID-19提出的与烟草或尼古丁消费有关的混合指示,如禁令前调查所反映的那样,由于薄荷醇烟禁令对欧盟吸烟率的影响可能会受到限制。当然,随着消费者从意图转变为实际做法,证明就在布丁中。此外,结果因国家/地区而异。该基金会将在秋季赞助一项后续调查。

WordPress 应用 - TurnKey Linux支持

Powered by

EU Menthol Cigarette Ban Survey - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

EU Menthol Cigarette Ban Survey

The EU ban on the manufacture and sale of menthol cigarettes went into effect on May 20 for the Union’s 27 member countries. Menthol cigarette consumption across the European Union represents approximately 5% of total cigarette consumption by volume. Menthol consumption and its prevalence among smokers varies by market, with Poland demonstrating the highest prevalence.

The Foundation is sponsoring surveys of adult menthol cigarette smokers in several EU countries before and after the menthol cigarette ban. The pre-ban surveys queried awareness and intention to quit or switch. In light of COVID-19, the surveys also monitored behavioral changes among adult tobacco users as a result of the pandemic. The post-ban surveys will query actual behavior.

Table 1: EU Countries exhibiting highest levels of menthol cigarette consumption

Summary results from the pre-ban surveyMore than 6,000 menthol cigarette smokers were surveyed in eight countries during the three-week period leading up to the ban. Respondents consumed menthol cigarettes at least once per month over the prior 6 months.

Intended Response

Only about 12% of respondents indicated they plan to quit completely as a result of the ban. The most common “single action” most likely to be taken as a result of the EU menthol cigarette ban included:

  • I will stop consuming menthol cigarettes, but will continue consuming non-menthol cigarettes: 35%
  • I will switch to other menthol tobacco products not affected by the ban, such as menthol cigars, cigarillos, e-cigarettes and heated tobacco products: 19%
  • I will stop consuming menthol cigarettes, but will increase my consumption of non-menthol cigarettes: 13%

Responses vary by country and a range of demographic factors encompassed by the survey. Overall, for those who intend to switch to other menthol tobacco or nicotine products not affected by the ban, 58% indicated they would switch to e-cigarettes, with the highest percentage observed in Poland (78%). About 12% of the respondents indicated they intend to start buying menthol cigarettes from other sources, with more than half of them indicating they would buy from friends/family travelling to countries where menthol cigarettes are available or from online retailers which ship from other countries.

Menthol Ban Awareness and Perception

Overall, 71% of respondents were aware in advance of the ban on menthol cigarettes and hand-rolled tobacco products. 57% of the menthol cigarette smoker respondents were strongly/somewhat opposed to the ban, while nearly 20% were strongly/somewhat in favor of the ban. The support rate was lowest in Poland (10%) and Hungary (9%), which have relatively high market share of menthol cigarettes. 34% of opponents of the ban responded that menthol cigarettes are no more harmful than regular tobacco products. In contrast, 33% of supporters of the ban responded that menthol cigarettes encourage young people to smoke, with more than 20% indicating menthol cigarettes encourage women to smoke.

Impact of COVID-19

Nearly 55% of all respondents indicated that COVID-19 has not impacted their consumption of tobacco or nicotine products. More than 29% indicated they have been consuming more tobacco or nicotine products than usual. Of those increasing consumption during the pandemic, almost 68% reported they have been feeling an increased level of stress and anxiety due to the outbreak. Respondents in two countries reported lower levels; Denmark (44%) and Slovakia (40%). For the 16% of respondents that indicated they have been consuming less tobacco or nicotine products than usual during the COVID-19 pandemic, leading reasons were going outside of the house less (47%) and being worried about the risk smoking poses to my health (40%). The former was the leading reason indicated by the 18-44 age groups, while the latter was the leading reason indicated by the 45+ age groups.

Based on menthol cigarette prevalence and intended response, along with mixed indications relative to tobacco or nicotine consumption presented by COVID-19, as reflected by the pre-ban survey, the impact on smoking prevalence in the EU as a result of the menthol cigarette ban will likely be limited. Of course, the proof is in the pudding, as consumers change from intent to actual practice. In addition, outcomes will vary by country. The Foundation will sponsor a follow-on survey in the fall.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux