يُعد القضاء على التدخين بين البالغين المفتاح لتحقيق العديد من أهداف التنمية المستدامة - مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين

القضاء على التدخين بين البالغين عنصر رئيسي في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة المتعددة

يتطلب إحراز المزيد من التقدم في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة للأمم المتحدة (SDGs) المرتبطة بالأمراض غير المعدية اتخاذ إجراء مُنسق للحد من تدخين البالغين. إن مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين (يشار إليها فيما بعد باسم "المؤسسة") على استعداد للإسراع في العمل على تحسين الصحة العالمية عن طريق القضاء على مشكلة التدخين التي تواجه هذا الجيل.

تؤمن المؤسسة بأن أهداف التنمية المستدامة تقدم نظرة مدروسة وإطار عمل قويًا للنهوض بعالمنا. نتيجة لهذا، فكرنا في أهداف التنمية المستدامة لضمان تنفيذ عملنا بالتنسيق مع أعضاء آخرين في المجتمع الدولي للتنمية وللإسهام في تحقيق المستقبل الأكثر إشراقًا الذي تصورته الأمم المتحدة. لتحقيق ذلك، أجرينا مراجعة تفصيلية لكل من إستراتيجياتنا الرئيسية - فيما يتعلق بقطاع الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا (HST)، والزراعة وسبل العيش (AG-L)، والتحول الصناعي (IT) – وحددنا كيف تتعارض مع أهداف التنمية المستدامة. تعمل المؤسسة على تفعيل المبادئ المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي إذ تدمج في مبادراتها تأثير النوع الاجتماعي والبيانات الخاصة بالجنس وفقًا لهدف التنمية المستدامة الخامس: "تحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين وتمكين جميع النساء والفتيات."

يُعد أحد أكثر أهداف التنمية المستدامة صلة بعملنا في المؤسسة هو الهدف الثالث: "ضمان الحياة الصحية وتعزيز الرفاهية لجميع الأشخاص في جميع الأعمار." ويدعم هذا الهدف الأهداف الأساسية التي تعزز على وجه التحديد تنفيذ (الهدف 3.أ) من أهداف اتفاقية منظمة الصحة العالمية الإطارية بشأن مكافحة التبغ حسبما يقاس بمدى انتشار تعاطي التبغ الحالي (المؤشر 3.أ)؛ وانخفاض معدل الوفيات المبكرة من الأمراض غير المعدية (الهدف 3.4) حسبما يقاس بمدى انتشار العديد من الأمراض المرتبطة بالتدخين (المؤشر 3.4)؛ وتعزيز القدرة البحثية خاصة في البلدان النامية (الهدف 3.د). وتُعد هذه الأهداف ضرورية نظرًا لأنه ما زال هناك مليار مدخن في العالم تقريبًا و7 ملايين حالة وفاة بسبب التدخين كل عام. بهدف الحد من هذه الأرقام بشكل كبير وتعزيز هدف التنمية المستدامة الثالث، يسعى برنامج قطاع الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا الأولي التابع للمؤسسة إلى تحفيز البحث وتعزيز الابتكار ودعم التعاون الذي يركز على الإقلاع عن التدخين والحد من الضرر المرتبط بالتبغ.

علاوةً على ذلك، يسعى برنامج قطاع الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا التابع للمؤسسة إلى القيام بذلك بما يتماشى مع هدف التنمية المستدامة السابع عشر: "تعزيز وسائل التنفيذ وتنشيط الشراكة العالمية من أجل التنمية المستدامة" – قياسًا على الأهداف والمؤشرات التي تُقيّم الموارد والقدرة على البحث في البلدان النامية. بالاقتران مع تزايد عدد المدخنين المتمركزين في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل، يركز برنامجنا المتعلق بقطاع الصحة والعلوم والتكنولوجيا على برامج تهدف إلى بناء الهياكل الأساسية وسبل البحوث والتنمية في هذه البلدان.

نظرًا لأن المؤسسة تحرز تقدمًا نحو تحقيق رؤيتها لعالم خالٍ من التدخين، سيستمر الانخفاض في الطلب على التبغ. يتمثل تركيز إستراتيجية الزراعة وسبل العيش في تخفيف آثار هذه التداعيات على المزارعين والاقتصادات القائمة على التبغ، كما في ملاوي. هدف التنمية المستدامة الثاني وهدف التنمية المستدامة الثامن: يتوافق هذا العمل بشكل وثيق مع "القضاء على الجوع، وتحقيق الأمن الغذائي وتحسين التغذية وتعزيز الزراعة المستدامة" و"تعزيز النمو الاقتصادي المستمر والشامل والمستدام، وتوفير فرص العمل الكاملة والمنتجة والعمل اللائق للجميع". ترتبط هذه الأهداف بالمقاصد والمؤشرات الأساسية مثل متوسط دخل صغار منتجي الأغذية (المؤشر 2.3.2)، وانتشار سوء التغذية (المؤشر 2.2.2)، وتدفق المساعدات التنموية لقطاع الزراعة ودعم التجارة (المؤشر 2.أ.2). يعتمد عمل إستراتيجية الزراعة وسبل العيش على فهم مدى تباعد زراعة التبغ، بالنسبة لمزارعي حقول التبغ الصغيرة بصفة خاصة، عن الاستدامة سواء اقتصاديًا أو بيئيًا. مع وضع هذا الأمر في الاعتبار، تسعى المؤسسة إلى تحديد وتعزيز وتوسيع نطاق سبل العيش البديلة ذات الأجور الأفضل والأكثر استدامة لمزارعي حقول التبغ الصغيرة والعاملين فيها.

كما يُبنى عملنا في المؤسسة على الهدف التاسع من أهداف التنمية المستدامة: "بناء بنية أساسية مرنة وتعزيز التصنيع الشامل والمستدام وتعزيز الابتكار." يجري التطور التكنولوجي المُسبب للاضطراب بشكل جيد في صناعة التبغ ومنظومة النيكوتين البيئية. لذلك، نعتقد أن الوقت قد حان لتعزيز البحث العلمي وتطوير القدرات التكنولوجية، خاصة في البلدان النامية (الهدف 9.5)، نظرًا لأن التقنيات غير المسبوقة والمبتكرة تقلل من المخاطر الصحية المرتبطة بتعاطي النيكوتين مقارنة بمخاطر الانبعاثات الموجودة فقط في السجائر التقليدية. تتوقع المؤسسة استخدام نهج موجه نحو السوق لتحفيز التغيير المستدام نحو عالم خالٍ من التدخين ولتلبية طلب المستهلكين للحصول على منتجات تعاطي النيكوتين منخفضة الضرر في جميع أنحاء العالم. سنقوم بهذا جزئيًا من خلال تقرير مؤشر تحولات التبغ، عن طريق خلق علاقة مباشرة بين تحول الشركة وقيمة المساهمين في حين نعمل على قياس التحول من خلال مقاييس واضحة وشفافة. في رأينا، توضح حالة التدخين الحالية في جميع أنحاء العالم أن التشديد الذي وضعه الكثيرون في مجال الصحة العامة على المادة 5.3 من اتفاقية منظمة الصحة العالمية الإطارية بشأن مكافحة التبغ، وتفسيرها، لا يسهم في تحقيق الهدف المتمثل في القضاء على التدخين في العالم بالسرعة المطلوبة. تعتقد المؤسسة أن الطريقة المناسبة لتوجيه الصناعة نحو التحول هي بشكل غير مباشر من خلال الشراكات – الأمر يتوافق أيضًا مع هدف التنمية المستدامة السابع عشر: "تعزيز وسائل التنفيذ وتنشيط الشراكة العالمية من أجل التنمية المستدامة."

تقوم المؤسسات الأخرى بتقييم التقدم المحرز تجاه تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة، بشكل عام، وضد الأمراض غير المعدية، بشكل خاص، ونتطلع إلى القيام بدورنا. ندعوك للانضمام إلينا، وللتعمق أكثر، ولمعرفة المزيد حول تحديد أهداف التنمية المستدامة من هنا.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

ending adult smoking is key to the attainment of several sustainable development goals

Progress on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) related to noncommunicable diseases requires concerted action to end adult smoking. The Foundation for a Smoke-Free World (hereafter, referred to as “the Foundation”) is ready to accelerate work to improve global health by ending smoking in this generation.

The Foundation believes that the SDGs provide a thoughtful and robust framework to improve our world. As a result, we have reflected on the SDGs to ensure that our work is carried out in concert with other members of the international development community and contributes toward the brighter future envisioned by the United Nations. To do so, we conducted a detailed review of each of our principal strategies – Health, Science, and Technology (HST), Agriculture and Livelihoods (AG-L), and Industry Transformation (IT) – and mapped how they intersect with the SDGs. The Foundation operationalizes gender principles such that gender-specific impact and sex-specific data are integrated within its initiatives in accordance with SDG 5: “Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.”

The most pertinent SDG to our work at the Foundation is SDG 3: “Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages.” This goal is buttressed by underlying targets that specifically promote the implementation of the World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (Target 3.a) as measured by the prevalence of current tobacco use (Indicator 3.a.1); reduction of premature mortality from noncommunicable diseases (Target 3.4) as measured by the prevalence of several smoking-related diseases (Indicator 3.4.1); and strengthening of research capacity particularly in developing countries (Target 3.d). Such targets are vital given that there are still more than one billion smokers in the world and approximately seven million deaths attributable to smoking each year. With the aim of dramatically curbing these numbers and promoting SDG 3 in mind, the Foundation’s preliminary HST agenda seeks to stimulate research, promote innovation, and support collaboration focused on smoking cessation and tobacco-related harm reduction.

Moreover, the Foundation’s HST agenda seeks to do so in keeping with SDG 17: “Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development” – as measured by targets and indicators assessing resources and capacity for research in developing countries. Coupled with the fact that an increasing number of smokers are concentrated in low- and middle-income countries, our HST agenda places a special emphasis on programs to build the research infrastructure and pipeline of such countries.

As the Foundation makes progress toward its vision of a smoke-free world, the demand for tobacco will continue to decline. The focus of the AG-L strategy is to mitigate the effects of this fallout for farmers and tobacco-dependent economies, such as Malawi. SDG 2 and SDG 8: “End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture” and “Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all,” respectively, closely dovetail with this work. These goals are tied to underlying targets and indicators such as the average income of small-scale food producers (Indicator 2.3.2), prevalence of malnutrition (Indicator 2.2.2), and the flow of development assistance to the agriculture sector and aid-for-trade support (Indicator 2.a.2). The work of our AG-L strategy is predicated on the understanding that tobacco farming, especially for smallholder tobacco farmers, is far from sustainable economically or environmentally. With this consideration in mind, the Foundation seeks to identify, promote, and scale alternative, better-paying, and more sustainable livelihoods to smallholder tobacco farmers and workers.

Our work at the Foundation is also informed by SDG 9: “Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation.” Technological disruption is well underway in the tobacco industry and nicotine ecosystem. Therefore, we believe now is the right time to enhance scientific research and upgrade the technological capabilities, particularly in developing countries (Target 9.5), as unprecedented and innovative technologies are reducing health risks associated with nicotine delivery compared with those of emissions found only in combustible cigarettes. The Foundation envisions using a market-driven approach to incentivize sustainable change toward a smoke-free world and to meet consumer demand for reduced-harm nicotine delivery products worldwide. We will do so in part through the Tobacco Transformation Index, by creating a direct relationship between a company’s transformation and shareholder value while quantifying transformation through clear and transparent metrics. In our view, the current state of smoking worldwide demonstrates that the emphasis placed by many in public health on WHO FCTC Article 5.3, and the interpretation thereof, is not contributing to achieving a smoke-free world fast enough. The Foundation believes that the appropriate way to influence industry toward transformation is indirectly through partnerships – again, compatible with SDG 17: “Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.”

Other organizations are actively evaluating progress toward the SDGs, generally, and against noncommunicable diseases, specifically, and we look forward to doing our part. We invite you to join with us, dive deeper, and learn more about our SDG mapping here.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux