根据无烟世界基金会的数据,中国或将引领烟草行业的转型

中国或将引领烟草业的转型

中国电子烟制造商雾芯科技 (RELX Technology) 今年 1 月份上市以后,其价格迅速暴涨。开盘日股价即上涨 145.92%,公司市值也随即上涨到 458 亿美元。随后的 3 月份,继宣布可能出台中国电子烟行业的新规之后,其价格又猛跌 40% 以上。倘若不谈及所造成的损失,新规可视为对该行业的一件利好之举。正如股价的最初上涨,计划出台的限制规定体现了一种共识,即电子烟已经成为中国烟草体系中一个愈发重要的组成部分。

新规将构成《中华人民共和国烟草专卖法》中的一项全新条款。此条款(现为草案)要求通过与可燃型烟草制品相当的方式来对电子烟进行监管。虽然制造商们并不见得欣然欢迎各项限制条款的方方面面,但此政策的出台经过深思熟虑,可能最终会推动中国电子烟行业的发展。例如,全新标准将会阻止青少年使用电子烟,解决产品质量问题,并遵守国际监管惯例。

事实上,中国是全球最大的烟草制品生产商和消费群体。2019 年,中国生产了 2.36 万亿支可燃性卷烟,相当于全球生产总量的 44.7%。在全球 13 亿吸烟者中,超过 3 亿为中国人。相应地,在每年因吸烟引发死亡的 800 万人中,超过 100 万例发生在中国。就其本身而言,吸烟已经成为中国最大的公共健康威胁之一;而中国政府也一直在采取各种措施来解决这一问题。例如,《“健康中国 2030”规划纲要》已经对此制定了一项宏伟战略,即到 2030 年,将吸烟率从 2015 年的 27.7% 降至 20%。

与此同时,其他行业也在利用各种全新清洁技术来改善公众的健康状况,并遏制气候变化。对于能源行业,开始从石油和煤炭一类的燃料转为使用清洁高效的能源。去年 12 月,中国国务院发布了《新时代的中国能源发展》白皮书,其中说明了自 2012 年以来煤炭的使用量已降低 10.8%,同时还确定了进一步降低能源消耗量的相应战略。同样在去年,习主席宣布,中国正在采取各种措施,以期在 2060 年前实现碳中和。作为此战略的一部分,中国政府计划在 2030 年前逐步淘汰内燃机汽车 (ICEV)。

正如能源行业一样,烟草行业也正在经历着清洁技术的颠覆。各种创新的减少危害产品 (HRP) 陆续面世,包括电子烟,都能大大降低因烟草而导致的死亡和疾病。随着时间的推移,燃烧香烟就如同内燃机汽车 (ICEV) 一样,会逐渐淡出历史舞台,由新一代产品所取代。

全球广受欢迎的减少危害产品 (HRP) 之一——电子烟——由中国药剂师韩立发明。起初,韩立自己也是个吸烟者,这项发明源于他想戒掉可燃型烟草的愿望。2003 年,他为电子烟注册了专利,之后不久,他便开始通过其创立的北京如烟公司来销售该产品。2009 年,电子烟销往了世界各地,尤其在欧洲和美国地区取得了巨大成功。自此之后,中国便在新型尼古丁技术的生产领域占据着主导地位。如今,全球大约 90% 的蒸汽电子烟和电子烟设备均在深圳进行设计和制造。

两家独立的公司,即思摩尔 (SMOORE)雾芯科技 (RELX Technology),均在该领域取得了卓越的成功业绩,是该行业中公认的全球领军者。电子烟设备和组件的供应商思摩尔已经申请了逾 1600 项国内和国外专利,其中超过 700 项已被授予相应专利。雾芯科技研发出了自己的电子烟品牌,并已投资超过 2000 万元人民币,建立了专用于产品安全和创新的实验室。根据该公司 2019-2020 年的报告,雾芯科技已经在全球范围内申请了 429 项专利,其中 54% 均为发明专利。

据 IDWALA RESEARCH 发布的文章称,新规出台后,思摩尔 (SMOORE) 的股价下跌了 27%,雾芯科技 (RELX Technology) 的股价下跌了 48%。(请参见图 1)尽管市值严重缩水,但思摩尔 (SMOORE) 的市值仍有约 421 亿美元,雾芯科技 (RELX Technology) 则为 186 亿美元,相比其他大型烟草公司而言,这两家公司在市场上仍有很大竞争优势。(请参见图 2)

图 1:思摩尔 (SMOORE) 和雾芯科技 (RELX Technology) 的每日收盘价

图 2:各大烟草公司和电子烟制造商的市值(单位:十亿美元)

鉴于中国在该行业中的亮眼表现,新规条款代表着全球减少危害产品 (HRP) 生态系统领域的重大进展。草案条款经由中国的两大监管机构制定,分别是工业和信息化部 (MIIT) 以及中国烟草总公司 (CNTC)。工信部是监管多个行业的政府机构;而中国烟草既是监管机构,同时也是国有的烟草专卖公司,隶属于工信部的管辖之下。这两大实体分别直接和间接管控着中国的烟草行业。

作为监管机构,中国烟草认可创新的重要性。在 2017 年的全国烟草工作会议上,中国烟草总经理凌成兴指出:“打造新型烟草制品国际竞争新优势。密切跟踪新型烟草制品政策、技术和市场发展动态,深入实施新型烟草制品研制重大专项。”就此而言,拟出台的新规不应被解读为阻碍行业创新的手段,而是旨在确保产品安全、负责任使用的一项举措。

中国烟草之前曾针对监管行业做出了很多努力,其中包括:2019 年发布了《关于禁止向未成年人出售电子烟的通告》。作为对此通告的回应,雾芯科技推出了针对未成年人保护的智能系统“向阳花”,该项目利用身份证验证和面部识别技术来有效阻止未成年人获取和购买电子烟。新条款将寻求进一步阻止未成年人使用烟草,同时保护成年使用者的权益。

随着减少危害产品 (HRP) 格局的不断演变,该政策能够在很大程度上引导公众对于这些产品的理解和使用。近些年来,关于 HRP 的错误解读,使得某些吸烟者忽视了转用电子烟所带来的益处。例如,很多吸烟者错误地认为电子烟与可燃性烟草制品的危害一样或更为严重,而这一看法又强化了现状。在接下来的时间里,我们可利用公共政策来纠正这些错误认识,并劝说吸烟者戒掉这一致命习惯。例如,有关税费、广告和可获取性的规定应该体现出烟草制品的相对风险。在此类情境下,相对于电子烟,可燃型烟草制品的费用将会更高,且更不易获取,这样也就能鼓励使用者从吸燃烧香烟转为使用减少危害产品。此类政策如果在全国范围内加以实施,则会极大地提升中国的公共健康状况。

除了提升整个国家的健康状况之外,此类转变还与吸烟者的愿望不谋而合。根据无烟世界基金会的 2020 年洞见调查,中国 88% 的每日吸烟者都想要减少吸烟。这一趋势,再加之中国在制造新型尼古丁技术领域的抢眼表现,都暗示着中国正稳步引领吸烟者远离燃烧香烟。

当然,逐步淘汰香烟的努力远远不止局限在中国。根据烟草转型指数,大型国际烟草公司(例如:Swedish Match AB 和菲利普莫里斯国际公司 [PMI])纷纷投入大笔资金来不断开发新产品,以此来向减少危害产品 (HRP) 过渡。Swedish Match 于 1996 年开始启动此类转变,该公司的无烟产品组合在其运营利润中占比超过 70%。类似地,根据 2020 年 PMI 报告,该公司几乎四分之一的收益均来自于其加热烟草产品 IQOS。如今,全世界有将近 1800 万人在使用 IQOS;而 70% 的使用者已经完全放弃使用可燃型烟草制品。鉴于资本日益远离可燃型烟草制品市场,中国对于减少危害产品 (HRP) 的投资可被视为公共健康方面的一大胜利,同时也是一种明智稳健的商业决策。

习主席在 2021 年 1 月 25 日举办的世界经济论坛上发言时曾指出:“中国将继续推进科技创新。科技创新是人类社会发展的重要引擎,是应对许多全球性挑战的有力武器。”针对烟草行业而言,积极推动创新有着极为深远的影响。通过持续研发,以及中国烟草公司与电子烟制造商的紧密协作,中国能够实现在其广泛的专卖范围内取代燃烧香烟。这样一来,中国便能够引领烟草行业的转型发展,极大地提升中国乃至世界各地的公共健康状况。

WordPress 应用 - TurnKey Linux支持

Powered by

China could lead transformation of the tobacco sector - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

China could lead transformation of the tobacco sector

When Chinese e-cigarette maker RELX Technology went public this January, its price quickly soared. Shares increased 145.92% on opening day, pushing the company’s value to 45.8 billion dollars. Then, in March, prices plunged more than 40% following the announcement of potential new regulations on China’s e-cigarette industry. Losses aside, the regulations can be understood as a good thing for the sector. Like the stock’s initial rally, the proposed restrictions reflect an understanding that e-cigarettes comprise an increasingly substantial component of China’s tobacco ecosystem.

The regulations would constitute a new clause in the Tobacco Patent Sales Law of the People’s Republic of China. Now in draft form, the clause calls for regulating e-cigarettes a manner comparable to combustible products. Though manufactures may not celebrate all aspects of the restrictions, the introduction of thoughtful policy could ultimately strengthen China’s e-cigarette sector. The new standards would, for instance, prevent youth uptake of e-cigarettes, resolve product quality issues, and refer to international regulatory practices.

Indeed, China is the world’s largest producer and consumer of tobacco products. The country manufactured 2.36 trillion combustible cigarette sticks in 2019, accounting for 44.7% of global production. Of the world’s 1.3 billion tobacco users, over 300 million are Chinese. Correspondingly, out of the 8 million deaths caused by tobacco each year, over 1 million occur in China. As such, smoking remains one of country’s largest public health threats; and the government has been taking steps to tackle this problem. For example, Healthy China 2030 establishes an ambitious strategy by which to reduce smoking rates from 27.7% in 2015 to 20% in 2030.

In parallel, other sectors are taking advantage of new clean technologies to improve public health and curb climate change. In the energy sector, this entails a shift from oil and coal to clean, efficient energy. In December of last year, the China State Council released the white paper, “Energy in China’s New Era,” which documents a 10.8% reduction in coal use since 2012 and identifies strategies for reducing consumption yet further. Also last year, President Xi announced that China is taking steps to achieve carbon neutrality by 2060. As part of this strategy, the government plans to phase out internal combustion engine vehicles (ICEV) by 2030.

Like the energy sector, the tobacco sector is on the cusp of a clean disruption. Here, innovation arrives in the form of harm reduction products (HRPs), including e-cigarettes, that could dramatically reduce death and disease from tobacco. Over time, combustible cigarettes, like ICEVs, could be phased out via adoption of this new generation of products.

One of the most popular HRPs worldwide, e-cigarettes were invented in China by the pharmacist Han Li. Originally a smoker himself, Li’s work emerged from a desire to stop using combustible tobacco. In 2003, he registered a patent for electronic cigarettes and, shortly thereafter, began selling the products through his company, Beijing Ruyan. By 2009, e-cigarettes were being sold across the world, with particular success in Europe and the United States. Since then, China has played a dominant role in the manufacture of novel nicotine technologies. Today, about 90% of the world’s vaping and e-cigarette devices are designed and manufactured in Shenzhen.

Two independent companies, SMOORE and RELX Technology, have proven particularly successful and should be recognized as global leaders in the sector. A supplier of vaping devices and components, SMOORE has applied for more than 1600 domestic and foreign patents, of which more than 700 have been granted. RELX Technology develops its own e-cigarette brands and has invested more than 20 million CNY to establish a lab devoted to product safety and innovation. According to the company’s 2019-2020 report, RELX has applied for 429 patents globally, 54% of which were invention patents.

According to the article by IDWALA RESEARCH, the share prices of SMOORE fell by 27% and that of RELX by 48% after the new announcement. (Please see Figure 1)  Despite the loss in value, market capital of SMOORE and RELX technology is about 42.1 billion USD and 18.6 billion USD respectively, still competitive to other big tobacco companies. (Please see Figure 2)

Figure 1: Daily share price close of SMOORE and RELX Technology

Figure 2: Market capital (billion USD) of tobacco companies and vape manufactures

Given China’s prominence in this sector, the new regulatory clause represents a significant development in the global HRP ecosystem. The draft clause was developed  by two of China’s regulators, the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) and China National Tobacco Corporation (CNTC). MIIT constitutes a governmental regulatory agency that spans diverse industries; CNTC, which functions as both a regulatory agency and a state-owned tobacco monopoly, falls under the jurisdiction of MIIT. Both entities directly and indirectly control the China’s tobacco industry.

In its capacity as a regulatory agency, CNTC has acknowledged the importance of innovation. At the 2017 National Tobacco Working Conference, the agency’s general manager, Chengxing Ling, stated: “It is necessary to create new advantages in international competition for new types of tobacco products. We will closely follow the policies, technologies and market developments of new types of tobacco products globally and conduct in-depth product research and development of major new types of tobacco products.” As such, the proposed regulations should be interpreted not as a tool to impede innovation in the sector, but rather as a step to ensure safe and responsible use of products.

Among CNTC’s previous efforts to regulate the industry was a 2019 “Notice on Further Protecting Minors from Electronic Cigarettes.” In response to this notice, RELX launched “Project Sunflower,” which takes advantage of ID verification and facial recognition technologies to effectively prevent minors from accessing and purchasing e-cigarettes. The new clause would seek to further deter underage use, while protecting the interests of adult users.

As the HRP landscape evolves, policy can critically guide public understanding and use of these products. In recent years, misinformation regarding HRPs has led some smokers to overlook the benefits of switching. Many smokers, for instance, falsely believe that e-cigarettes are equally or more harmful than combustibles—a view that reinforces the status quo. Moving forward, public policy can be leveraged to correct these misperceptions and nudge smokers away from their deadly habit. For instance, regulations surrounding taxes, advertisement, and accessibility should reflect the relative risk of tobacco products. In such a scenario, combustible products would cost more and be less accessible than e-cigarettes—thus encouraging users to switch from cigarettes to HRPs. This type of policy, if adopted on a national scale, could massively improve public health in China.

In addition to enhancing the country’s health, such a shift aligns with smokers’ desires. According to the 2020 Insight Survey by Foundation for a Smoke-Free World, 88% of daily cigarette smokers in China want to reduce smoking. This trend, coupled with China’s prominence in manufacturing novel nicotine technologies, suggest that the country is well positioned to lead the shift away from combustible cigarettes.

Of course, efforts to phase out cigarettes extend beyond China. According to the Tobacco Transformation Index, large international tobacco companies (e.g., Swedish Match AB and Phillip Morris International Inc[PMI]) are transitioning to HRPs via heavy investment in the development of new products. Swedish Match initiated such a shift in 1996; now, the company’s smoke-free portfolio accounts for over 70% of its operating profit. Similarly, according to a 2020 PMI report, almost one quarter of the company’s revenue comes from its heated tobacco product, IQOs. Today, nearly 18 million people use IQOS worldwide; and 70% of users have completely stopped using combustible products. Considering that capital increasingly lies outside of the combustible market, China’s investment in HRPs can be seen as both a public health win and a sound business decision.

President Xi, addressing the World Economic Forum on Jan 25th, 2021, stated: “China will continue to advance science, technology and innovation. Science, technology and innovation is a key engine for human progress, a powerful weapon in tackling many global challenges.” Applied to the tobacco sector, this drive toward innovation could have profound consequences. Via continued research, as well as partnerships between CNTC and e-cigarette manufacturers, China could displace cigarettes across its vast monopoly. In doing so, the country would lead transformation within the tobacco industry, dramatically improving public health in China and beyond.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux