نفخ الدخان في وجه الحظر - مؤسسة لعالم خالٍ من التدخين

نفخ الدخان في وجه الحظر

في 20 مايو ، فرض الاتحاد الأوروبي (EU) حظرا على تصنيع وبيع سجائر المنثول. على الرغم من أنها تمثل حوالي 5 ٪ فقط من السجائر المستهلكة في الاتحاد الأوروبي ، إلا أن سجائر المنثول كانت منذ فترة طويلة هدفًا للمنظمين الذين ينظرون إلى النكهات على أنها وسيلة لجذب الشباب إلى هذه العادة. في حين أن التأثير على امتصاص الشباب لا يزال غير واضح ، تشير الأبحاث المبكرة إلى أن عددًا قليلاً من مدخني المنثول البالغين يخططون للإقلاع عن التدخين نتيجة للحظر - أو الوباء.

قبل سن التشريع ، دعمت المؤسسة استطلاعًا لما يزيد عن 6000 بالغ من مدخني سجائر المنثول في ثمانية بلدان في الاتحاد الأوروبي (الدنمارك ، فنلندا ، المجر ، لاتفيا ، بولندا ، سلوفاكيا والسويد والمملكة المتحدة). اكتمل الآن ، مستندات الاستبيان ، من بين أمور أخرى ، نية المستجيبين في الإنهاء أو التبديل في ضوء الحظر. كما يستفسر عن مدى تغيير COVID-19 لعادات التدخين في هذه المجموعة.

هذا الاستطلاع أن حوالي 12٪ فقط من المستجيبين يعتزمون الإقلاع عن السجائر تمامًا استجابةً للحظر. كان لدى معظم المستجيبين خطط بديلة لاستيعاب التغيير ، وكانت الردود الأكثر شيوعًا هي:

  • "سأتوقف عن تناول سجائر المنثول ، لكنني سأستمر في استهلاك السجائر غير المنثول." (35٪)
  • "سأتحول إلى منتجات تبغ المنثول الأخرى التي لا تتأثر بالحظر ، مثل سيجار المنتول ، والسيجار الصغير ، والسجائر الإلكترونية ، ومنتجات التبغ الساخن." (19٪)
  • "سأتوقف عن استهلاك سجائر المنثول ، لكنني سأزيد من استهلاكي للسجائر غير المنثول." (13٪)

مثل الحظر ، يبدو أن الوباء كان له تأثير ضئيل على دافع المستخدمين للإقلاع عن التدخين. أشار ما يقرب من 55 ٪ من المستجيبين إلى أن COVID-19 لم يؤثر على استهلاكهم للتبغ أو منتجات النيكوتين ؛ وأفاد أكثر من 29٪ أنهم يستهلكون منتجات التبغ أو النيكوتين أكثر من المعتاد. أفاد 16 ٪ فقط من المستجيبين أنهم استهلكوا منتجات التبغ أو النيكوتين أقل من المعتاد خلال COVID-19.

من المهم أن ندرك أن الهدف الرئيسي لحظر سجائر المنتول هو الحد من امتصاص التدخين بين الشباب. صرحت ديبورا أرنوت ، الرئيسة التنفيذية لمنظمة العمل بشأن التدخين والصحة: "يسهل المنثول على الشباب البدء في التدخين لأنه يخفي القسوة عند محاولة الاستنشاق لأول مرة ." لا يستكشف الاستبيان التأثيرات على تدخين الشباب.

في الولايات المتحدة ، ظهر القلق بشأن صحة الشباب بشكل مختلف. سن المشرعون الأمريكيون حظرًا للنكهات على السجائر الإلكترونية . ولاية نيويورك ، على سبيل المثال ، فرضت حظرًا على نكهة السجائر الإلكترونية على 18 مايو 2020 ، مشيرةً إلى القلق بشأن استيعاب الشباب لها. والجدير بالذكر أن الولايات المتحدة هي أكبر سوق لسجائر المنثول في العالم ، حيث يمثل المنثول حوالي 29٪ من إجمالي حجم السجائر ، وفقًا لـ Euromonitor.

في الأشهر والسنوات المقبلة ، سيراقب الباحثون عن كثب بلا شك لفحص الطرق التي تؤثر بها هذه اللوائح على السلوك واتجاهات الاستهلاك في أوروبا وأماكن أخرى. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية ، تدعم المؤسسة مسح متابعة سيرصد إلى أي مدى يغير حظر سجائر المنثول في الاتحاد الأوروبي بالفعل عادات التدخين بين المدخنين البالغين.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

Blowing smoke in the face of a ban - Foundation for a Smoke-Free World

Blowing smoke in the face of a ban

On May 20, the European Union (EU) implemented a ban on the manufacture and sale of menthol cigarettes. Though accounting for only about 5% of cigarettes consumed in the EU, menthol cigarettes have long been a target of regulators who view flavors as a device to attract youth to the habit. While the effect on youth uptake remains to be seen, early research suggests few adult menthol smokers plan to quit as a result of the ban—or the pandemic.

Ahead of the enactment of the legislation, the Foundation supported a survey of over 6,000 adult menthol cigarette smokers in eight EU countries (Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Latvia, Poland, Slovakia, Sweden, and the United Kingdom). Now completed, the survey documents, among other things, respondents’ intention to quit or switch in light of the ban. It also queries the extent to which COVID-19 has altered smoking habits in this group.

This survey finds that only about 12% of respondents intended to quit cigarettes completely in response to the ban. Most respondents had alternative plans for accommodating the change, the most common responses being:

  • “I will stop consuming menthol cigarettes, but will continue consuming non-menthol cigarettes.” (35%)
  • “I will switch to other menthol tobacco products not affected by the ban, such as menthol cigars, cigarillos, e-cigarettes and heated tobacco products.” (19%)
  • “I will stop consuming menthol cigarettes, but will increase my consumption of non-menthol cigarettes.” (13%)

Like the ban, the pandemic appears to have had little impact on users’ motivation to quit. Nearly 55% of respondents indicated that COVID-19 has not affected their consumption of tobacco or nicotine products; and more than 29% reported consuming more tobacco or nicotine products than usual. Only 16% of respondents reported consuming fewer tobacco or nicotine products than usual during COVID-19.

It is important to acknowledge that a major goal of the menthol cigarette ban is to reduce the uptake of smoking among youth. Deborah Arnott​, Chief Executive of​ Action on Smoking and Health, has stated: “menthol makes it easier for young people to start smoking because it masks the harshness when they first try to inhale.” The survey does not explore effects on youth smoking.

In the US, concern about youth health has manifested differently. American legislators have enacted flavor bans on e-cigarettes. New York State, for example, implemented an e-cigarette flavor ban on May 18, 2020, citing worry about youth uptake. Notably, the US is the largest menthol cigarette market in the world, with menthol accounting for about 29% of the total cigarette volume, according to Euromonitor.

In the coming months and years, researchers will, no doubt, be watching closely to examine the ways in which these regulations affect behavior and consumption trends in Europe and elsewhere. To that end, the Foundation is supporting a follow-up survey that will monitor the extent to which the EU menthol cigarette ban actually changes smoking habits among adult smokers.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux