ما وراء الأرقام - التدخين في اليابان - مؤسسة القضاء على التدخين

ما وراء الأرقام - التدخين في اليابان

انخفاض غير مسبوق في حجم السجائر اليابانية

في الأسبوع الماضي، أعلنت شركة تبغ اليابان عن النتائج التشغيلية للسنة الكاملة لعام 2018. وتشير البيانات إلى انخفاض حجم صناعة السجائر المحلية بمعدل غير مسبوق - إذ تراجعت بنسبة تزيد على 12% في عام 2018 وحوالي 24% على مدى العامين الماضيين. ما الذي يحدث؟

تتسبب مبيعات منتجات التبغ المسخّن في انخفاض حجم السجائر المحلية اليابانية بنسبة سنوية تتألف من رقمين (المخطط 1). تتقلب أحجام الشحنات الفصلية، ولكن الاتجاه واضح. معدل التغير غير مسبوق.

المخطط 1. حجم صناعة السجائر المحلية في اليابان

المصدر: يعتمد المخطط على البيانات المُجمعة من تقارير الشركة. تُعلن شركة تبغ اليابان شهريًا عن حجم مبيعات السجائر المحلية وحصة السوق. أعلنت شركات تبغ اليابان وفيليب موريس الدولية وشركة التبغ البريطانية الأمريكية عن حجم التبغ المسخّن وشاركت البيانات. تُقاس الأحجام على أساس الشحن داخل السوق.

نعتقد أن بيانات الحجم تُظهر بشكل أساسي تأثيرًا استبداليًا. ويقابل انخفاض حجم حامل السجائر التقليدية في الغالب زيادة في حجم حامل التبغ المسخّن. استنادًا إلى تقارير الشركات الثلاث المذكورة أعلاه، بلغ إجمالي حجم الحوامل (السجائر والتبغ المسخّن) حوالي 183 مليارًا في عام 2015، و180 مليارًا في عام 2016، و171 مليارًا في عام 2017، و168 مليارًا في عام 2018. قد تحجب التقلبات قصيرة المدى الاتجاه الأساسي. على سبيل المثال، ازداد حجم شحنة السجائر أكثر من 20 بالمائة عامًا تلو الآخر سبتمبر 2018بسبب تحميل المخزون التجاري قبل زيادة ضريبة أكتوبر، قبل التفكك في الربع الرابع. تُشير متوسطات الربعين الثالث والرابع (تظهر بخطوط خضراء فيالمخطط 1) إلى الاستقرار النسبي في السجائر وحجم التبغ المسخّن خلال تلك الفترة.

كيف تُقارن النتائج بتدابير مكافحة التبغ التقليدية؟

هل يمكن تحقيق انخفاض بنسبة 24 بالمائة في تدخين السجائر من خلال تدابير مكافحة التبغ التقليدية؟

لنبدأ بالتسعير. يقول الرأي الشائع إن مرونة سعر الطلب تقارب –0,4 في المتوسط​، ويُعزى نصفها تقريبًا إلى الانتشار (أي الإقلاع عن التدخين) ويُعزى النصف الآخر إلى الاستهلاك المنخفض. من الناحية النظرية، من الممكن أن تؤدي زيادة الأسعار الحقيقية بنسبة 60 بالمائة تقريبًا إلى الانخفاض نفسه بنسبة 24 بالمائة في المتوسط في الطلب على السجائر كما حدث في اليابان على مدى العامين الماضيين.

بافتراض وجود متوسط معدل ضرائب بنسبة 56,2 بالمائة على مستوى العالم، فسيلزم تطبيق زيادة ضريبية بنسبة 107 بالمائة تقريبًا لتحقيق زيادة شاملة في السعر بنسبة 60 بالمائة، وكل شيء آخر يظل ثابتًا. من الناحية الواقعية، لا تُعد زيادة ضريبة التبغ بنسبة تزيد عن 100 بالمائة ممكنة على الصعيد السياسي في معظم البلدان.

ولكن من المؤسف أن ليس هناك تدخلات أخرى تقترب من هذا. وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، "تُعد زيادة سعر التبغ من خلال زيادة الضرائب الطريقة الوحيدة الأكثر فعالية لتشجيع مستخدمي التبغ على الإقلاع عن التدخين." علاوة على ذلك، لا يزال تنفيذ العديد من تدابير مكافحة التبغ غير متسق. كما يُشير تقرير منظمة الصحة العالمية بشأن وباء التبغ العالمي لعام 2017 إلى أن، "حوالي ثلثي البلدان (121 من 194) – التي تُشكل 63 بالمائة من سكان العالم – أدخلت تدبيرًا واحدًا على الأقل من تدابير حزمة سياسات MPOWER على أعلى مستوى من الإنجاز." طبق بلد واحد جميع السياسات على أعلى مستوى، ولم تنفذ 73 دولة أيًا من هذه السياسات.

أين الطريق من هنا؟

يمثل الطريق نحو القضاء على التدخين بين أبناء هذا الجيل – والقضاء على السجائر التقليدية – رحلة شاقة قادمة. نُقدر نسبة الإيرادات التي حققتها صناعة التبغ بنسبة 800 مليار دولار أمريكي سنويًا. تبيع الصناعة أكثر من خمسة تريليونات سيجارة سنويًا، باستثناء التجارة غير المشروعة ومنتجات تبغ التدخين المصنعة محليًا، مثل سجائر البيدي في الهند. تُسهم صناعة التبغ بنحو 400 مليار دولار أمريكي من الإيرادات الضريبية إلى الحكومات. يشارك في سلسلة التوريد أكثر من عشرة ملايين مزارع، إلى جانب ملايين من عمال المصانع والموزعين وتجار التجزئة. تُعد صناعة التبغ العالمية ومنظومة النيكوتين البيئية مهولة للغاية.

تؤمن المؤسسة بأن الابتكار والطلب القائم على رغبات المستهلكين يُعدان جزءًا من الحل، إلى جانب التوجيهات السياسية. ويبين السجل أن تنفيذ إستراتيجيات السياسة وحدها لا يحقق الدرجة والسرعة المطلوبتين للحد من تدخين السجائر الذي تشهده اليابان. تعتقد المؤسسة أن الوقت قد حان لحمل كل القوى على التحرك نحو تحقيق هدف القضاء على التدخين في العالم.

WordPress Appliance - تشغله TurnKey Linux

Powered by

behind the numbers – smoking in japan

UNPRECEDENTED DROP IN JAPANESE CIGARETTE VOLUME

Last week, Japan Tobacco Inc. reported full-year operating results for 2018. The data show that domestic cigarette industry volume is dropping at an unprecedented rate – more than 12% in 2018 and nearly 24% over the last two years. What is happening?

Heated tobacco product sales are driving double-digit annual percentage declines in Japanese domestic cigarette volume (Chart 1). Quarterly shipment volumes are volatile, but the trend is clear. The rate of change is unprecedented.

CHART 1. DOMESTIC CIGARETTE INDUSTRY VOLUME IN JAPAN

Source: Chart is based on data from company reports. Japan Tobacco Inc. reports monthly domestic cigarette sales volume and market share. Japan Tobacco Inc., Philip Morris InternationalBritish American Tobacco report heated tobacco volume and share data. Volumes are on an in-market shipment basis.

We believe the volume data demonstrate primarily a substitutive effect. The combustible cigarette stick volume declines are for the most part offset by heated tobacco stick volume increases. Based on the three above mentioned company reports, total sticks (cigarettes and heated tobacco) were approximately 183B in 2015, 180B in 2016, 171B in 2017, and 168B in 2018. Short-term volatility can mask the underlying trend. For example, cigarette shipment volume grew more than 20% year-over-year in September 2018 due to trade inventory loading in advance of an October tax increase, before unwinding in the fourth quarter. The averages for the third and fourth quarters (demonstrated by the green lines in Chart 1) are indicative of relative stability in cigarette and heated tobacco volumes over the period.

HOW DO THE RESULTS COMPARE WITH TRADITIONAL TOBACCO CONTROL MEASURES?

Could a 24% decline in cigarette smoking be achieved through traditional tobacco control measures?

Let’s start with pricing. Common wisdom states that the price elasticity of demand is approximately –0.4 on average, with about half attributable to prevalence (i.e., quitting) and half attributable to reduced consumption. Theoretically, an approximately 60% real price increase could drive the same 24% decrease on average in cigarette demand as has been experienced in Japan over the past two years.

Assuming an average 56.2% tax rate globally, an approximately 107% tax increase would be required to achieve an overall 60% price increase, all else held constant. Realistically, a greater than 100% tobacco tax increase is not politically feasible in most countries.

Unfortunately, no other interventions come close. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), “increasing the price of tobacco through higher taxes is the single most effective way to encourage tobacco users to quit.” Furthermore, the implementation of many tobacco control measures remains inconsistent. As the WHO Report on the Global Tobacco Epidemic 2017 indicates, “nearly two thirds of countries (121 of 194) – comprising 63% of the world’s population – have introduced at least one MPOWER measure at the highest level of achievement.” Only one country has implemented all policies at the highest level, and 73 have implemented none.

TO WHERE FROM HERE?

The path toward ending smoking in this generation – and eliminating combustible cigarettes – represents an arduous journey ahead. We estimate that the tobacco industry has combined revenues of nearly $800 billion dollars per year. It sells more than five trillion cigarettes annually, excluding illicit trade and locally manufactured combustible tobacco products, such as bidis in India. It delivers about $400 billion dollars in tax revenue to governments. More than ten million farmers, along with millions of factory workers, distributors, and retailers are involved in the supply chain. The global tobacco industry and nicotine ecosystem are massive.

The Foundation believes that innovation and consumer-driven demand are part of the solution, in addition to policy prescriptions. The record shows that implementation of policy strategies alone are not achieving the degree and speed in the reduction of cigarette smoking that is being witnessed in Japan. The Foundation believes now is time to bring all forces to bear toward achieving a smoke-free world.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux