烟草转型指数 | 无烟世界基金会

烟草转化指数™

烟草转型指数™将随着时间的流逝提供量化的证据,说明最大的烟草公司正在采取哪些步骤来实现一个没有可燃香烟和其他高风险烟草产品的世界,以及他们为阻碍这一进步采取的任何行动。该资源将评估世界上15家最大的烟草公司。以前称为“无烟指数”的“烟草转化指数”是基金会“行业转型计划”的第一步,这是基金会在这一代人中实现无烟世界的总体使命的核心战略。第一个烟草转型指数将在 2020 年 9 月公布,此后每两年更新一次。

基金会认为,现在是行业创新的最佳时机,仅与可燃型烟草的尼古丁释放造成的健康风险相比,空前的创新技术已在尼古丁传输造成的健康风险。烟草转化指数™使用一种客观的方法,致力于衡量烟草公司的资本配置,研究,开发,市场营销,产品销售,区域差异,生产决策,违规行为等的性质。目的是激励科技研发,推动产品创新,以造福公用健康,并可能使数以百万计的吸烟的成年人受益,特别是在发展中国家。该指数还将审核与约 36 个国家/地区相关的指标,展示他们致力于建设没有燃烧香烟和其它高风险烟草制品的政策和措施,比如燃烧香烟税收结构、低风险产品监管政策以及其它指标。

我们认为投资者对公司管理决策具有重大影响。该指数将为他们及其顾问提供量化证据,作为施加影响力和推动变革的附加工具,体现公司如何在一段时间内应对产业转型问题,无论是绝对的还是相对的。在公司转型与股东价值之间建立直接关系,同时用明确透明的指标量化转型,我们想用市场驱动的方法来激励可持续变革。

基金会通过尼古丁全球趋势报告为该领域的工作奠定了基础,报告指出了尼古丁传输的主要参与者,列出其产品组织和地理中心,并量化其产出。此外,还研究和评估了两个“案例研究”指标——获取营养获取药品

在2018 年 9 月 ,基金会发布了提案征求书( RFP ),以开发和实施“烟草转化指数”。经过慎重思考,2019 年 1 月,评选出了两个优胜者,并在 2019 年 2 月启动计划。Euromonitor International 被授权主要负责流程设计、指数研究与分析以及报告。SustainAbility 被授权主要负责与利益相关者展开交流和研讨会、计划监督和项目审核。鉴于Euromonitor International和SustainAbility是世界上最受尊敬的独立研究公司之一,我们相信这些选择为基金会提供了机会,以确保所有利益相关者都将烟草转化指数™作为可靠,有价值和实质性的变革推动者接受。在这一代人中结束吸烟。

Euromonitor International 和 SustainAbility 正在合作制定指数,这一过程包括研究、全球利益相关者交流和倾听研讨会、指数制定、数据分析和独立专家监督。他们的进展将在关键里程碑以公开透明的方式传达,并在2020 年 9 月发布最初的烟草转化指数™。

为了帮助设计指数,2019 年,我们在多个国家参加了一系列倾听研讨会,并进行咨询,收到了许多重要的多学科利益相关者团体的意见。参加这些会议的目的是为了探索和强化变革指数理论,确定指数应解决的特定主题并确定其优先级,并报告必要措施,确保指数的研究过程和结果客观、可信、有效。

从2019 年 5 月 ,在多个地方进行了烟草转化指数™咨询会议。会上来自学术界、投资界、咨询机构、非政府组织以及烟草和农业协会的代表齐聚一堂。对话阐述了各种观点。基于基金会的开放性和透明性原则,中期报告总结了有关指数进展和内容的共同讨论要点和建议。完整的汇总报告随后将发布。

有关“烟草转化指数”的更多信息,请参见常见问题( 常见问题解答 )。

WordPress 应用 - TurnKey Linux支持

Powered by

Tobacco Transformation Index

The Tobacco Transformation Index will provide quantifiable evidence over time of what steps the largest tobacco companies are taking toward achieving a world free of combustible cigarettes and other high-risk tobacco products and any actions they take to impede that progress. This resource will evaluate 15 of the largest tobacco companies in the world. Previously known as the Smoke-Free Index, the Tobacco Transformation Index is the first action of the Foundation’s Industry Transformation initiative, a core strategy of the Foundation’s overall mission to achieve a smoke-free world within this generation. The first Tobacco Transformation Index will be published in September 2020, with biennial updates thereafter.

The Foundation believes now is the right time for industry innovation, as unprecedented and innovative technologies are reducing the health risks associated with nicotine delivery compared with those of emissions found only in combustible tobacco. Using an objective methodology, the Tobacco Transformation Index endeavors to measure the nature of the tobacco companies’ allocation of capital, research and development, marketing, product sales, regional variations, production decisions, violations, and more. The objective is to incentivize scientific research and development for the advancement of product innovations to benefit public health and potentially millions of adult smokers, particularly in developing countries. The Index will also review indicators associated with approximately 36 countries to demonstrate their policies and actions in contributing to a world free of combustible cigarettes and other high-risk tobacco products through measures such as tax structure on combustible cigarettes, regulatory policy on reduced-risk products, and other metrics.

We believe investors have significant influence on corporate management decision-making. The Index will provide them and their advisors with quantifiable evidence of how companies are addressing industry transformation, on both an absolute and a relative basis over time, as an additional tool with which to wield influence and promote change. By creating a direct relationship between a company’s transformation and shareholder value, while quantifying transformation through clear and transparent metrics, we envision using a market-driven approach to incentivize sustainable change.

The Foundation laid the groundwork for its work in this area with the Global Trends in Nicotine reports, which identify the major players in nicotine delivery, outline their product organization and geographic focus, and quantify their output. In addition, two “case study” Indexes were researched and evaluated – Access to Nutrition and Access to Medicine.

In September 2018, the Foundation issued a Request for Proposals (RFP) to develop and implement the Tobacco Transformation Index. After careful consideration, two award selections were made in January 2019 and the program was initiated in February 2019. Euromonitor International was awarded lead responsibilities for process design, Index research & analysis, and reporting. SustainAbility was awarded lead responsibilities for stakeholder engagement & seminars, program oversight, and project review. Given that Euromonitor International and SustainAbility are among the most respected independent research firms in the world, we believe these selections offer the Foundation the opportunity to ensure that the Tobacco Transformation Index is received by all stakeholders as a credible, valuable, and material change agent toward ending smoking in this generation.

Euromonitor International and SustainAbility are collaborating to develop the Index through a process that includes research, global stakeholder engagement and listening seminars, Index development, data analysis, and independent expert oversight. Their progress will be communicated in an open and transparent manner at critical milestones leading up to the release of the initial Tobacco Transformation Index in September 2020.

To aid the design of the Index, we received inputs from key multidisciplinary stakeholder groups through a series of listening seminars and consultations in multiple countries throughout 2019. The purpose of these meetings was to explore and strengthen the Index’s theory of change, identify and prioritize specific topics the Index should address, and inform the measures necessary to ensure the research process and outputs of the Index are objective, credible, and effective.

Starting in May 2019, the Tobacco Transformation Index consultation sessions were conducted in multiple locations. The meetings brought together representatives from academia, the investor community, consulting, nongovernmental organizations, and tobacco and agriculture associations. The dialogues illuminated a broad range of perspectives. In line with the Foundation’s commitment to openness and transparency, an interim report summarizing common key discussion points and recommendations about the Index process and content has been compiled. A complete summary report will be published.

For more information on the Tobacco Transformation Index, see Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).